We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in Historic Strasburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room was average. We had a room bordering the pool and it was not quiet. There were tables right outside our window. This is an old two story motel style inn with NO elevator. Since we are an older couple we had to have a room with no stairs so had little choice since we did not book early. The breakfast was very good with both indoor and outdoor seating areas. The staff was friendly and offered brochures for most of the many attractions in the area.

Room Tip: If you need a first floor room and/or parking close to your room book early and request this. If a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothyguidry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thany for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay in our historic hotel. Surrounded by amish farmland we are minutes from all the attractions. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

When my wife and I arrived at the Strasburg Clarion we noticed that it was not a conventional large single building but a group of four or five buildings, some appearing to be in the older "motor inn" style, located on nicely landscaped grounds. After reading previously posted reviews I learned that this property was formerly the Strasburg Inn, which, I guess, was purchased by the Clarion chain. We have stayed at Clarion hotels many times before and have always been very satisfied, until our stay at this location.
Although we didn't get inside of them, some of the buildings appeared to be well cared-for and quaint-looking in the local Amish style. I would imagine that many of the positive reviews probably came from folks staying in those buildings. Our room, room 136, was located in one of the older "motor-inn" style buildings. Upon entering our room, my wife asked, "THIS is a Clarion?" There was mold on the wall near the base of the bathtub/shower. An old nasty toilet plunger wrapped in a plastic bag was leaning on the wall next to the shower. The bathroom mirror was splattered with some type of liquid. The wall across from the toilet was stained with a yellowish mystery liquid. We had to wipe greasy smears off the TV. The drinking glasses provided were so nasty that my wife took one to show the people at the front desk. The girl stated, "We don't like to hear that."
To be fair, the beds and pillows were comfy and the microwave and fridge were nice amenities. Breakfast was OK and the employees we encountered were pleasant and helpful, especially the fellow who had to recalibrate our keys that failed to work twice, and the maid that let us into our room the first time both keys failed.
I've read replies by the manager, Sherman H., to negative comments left on Tripadvisor explaining that these types of things are part of the "old-fashion charm of a historic landmark." What we encountered was not charming - it was a lack of cleanliness that should never be associated with the Clarion chain. And no, Sherman H., those were not dishwasher stains on our glassware, it was splotchy red crud.
A previous commenter asked if these "grody" rooms were set aside for the Priceline and Hotwire reservations. I sure hope not since we use those sites quite often usually with great results.
I do take responsibility for not immediately returning to the front desk and demanding a cleaner room. My advice to anyone staying at the "Clarion" in Strasburg would be to request a room in one of the larger buildings and check it out thoroughly. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank speedbump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and use all feedback to improve our guest experience. I regret I was not made aware of the condition of your room. Our rooms are to be inspected prior to each guests arrival to ensure each room has been propery serviced and cleaned properly. As you mentioned if we were made aware immediately we would have addressed the problems and resolved. I apologize for your experience and would like to invite you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I'm here at hotel.. The hotel is a motel NOT a hotel... if u can deal with that whole concept then book it I did it was was a overall good stay for the 12 hours I was there with my husband n 3 kids. STAFF super friendly n very accommodating .. for a overnight stay it's ok.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank canle213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are close to all the attractions and surrounded by amish farmland. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little more dated than I expected. I was also expecting a hotel, but this place is more of a motel - I guess that's my fault for assuming that. Anyways, the lobby is fine - quick check in.

There were several annoyances: There is no roof overhang like many hotels have at there entrance - and of course it was poring rain outside so I got soaking wet :(. There is no elevator. The hallway smelled like Indian food.

The room itself was clean and nice. Flat screen tv. Nice beds and fluffy down pillows. Microwave and mini fridge. The breakfast had a large variety. Cerial, breads, eggs, potatoes, ham, etc.

Overall not a bad place to stay. Just a few issues but the room itself was fine.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I spent one night in Lancaster, PA area and found this hotel to be great. Nice clean rooms, great bedding and comfortable beds, good breakfast included in price. The room had a microwave and refrigerator. We didn't use the pool, but lots of others took advantage of the pool. A nice restaurant is next to the hotel in which we went to have a cocktail and appetizer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and use guest comments to improve the experience. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one full week. First thing we noticed in our room Queen Anne Chair ripped. Killed Roach in our bathroom, Internet did not work in our room. Out all day come back at 3pm room still not cleaned. Breakfast not bad today they put out old bananas. Indian owned hotel. Coming back they made one bed and did not do the second bed. Where they have the two computers all you can smell is Indian curry every day.

Room Tip: Not sure there are buildings scattered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank edinburghlassietn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for sharing you experience at our hotel. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and ask guests to notify us immediately of any concerns. We will use this feedback to improve our guest experience .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We traveled with our three kids and my parents. The hotel was old but well maintained. The grounds were beautiful; flowers everywhere, nice yard, gazebo and playground in the back. They allowed us to check in early which was great as our kids were ready to hit the pool after a day of driving. The room had a microwave and a fridge in it. The breakfast was great; many choices including eggs, bacon, hash browns, cereal, toast, fruit, juice and it was free! We paid $99 a night and it was a good value. The only problems we encountered had to do with the cleaning of the rooms. I had to ask someone to come and clean our shower/tub when we arrived as it hadn't been cleaned well and there was dust hanging from the lamps between the beds in my parents' room and there was a broken lamp in the room. The Inn was very close to the Sight and Sound Theater, maybe 3 minutes away. We will stay there again when we return to Lancaster.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LizY339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will use to improve our guests experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Ronks
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.6 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing