We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - charming & hospitable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
American Vintage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Stewartstown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we stayed at the American Vintage B&B with 2 other couples, while visiting the nearby winery musical festival. The home is charming, clean, and warm; and Joanne, the hostess, is a hoot! - engaging, delightful, and a wonderful cook. The quiet setting cannot be beat, yet the winery is within walking distance. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: the room on the 1st floor was unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RIck17201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you so much for this lovely review and taking the time to write it. I love having people come in and relax and enjoy their stay. Having the Naylor's Winery close is great for not only you, but for me when the bands are playing and I am sitting on the porch hearing the great music coming across the hill. I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovey review. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

Jo ann is a very special lady,she is so sweet!When arriving,she greets you on the porch of this charming home,she makes you feel comfortable in every way possible.The hospitality is amazing that you will receive,through out your stay there.There are animals on the grounds,a dog lily that is truly amazing,also ducks with a pond,chickens from which fresh eggs are plentiful and a kitty that is great.The grounds and surrounding areas of scenery are breath taking.The antiques are outstanding.The Breakfast that Jo ann serves is like going back in time.Everything is fresh and natural foods made in her home.The conversation that i had with her about the home is very interesting.Need Directions,ask her,it's better then a gps or any maps that i could find.I truly can say this,I havn't been to many Bed & Breakfasts but.I WONT BE GOING TO ANY OTHERS ---I WILL KEEP GOING BACK TO HERS!!!!!! I would like to try and get back there by December and every few months there after.I will send Pictures to JO ANN and let her post them on her site.
Thanks Jo ann for a wonderful expericence.
FRANK

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Frank that goes both ways, I so enjoyed having you here and talking about everything. I especially LOVE talking about this beautiful old farm house. It amazes me how they build it out of manual labor. Do not think it could be done in this time and day. As for the food I to love to cook and can and serve, but most of all I love it when my guest enjoy what I prepare. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You are special with love Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Besides the fact that the surrounding area and the property was beautiful, Joanne made us feel like family and it was a pleasure spending time with her and hearing all her stories that the old house possessed with charm and rich in history. Being so close to the local winery and participating in the events there made it very convenient too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunkissednose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Give a big yes for Naylor's Winery I so love that beautiful place. Oh and the wine is pretty good, couple first place wines for the area. I love talking about this home and when if was built, pretty interesting when you think back then, no electric, little to no tools, oh there I go again, bragging her up. Anyway I so want to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It so helps and please take time to head on back this way. I have lots more stories! Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

If you've come for the beautiful sights, surroundings, and history, then the warmth, hospitality, and kick-*ss breakfasts at American Vintage B&B will certainly make you want to stay for a while. JoAnn truly makes you feel like part of the family and quickly becomes as much a reason to come back as all that brought you in the first place.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Awe how nice, it would be wonderful to see you again and believe me if you thought that breakfast was a kick +++ one, wait until you taste the next one. it is my pleasure and I so love my guest. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The family spend an evening with Jo Ann and the old house in preparing for the interment of ashes of our father, William Archibald Snyder, in the cemetery of the Chanceford Presbyterian Church in Airville. The journey for my husband and I was 3000 miles round trip. We picked up my sister Ann and the ashes of my father on our journey before a beautiful ceremony at the cemetery. Jo Ann made us a delicious breakfast before our morning service. I will forever remember the kindness of Jo Ann and Pastor Harry Robinson and Eugene Kilgore in our journey as well as Mike Sunday who designed the tombstone for my mother and father. Thank you from the heart. Mary Brandshaug

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank CBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

My Dearest Mary, I to want to thank you for being who you are, what a pleasure it was having you here and talking about sad and happy times. What you had to do was not easy, but you did it well, we are blessed to have good people in our world that help us ease the pain. I so loved having you here and so wish if you ever head up this way again, my home is your home. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Went with friends for a Valentine's weekend and Naylors Wine Dinner....was tons of snow still on the ground and several roads closed. But when JoAnn Dalton opened her doors - welcome is all we felt! The place is just a feast for the eyes - vintage America all around....fabulous hostess, lovely food and super comfortable rooms. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodiepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

I am sending you a great big thank you for such a nice review. You are why I love doing what I do, it is such a pleasure when fine people like yourself come though those doors, sending love and again thanks, Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Before checking in to Jo Ann's American Vintage Bed and Breakfast, you should be warned:
* The gorgeous bedrooms are so peaceful you may very well oversleep.
* The interior is so charming you will want to redecorate the minute you get home.
* Jo Ann's delicious breakfasts are so magnificent, you may have to skip lunch.
* None of the cute and cuddly animals at this B and B will be permitted to come home with you, even after you have fallen in love with them.
* Jo Ann's rich and mellow coffee may prevent you from ever sipping chain store muck again...
* The setting of this rural B and B is so idyllic, you really won't want to leave!
...so if, after all that, you are prepared to take the risk... you'll have a wonderful stay - I certainly did!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koalagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vintage993, Owner at American Vintage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Is there an answer that I could write that would come close to the beautiful review that is in front of me. Thank you, thank you for all your kindness, it is for the people like you that I love my job. You are a gift to me, and our talks were lovely. As for the food, well I truly love to cook. Again thank you for being you. Jo Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to American Vintage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Vintage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5740 Thompson Rd, Stewartstown, PA 17363-7749
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Stewartstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stewartstown
Price Range: £108 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Vintage Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Vintage Bed & Breakfast is your "Home away from Home!" Come relax in this cozy historic atmosphere located in a country setting amidst rich vineyards where you just don't stay and leave. You will want to step back in time and learn the history of this home and its surroundings. You can sit on the wrap around porch and enjoy a cup of tea made from the trees found on the property! As you look over the picturesque countryside, you might see a mother deer and her young ones passing by to say "Hi!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your American Vintage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing