We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel when traveling with a dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel when traveling with a dog”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband, Portuguese Water Dog and I stayed there in September for 3 nights. Julia at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming to ALL of us. Greeted our dog with a doggie bag of bones and disposable plastic bags in a cute holder. Traveling with a dog I expected we would be put in a smelly old room. I was pleasantly surprised - this room was in a stand alone building on the first floor and while it could use some remodeling, it was clean and smelled nice - not like a chemical masking of odors. The hotel itself sits on lots of land so there were plenty of places for us to walk our dog, cute gazebos to sit in, benches, nice landscaping and beautiful views of cornfields/Amish buggies. Facilities included a nice fitness center with TV and sauna, outdoor heated circular pool with nice seating, restaurant on site. Breakfast was included and served in a nice sun room. It offered: waffle maker, eggs, sausage and biscuits, yogurt, fresh whole fruit, cereals, breads, juice, coffee. The attendant was very friendly and kept things stocked and clean. So as not to upset the dog or the maid (!) the front desk was very accommodating working with us to send the maid when we and the dog were out of the room. Less than 5 minutes from the Sight and Sound Theater where we saw "Noah" complete with live animals. Less than 10 minutes from Rockvale and Tanger shopping outlets. Hotel is walking distance to a small/new shopping complex with a pharmacy and pizza shop - Strasburg pizza. We ate there one night. The pizza was good and we were also treated to having the girl at the counter actually wait on us - brought us the pizza, plates, checked on us, brought us a box and cleaned up after us...very unusual to find in a take out kind of pizza place. Had an awful lunch at the Kentucky Fried Chicken/Long John Silver restaurant. Typical fast food which is what we expected but we did not expect to have the restaurant staff yelling at each other in Spanish, laughing loudly dancing around all while ignoring the very messy/unclean dining room area. Ate at Millers for the all you can eat. Food was good and the place was kept spotless - seemed there was an attendant for each serving station keeping it clean and stocked. And lastly, we had a lovely lunch at the Iron Horse Inn which allowed us to eat with our dog on the covered outside seating. They were very dog friendly and the food was upscale lunch food...e.g. used fresh mozzarella, fresh herbs, etc. but reasonably priced. Lastly, not to miss if you have a dog - go to the dog park by Franklin and Marshall college in Lancaster. Heard a local woman won the park in a contest. Outstanding - one side for smaller dogs, other for larger and all fenced in. All astro turfed with drinking fountains for the dogs, water park, bridge, complete with tennis balls/Frisbees and nice chairs for the owners to sit in the shade on a beautiful deck to watch the dogs. A must see even if you don't have a dog! Many of the college students missing theirs come over just to play with them. And of course our dog absolutely loved it so we went twice.

Room Tip: The hotel is really a mix of all different building complexes. Some were one floor, some were multi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8t2bhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your expere at our hotel. We are excited that you had such a great stay. We are a destination hotel that hosts many nearby attractions. Our staff is eager to make your stay an enjoyable experience in the quiet amish countryside. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    175
    92
    55
    45
See reviews for
217
173
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there two days ago. The staff at the front desk were very friendly upon our arrival. The room was very clean. We liked the fact that there was refrigerator and microwave in the room which came in handy. Granted, there could have been some remodeling done to the room, but I'll take cleanliness over a newer hotel anytime! The breakfast which we ate was very good, and they had a nice selection of food to accommodate everyone's taste buds.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and strive to give great customer service and clean comfortable rooms.We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

nice rooms, nice area. Staff were very friendly. Area close to outlets and Sight and Sound .Restaurants and other attractions(train museum) close by. Thought I needed medical attention on a Saturday and they provided me the card of a clinic nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for sharing you visit at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband decided for a quick week-end get away after watching Witness...we decided to go to Amish country in PA...so off we went...we had not been there in 15 years....and upon arriving not much has changed. We decided not to stay in Lancaster because we did not want to be on Route 30---we wanted the more country views and no traffic or seeing "outlet malls that are everywhere. We wanted more of the Amish country feel.

We arrived at the Clarion Inn...it was behind a small shopping area...nothing like on the main roads of Lancaster. The views were of farmland, cornfields and Amish buggies rather idyllic...just what we had wanted quiet and yet close enough to everything. We enjoyed one evening eating at the restaurant next door The Fireplace . Went there to have drinks on the deck it was great weather we enjoyed watching the buggies go by and had a relaxing dinner afterward...It was a beautiful evening with great views and good food .

We arrived around 1-2 pm at the hotel ...it looked pretty empty...but were told we could not check in until 4PM...No big deal we were hungry so we went for lunch to Strasberg Ice cream parlor and that was fun...OK sandwiches...but great ice cream and homemade fudge and candy in the store....great start and then went to the train museum. Really fun start

We went back to the hotel for check in at 4PM....why we could not check in earlier I don't know... when the he building that we were staying in was totally empty and I do not mean that figuratively but really totally empty...some of the room doors were open at times.This hotel has the main building and about 4 other motel style buildings on property...Our building was empty...I am sure we could have checked in earlier because it could have been done if we had a Clarion card but not if we were just regular guests??? As far as the building, there was no a/c in the halls...but it worked in our room. thank goodness because it was hot The beds were fine mattresses a bit soft and moved whenever you rolled over but comfortable...pillows were great...breakfast was good in the AM the typical for these syle chains...waffles, scrambled eggs etc.

The room itself was a bit dated, not charming but dated, colors décor etc...but that is what I expected in this area...but the weirdest thing was that our refrigerator was missing...which was odd--...we received a double bed...no AC in the building and it was hot...why when the hotel was not filled to capacity would you give us a room without a refrigerator(luckily we had a cooler) and why have us in the building alone and the furthest away from the lobby where breakfast was served??? It of course rained our last day...so it was fun walking in the rain to get breakfast ...

Bottom line, our expectations thank goodness were not set that high...we had a great time we saw buggies, went to museums and enjoyed the tranquility of the area and played great mini golf in Strasberg and we feel .a room does not make a vacation...but I must say we got the room for 1/2 off on Travelocity...but I would have been really upset if I had paid full price for this room. The amount they want one to pay for the room unless you get a deal on it is not worth it by today's standards for a hotel...in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUVTHESEANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize that your expectations of a new hotel were not met. We are a historic hotel with clean comfortable rooms, each with their own charm and character.. We are situated in amish country on 16 acres of beautiful countryside, away from the lights and noise of city life. Guests do appreciate the old fashion look and relaxing atmosphere that is reminscent of the past. We welcome you back in the future and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here with friends and were very pleased with the accommodations. Conveniently located nearby to area attractions and set in a picturesque area surrounded by farms with very pretty views (yet also located next to a small, attractive shopping area with a pharmacy, pizza place, and beer mart). The 2 queen bed room was quiet, cozy and clean with a fridge & microwave. Pool area was also clean and was on par for the well-maintained grounds. VERY family friendly with a nice big backyard and large playground. Breakfast was good with both hot and cold choices. Fitness room is quite small but has just about every piece of equipment needed. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate building closest to Historic Drive are quieter during the summer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maui_pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great time and a great stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. and the price was reasonable, $130/night for 2 queen beds, the rooms were spacious and clean, staff friendly, the grounds were really pretty & well maintained, heated outdoor pool, playground for kids, and just the whole set up of the grounds, made me feel like i was in a retreat or something. Nothing fancy, but it was just a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 242 was a nice room. out of the 3 rooms me and my friends had... 242, 244, 245... 242 was biggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritza211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great stay and were very happy with all accomodations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and went to the sight and sound theatre. Great location very clean and had no issues. Was quiet and we had two rooms for one night both were good. The parking distance from the room was not the greatest but that probably helped with the noise level being low. The pool outside was good and staff was friendly and nice. Not enough seating for the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishglh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great experience and that your rooms were comfortable and enjoyable. Our breakfast provides al large variety of items that go beyond any other brand hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing