We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
191
190
103
58
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
190
103
58
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfireside taverntwo queen bedsamish farmlandsausagebeautiful groundstwo sinksoutdoor poolsun roomno elevatorrefrigerator and microwavelancaster areasight and sound theaterpotatoeseggsroom was largethe breakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for two nights to attend a wedding on the property. This is a charming hotel that while it shows its age, it does so gracefully. While we stayed for only the two nights, I could see this serving as "homebase" for those planning to stay longer to tour Lancaster County and the area countryside. Ample complementary breakfast is available to start your day. The Fireside Tavern is available for a nice dinner and the rooms have both a refrigerator and microwave for your snacks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleygop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We hosts many weddings throughout the year that makes a great setting for the ceremony , reception and hotel rooms. We have 16 acres of beautiful grounds. We hope you will return for a vacation to enjoy many of the local attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband, Portuguese Water Dog and I stayed there in September for 3 nights. Julia at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming to ALL of us. Greeted our dog with a doggie bag of bones and disposable plastic bags in a cute holder. Traveling with a dog I expected we would be put in a smelly old room. I was pleasantly surprised - this room was in a stand alone building on the first floor and while it could use some remodeling, it was clean and smelled nice - not like a chemical masking of odors. The hotel itself sits on lots of land so there were plenty of places for us to walk our dog, cute gazebos to sit in, benches, nice landscaping and beautiful views of cornfields/Amish buggies. Facilities included a nice fitness center with TV and sauna, outdoor heated circular pool with nice seating, restaurant on site. Breakfast was included and served in a nice sun room. It offered: waffle maker, eggs, sausage and biscuits, yogurt, fresh whole fruit, cereals, breads, juice, coffee. The attendant was very friendly and kept things stocked and clean. So as not to upset the dog or the maid (!) the front desk was very accommodating working with us to send the maid when we and the dog were out of the room. Less than 5 minutes from the Sight and Sound Theater where we saw "Noah" complete with live animals. Less than 10 minutes from Rockvale and Tanger shopping outlets. Hotel is walking distance to a small/new shopping complex with a pharmacy and pizza shop - Strasburg pizza. We ate there one night. The pizza was good and we were also treated to having the girl at the counter actually wait on us - brought us the pizza, plates, checked on us, brought us a box and cleaned up after us...very unusual to find in a take out kind of pizza place. Had an awful lunch at the Kentucky Fried Chicken/Long John Silver restaurant. Typical fast food which is what we expected but we did not expect to have the restaurant staff yelling at each other in Spanish, laughing loudly dancing around all while ignoring the very messy/unclean dining room area. Ate at Millers for the all you can eat. Food was good and the place was kept spotless - seemed there was an attendant for each serving station keeping it clean and stocked. And lastly, we had a lovely lunch at the Iron Horse Inn which allowed us to eat with our dog on the covered outside seating. They were very dog friendly and the food was upscale lunch food...e.g. used fresh mozzarella, fresh herbs, etc. but reasonably priced. Lastly, not to miss if you have a dog - go to the dog park by Franklin and Marshall college in Lancaster. Heard a local woman won the park in a contest. Outstanding - one side for smaller dogs, other for larger and all fenced in. All astro turfed with drinking fountains for the dogs, water park, bridge, complete with tennis balls/Frisbees and nice chairs for the owners to sit in the shade on a beautiful deck to watch the dogs. A must see even if you don't have a dog! Many of the college students missing theirs come over just to play with them. And of course our dog absolutely loved it so we went twice.

Room Tip: The hotel is really a mix of all different building complexes. Some were one floor, some were multiple stories with external and internal entries...should be something for everyone.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8t2bhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your expere at our hotel. We are excited that you had such a great stay. We are a destination hotel that hosts many nearby attractions. Our staff is eager to make your stay an enjoyable experience in the quiet amish countryside. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there two days ago. The staff at the front desk were very friendly upon our arrival. The room was very clean. We liked the fact that there was refrigerator and microwave in the room which came in handy. Granted, there could have been some remodeling done to the room, but I'll take cleanliness over a newer hotel anytime! The breakfast which we ate was very good, and they had a nice selection of food to accommodate everyone's taste buds.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and strive to give great customer service and clean comfortable rooms.We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

nice rooms, nice area. Staff were very friendly. Area close to outlets and Sight and Sound .Restaurants and other attractions(train museum) close by. Thought I needed medical attention on a Saturday and they provided me the card of a clinic nearby

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for sharing you visit at our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband decided for a quick week-end get away after watching Witness...we decided to go to Amish country in PA...so off we went...we had not been there in 15 years....and upon arriving not much has changed. We decided not to stay in Lancaster because we did not want to be on Route 30---we wanted the more country views and no traffic or seeing "outlet malls that are everywhere. We wanted more of the Amish country feel.

We arrived at the Clarion Inn...it was behind a small shopping area...nothing like on the main roads of Lancaster. The views were of farmland, cornfields and Amish buggies rather idyllic...just what we had wanted quiet and yet close enough to everything. We enjoyed one evening eating at the restaurant next door The Fireplace . Went there to have drinks on the deck it was great weather we enjoyed watching the buggies go by and had a relaxing dinner afterward...It was a beautiful evening with great views and good food .

We arrived around 1-2 pm at the hotel ...it looked pretty empty...but were told we could not check in until 4PM...No big deal we were hungry so we went for lunch to Strasberg Ice cream parlor and that was fun...OK sandwiches...but great ice cream and homemade fudge and candy in the store....great start and then went to the train museum. Really fun start

We went back to the hotel for check in at 4PM....why we could not check in earlier I don't know... when the he building that we were staying in was totally empty and I do not mean that figuratively but really totally empty...some of the room doors were open at times.This hotel has the main building and about 4 other motel style buildings on property...Our building was empty...I am sure we could have checked in earlier because it could have been done if we had a Clarion card but not if we were just regular guests??? As far as the building, there was no a/c in the halls...but it worked in our room. thank goodness because it was hot The beds were fine mattresses a bit soft and moved whenever you rolled over but comfortable...pillows were great...breakfast was good in the AM the typical for these syle chains...waffles, scrambled eggs etc.

The room itself was a bit dated, not charming but dated, colors décor etc...but that is what I expected in this area...but the weirdest thing was that our refrigerator was missing...which was odd--...we received a double bed...no AC in the building and it was hot...why when the hotel was not filled to capacity would you give us a room without a refrigerator(luckily we had a cooler) and why have us in the building alone and the furthest away from the lobby where breakfast was served??? It of course rained our last day...so it was fun walking in the rain to get breakfast ...

Bottom line, our expectations thank goodness were not set that high...we had a great time we saw buggies, went to museums and enjoyed the tranquility of the area and played great mini golf in Strasberg and we feel .a room does not make a vacation...but I must say we got the room for 1/2 off on Travelocity...but I would have been really upset if I had paid full price for this room. The amount they want one to pay for the room unless you get a deal on it is not worth it by today's standards for a hotel...in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LUVTHESEANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize that your expectations of a new hotel were not met. We are a historic hotel with clean comfortable rooms, each with their own charm and character.. We are situated in amish country on 16 acres of beautiful countryside, away from the lights and noise of city life. Guests do appreciate the old fashion look and relaxing atmosphere that is reminscent of the past. We welcome you back in the future and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews