We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hallways are dark and have a weird odor. The rooms are weirdly arranged. My bed was facing away from the TV. The flooring in the room was also work and uneven. The bathroom is straight out of the 80s and is poorly laid out. For one night out is adequate but to call this place a resort is a far stretch

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank PAERRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear PAERRN,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that the resort was not what you had hoped. We realize having been built in 1967 that we are not as modern as some other resorts out there but hope you were able to see some of the charm and character that Toftrees does have as well as staff eager to help you with anything you need. We take great pride in trying to make sure every guest experience is top notch and hope that down the road you will come back to town and give us another try.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Toftrees Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent the weekend at Toftrees just outside of State College, PA on a business/romantic weekend and could not have enjoyed myself more. My wife was also very impressed!!! The price was very good for a facility that has alot to offer the family or a couple or for a business meeting. There was a bit of confusion about my reservation but they made good on a very nice room and complimentary nights stay. The room had a very spacious balcony with and the best darn AC unit you could want!!! Very clean and well appointed BUT no HD TV (FIFA soccer and golf just aren't the same). Bathroom w/full tub and plenty of room. The grounds were very nice and gave you that 'in the woods' feel while only being 5 minutes from Penn State and downtown night life of State College. Golf course was in great shape and a challenge, as well as good golf shop. Pool was large with smaller one for the kids. The food at the restaurant was very good and not overly priced. They DO NOT offer a complimentary breakfast though but do have coffee in the lobby. Would I go back---YES for any type of family or business get together or a weekend trip with the wife!

Room Tip: get a third floor room w/balcony!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Pete S,

Thanks for the Rave Review! We appreciate all the feedback and the wonderful descriptions you have left for everyone to get a better understanding of all that we have to offer beyond a Golf Course! We hope that you will come back and join us again real soon! Safe Travels and enjoy the start of Summer!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were celebrating a colleagues retirement yesterday and our round of golf went a bit long so the kitchen at the Down Under had just closed as we were ordering our entrées. Dave, the manager on duty, stepped in with a true show of customer service and enabled us to continue the evening. A big shout out to Emily as well with her coordination of the surprise champaign and cake!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Adam C,

Thanks for the 5 Star review of Toftrees Resort and the Down Under Steakhouse. We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience and hope that we will have the chance again in the future to take care of you and your guests. We will be sure to thank Dave and Emily for a job well done. Please have a great summer and safe travels!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed just about every where in state college over the passed four years. We thought we would try this place for a spring visit prior to staying in May for graduation. It's about 10 minutes from campus and we heard good things about it. The rate was 99 bucks so comparable to the country inn and a few others closer to campus. First impressions driving up was this place is a little dated. The drop off looked like a temporary structure and barely fit one car. Check in was fine, but then you process the news there is no elevator and your room is on the lower floor. You can drive around to the back lot if you feel like loading the bags back in the car. Sure there are guys that will help carry things, but I usually carry my own backs. The room downstairs was little musty and dated. The open closet is located in the bathroom. Bed and pillows were not great. Could be a lot better if they dropped some money on the hotel. I am booked to stay here for graduation.

Room Tip: No elevator so plan accordingly.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mark K,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We do apologiaze that we did not live up to the great things you had heard. Unfortunately many of the things you happen to mention are out of the control of the staff here such as the lack of an elevator, or the closets being located in the bathroom. We assure you the front entrance is not one of temporary structure as it was replaced about 5 years ago. What we do try to take pride in is our customer service and we did notice that you scored us very well on Value and Service. We happen to be built back in 1967 leaving us 47 years old as of this year. Unfortunately some of the things you will find in a newer hotel was not a priority back then. We assure you we continue to look for ways to increase our Value and Service to make up for the things that we are not able to offer. We hope to see you back again in the future and wanted to let you know we understand your concerns.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hospitality was excellent, the resort was moderate. The food was not great, but overall my stay was relaxing and the scenery was exceptual. I was not given a balcony but I won't hold that against them. (Smile)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Christina W,

Thanks for the review. We will be certain to continue to make customer service a high priority for our guests. We apologize that the resort and the food were not as impressive and we will continue to make the necessary improvements to change that. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon when visiting the State College Area and we will do our best to get you a balcony so to allow an even more relaxing experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As a travel softball parent, I feel it was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff was wonderful! The rooms were very nice but what they did for our team in giving us a luxury suite for our team meetings etc was above and beyond! It made our weekend stay just perfect, can't thank them enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Donnie W,

Thanks for the fantastic review! We are pleased to hear that everyone took care of all your needs from booking the rooms to servicing you once you arrived. We hope that we will again have the opportunity to take care of you and the rest of the softball team. Best of luck in your games and your travels and thanks again for the great review!


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was back at Toftrees for the 3rd or 4th time for a 3 day conference. The staff couldn't have been any more attentive and friendly. From the Front Desk to the Banquet Manager, and all in-between, everyone went out of their way to make sure our event and stay were the best they could make it.

The rooms were very comfortable, very clean and quiet with large bathrooms.

Our meal the first night was at Down Under and was fantastic. The rest of our meals were provided in the banquet area and were delicious - no rubber chickens there. I felt like the meals were home cooked (but better!)

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Helen B,

Thanks for the RAVE review! We appreciate all of the comments about the facility and the staff. We will be sure to share your wonderful review with our staff members! We hope that we can continue to host your conference again in the future and in any other way we can assist you! Please come back and see us again in the future as we continue to work to Exceed Guests Expectations!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £65 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing