We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel deep in Amish Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The accomodations at this hotel were great. We had a balcony in the back with 2 rocking chairs. That was great and the room was very clean. The only thing that I didnt care for was the breakfast. Although there was plenty of selection of food, they really don't cater to young children as they didn't have any whole milk. The pool is beautiful but there are these huge bugs flying around, so you really can't enjoy the pool area. Other than that, the scenery is absolutely beautiful and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetpark815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel and your positive comments. We're so pleased that you've discovered the uniqueness of our hotel property - our clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, grass, trees and greenery, and amazing views!

The hotel is very family friendly, and the reason we don't have whole milk on our breakfast bar is that our brand standard only allows for 2% and skim milk. Most franchise hotels offer these two milk products only, so you may want to be aware of that for any future stays in ANY hotel.

I apologize that the "bugs" were out in full force around the pool during your stay. We have not had any other guest complaints of that nature, but will certainly alert our exterminating company to your complaint so that the exterminator can take a walk around the pool area and look for unusual bugs in the area. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

We're glad you would choose our hotel in the future and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

Currently staying at the Historic Strasburg Inn. Booked the room foe three nights. When I made the reservation I asked for a room on the first floor as we have a toddler and they followed through. Employees are lovely and helpful. The room leaves a bit to be desired. There seems to be a musty odor made worse by a spray of air freshener. People next to us had their room door propped open in an attempt to lessen the smell. The bedroom area of the room was clean but could use some decorating: no pictures on the wall, no curtains... Slightly depressing. Appears someone tried to do a touch up paint job on the walls but used paint a few shades darker. The bath tub has a few small spots of mold as does the shower curtain. There is no bath mat or traction of any sort in the tub and we had to put a towel down so our daughter could shower as she kept slipping. The pool area is lovely but I wish we brought our own towels as the ones provided ate the size of dish rags. I got a great deal on the package and am getting three nights for about $100 so I real can't complain. I will finish our stay here but next summer will go back to the Bird in Hand Family Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceAnnsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. With 100 rooms on our property in 5 separate buildings, we often count on our guests to be the 'eyes' of the property and to let us know what they like and dislike.

Our guest room bathtubs are all equipped with a non-skid surface, so I'm sorry that it didn't seem adequate to keep your child from slipping. That is certainly an item we will give our immediate attention to because we want our guests to have a SAFE stay with us! We appreciate you bringing that need to our attention.

I'm also sorry you felt the pool towels were unsatisfactory. They are the standard pool towels that are found at almost every hotel and do meet our brand standards.

We're sorry that you apparently do not feel our hotel is the right fit for your family. We hope you will continue to return to Lancaster County, even if you choose another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel and I'm so pleased we had the opportunity to stay here. I am always a little weary of hotels because I had a bad experience last year but this hotel went above and beyond. I would surely stay here again as well as recommend it to others. Large rooms, very friendly staff, outdoor pool (which the kids enjoyed) and close to everything...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcieTil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We are so glad that you stayed with us and had a great time! The management and staff of the Clarion Inn strives to provide the best in guest services with friendliness and warmth, and to treat our guests like our family. It sounds like we succeeded in that goal with you.

It always pleases us when guests discover the charm of our historic buildings, our quiet location, and our picturesque views, yet recognize that we are only minutes from the attractions, restaurants and shops for which Lancaster county is a destination.

We trust you will return to visit us soon, and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a great experience at the Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn. My husband, daughter, and I came to Strasburg to see Thomas the train and I found the hotel wonderfully accommodating to families with small children. There's a nice pool, a lobby with souvenirs and crayons for the kids, a nice (but busy) breakfast, and even a little playground (it's a little weathered but was completely safe). During our stay, my daughter even got to see a hot air balloon in the sky during the day and fireworks at night. The attached tavern/restaurant has delicious food and wine for unbelievable prices...and they were very accommodating to my over-tired 2-year-old. My husband and I plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnabozny1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We are so glad that you had such a positive experience at our hotel while you and your family were in town to visit with Thomas the Tank. The Clarion Inn - Historic Strasburg Inn strives to provide exceptional service to all of its guests, and we try to take special care of families by making sure they young ones have plenty to keep them occupied while on property.

We hope you will plan to visit us again, perhaps when Thomas makes a future appearance (Thomas the Tank visits Strasburg 3 times a year!).

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to sharing them with our staff, and we look forward as well for having you return to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here while we were in town to ride the train and visit the railroad museum. The Strasburg Inn is very cute and well-kept. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We woke up to a delicious breakfast served in the Sun Room. The hotel is one mile from the Strasburg Railroad and museum, and also only 5 - 10 minutes from lots of shopping including Tanger Outlets. I wish we had stayed longer so I could have visited the shops! Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_and_Ls_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your kind and positive comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We're glad your found your room and our breakfast bar clean and enjoyable.

As you've now learned, the Clarion Inn - Historic Strasburg Inn, while nestled amid the quiet quaintness of Amish farmland, is only minutes away from many of the area attractions, including our county's outlet malls. In fact, it's not really too early to start thinking about your Christmas shopping, and we'd love to have you come stay with us and shop 'til you drop!

Thank you again for your comments about your stay. Our guests' feedback - good or bad - is very important to us, and it's always nice when we can share good comments with our staff and let them know that our guests DO appreciate the kindnesses we show them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

THE GOOD: Service was good (both at the hotel and the restaurant), it's a nice idea, having several outbuildings with rooms, and having the best restaurant in the area in the main building certainly was a great convenience.

THE BAD: Two of our rooms were nice and cozy, but the third was a bit on the dumpy side, with peeling wallpaper and a shower that we had to bleach to get clean enough to the point where we would use it. Also, closet door was busted and hanging off crooked, but, well, that's what we get when the rooms are screwed up before we get there (was supposed to have one room which was pet friendly…instead, we had three, and they switched us into one of the non-pet rooms at our request, but that was the room that was a mess), and we swap into a room suddenly. Even worse, by far is the final bill…no joke, it had at least a dozen different line items...so there's no way to predict what your actual cost will be. None of us (3 rooms) were happy with our bills.

IN CONCLUSION:
There's really not much in the area other than a few hotels on Route 30, and they certainly didn't look as good, let alone better, so if this is the best place around, then you have to accept it and move on. Tough to say if we would return...likely not, but if the place that's #1 on here is tried and stinks, we would go back to this place upon our third visit and give them a chance to right our criticisms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puznik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel property. We rely on our guests' feedback - positive and negative - to create goals as needed and to make sure we are achieving the goals we've created.

We are unable to determine the origin of the mix-up regarding the type of hotel rooms you deserved (pet friendly versus not pet friendly). I'm glad our staff was accommodating in finding an alternative room for you. I'm sorry that there were some apparent physical plant issues you found in the new room to which you were assigned. We would gladly have immediately found you (another) alternative room if you had contacted our front desk.

Again, we are not able to verify the complaint of the charges on your final bill (the anonymity of this website prevents us from having the information we would need to do research on reservation and billing questions). Again, I apologize for any errors on your final bill and hope that, in the end, only the correct charges were finally assessed to your card account.

While there are MANY outstanding hotels located along Route 30, we would welcome having you travel the short distance to visit us again in historic Strasburg if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I wanted something different from a regular hotel, and for a nice little price, I think it's great. The service is good, people are nice, and overall morality of the place just makes you feel good. It felt like home away from home when I saw the decorated wallpaper. Differently check this place out!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecSalesAsst, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us here at the Clarion Inn - Historic Strasburg Inn. We're so glad you discovered the charm and quaintness of our hotel property. One of our goals is to make our guests feel 'right at home' while still providing them with mere minutes' access to all of the shops, attractions and restaurants that make Lancaster county a destination.

We hope you will return to visit us again, and again, thank you for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Ronks
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.6 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing