We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, But Hotel Needs Help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location, But Hotel Needs Help”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The positive: excellent location, quiet, beautifully furnished rooms (headboards are exquisite). Suggestions for management: (1) walls/doors are sticky/greasy, please clean! (2) the main cleaning lady seems sweet and works very hard but somehow her half bleached hair always looks greasy/ messy/ dirty and clothes seem overly rumpled/soiled ... I hope the best for her, but a grooming code or dress code may be helpful for everyone? The greasy/dirty look makes the whole hotel seem greasy/dirty. (3) doorknobs are old and make hands smell like metal, please update. (4) "Watch step" in tiny letters on the door does NOT properly alert people for the HUGE drop outside the brick building. Please fix the steps! This must be illegal because it is not to code and somebody is going to break some bones on that step. Have a great day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We appreciate all feed back from guests to improve our guests experience. We are a historic hotel with a variety of building styles and walkways. All areas are clearly marked with proper signage regarding steps. We take every precaution to be sure all guest are in a safe enviroment. Thank you for you feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    180
    95
    55
    46
See reviews for
224
178
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inwood, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Warm and friendly describes atmosphere and attitude of staff. A big plus for me. Also, the Clarion Inn is perfectly located to all the sights, sounds and entertainment associated with the Lancaster, PA area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thankyou for sharing your visit to our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great Inn Beautiful surroundings Got a great rate online
Would go back again. Great restauraunt located on the grounds but run independently from the inn
Great place to stay for families
Plan on a return trip this fall

Room Tip: I like the buildings furthest from the main inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. We offer a great value for a great breakfast and quality rooms. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 7th anniversary here. The room was amazing. For the cost of the room we had, most places would have been double and with much less amenities. The hot breakfast items in the morning along with fresh pastry and everything you can imagine all included. Make a special trip here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel We are pleased you had a fantastic stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Minutes away from Lancaster and all the attractions, the hotel is litterally across from a corn field! Awesome! Yes, the country setting comes with the farm smell at times and bugs at night, but this is farmland.
The staff is helpfull and friendly, the rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are comfortable. The pool is small and crowded at times.
Bonus: free breakfast, great views!
The WiFi wasn't working properly at the time of our visit.
Overall, good value and clean.

Room Tip: Some rooms have old, AC units - in working condition though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Envisions7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit to our hotel. You described it best that we are surrounded by amish farmland. The hotel is within 5 miles of all popular attractions and things to do. We apologize the wifi was temporary down due to a storm surge but has since been restored. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been going there since I was a child every fall. Awesome service, friendly and helpful staff, and the food is always great. Pool is a tad small but does the job. The hotel is away from the main road which made for great sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We offer a great relaxing atmosphere with all the amenities. We have a great restaurant on site for a great dinner experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We checked in very late but the front deal staff was very polite and we were given the room and it was a very spacious one. The only thing that I can think of is that there is no elevator but only few stairs and your right there( made it with 3 kids)!
Breakfast was very nice and they kept topping it up as soon as they got over.
At the end of the day you get way more than what you pay for! We wished we had the time to stay another day but had to leave .
Don't worry about the negative comments ...you will not regret !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Kdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman H, General Manager at Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing you visit to our hotel. We are off the main road and offer a quiet getaway from all the city rush. We are surrounded by amish countryside only minutes from all the attractions. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn

Property: Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
Address: 1400 Historic Dr, Strasburg, PA 17579-1469 (Formerly Netherlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Hotel Strasburg
Historic Strasburg Hotel
Historic Hotel Strasburg
Netherlands Inn And Spa
Historic Strasburg Inn
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing