We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strasburg Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This bed and breakfast was so nice. Very quiet and relaxing. People were so friendly. The facility itself was very clean and quaint. It was an old building but the upkeep was very good. You could tell there was age to the place but as stated before, it was very clean and the updates did not take away from the antique feel of the place. We had renewed our wedding vows and just wanted to get away and unwind from the hustle and bustle of planning the wedding and reception. We could not have picked a better place to do so. It was so nice just to spend the day sitting on the rocking chairs on the front porch and reading.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody-17579, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are honored that you chose our Inn for what was your "second honeymoon". We enjoyed having you here and knowing that you were able to relax, rest and rejuvenate during your stay with us!

It was a good time of year to enjoy rocking away on our front porch while you watched traffic, including horses and buggies, go by.

We hope you'll come back and visit us again, and you don't have to wait until you're stressed out from big plans and big events! We'll offer you a clean, comfortable room and a warm welcome whenever you want to visit and rock the day away on the porch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I chose the Strasburg Village Inn to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. We were both pleased with our stay here. The Inn is on the main square in town and is close to a number of shops, eateries and excursions (buggy rides, dinner theater). We were greeted by friendly staff and had a nice little note acknowledging our anniversary on the bed upon our arrival. The room was spacious and very clean. I had read one previous review that the guest found their room was very dirty. I simply find this hard to believe now that I have seen for myself how impeccably clean these folks keep the place.

There is a very cozy sitting room with TV, comfortable chairs, sofa and old fashioned touches. They offer complimentary Keurig and homemade fudge for guest's enjoyment. I loved the peanut butter fudge. It seems as if they offer two flavors at a time. If you want more, simply step next door to the creamery and gift shop. We did not try the ice cream but we bought wonderful pumpkin and zucchini bread at the bakery on the other side of the inn the next morning after a lovely hot breakfast (Pancakes, Bacon, Eggs, Caramel Filled Banana Nut Muffins, Fresh Strawberries, OJ and Hot Coffee.

We ate dinner at a small Pizzaria across the street because we checked in later in the day and only had the time or energy to get a quick meal. The food was great. The Chicken Parmesan was yummy but the best part was the hot baked bread that accompanied the salad. It was nice to find a reasonably priced meal so accessible.

We sat on the porch a while after dinner to watch the comings and goings of the people. It was also interesting to see the buggies pass by.

We found the bed to be very comfortable and there was a strong internet connection which served us well.

I would say my only issue was the amount of traffic that whizzed by our widow at 3 and 4 o'clock in the morning. If you are a light sleeper, this would be a consideration; however, this is something that is obviously out of the inn's control.

Upon check out, we went on our way to enjoy the other wonderful offerings of Lancaster County! Dinner Theater, Strasburg Village and the Tailgater party, Music, Shopping and free food samplings all over the area.

Would we stay again? Definitely...it was a great way to spend our 1st anniversary and we have lovely memories as a result.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Allen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Inn. We are privileged to know that you choose us as the location to celebrate your very first wedding anniversary!

I am sorry that you couldn't offer a better rating on "sleep quality" - you mentioned that the bed was comfortable but that you were bothered by the street noise, so I'm hoping that is what caused the drop in your rating. I do want to offer to you that rooms #2, 3, 8, 9 and 11 are all in what we call "the back of the house", meaning that they don't have windows on the street side as the remaining rooms do. This might be a better option for you when you visit us again.

And we do hope you'll visit us again - for each anniversary!

Thank you again for the privilege of your business, of sharing your anniversary celebration with you, and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first time staying at the Strasburg Village Inn. We normally do not stay at B & B's, preferring hotels and motels instead. We made a reservation at the Inn because we had received a gift certificate to use at a B & B and we were going to be in Lancaster.

We were able to make a reservation on short notice for the next day. When we arrived at the Inn we were pleasantly surprised that it was so lovely. Jody, the manager was friendly and professional, showing us to our room after we checked in. Our room was spacious and had a TV and small fridge. The private bath was also spacious. We were very pleased that the room was air conditioned with an adjustable thermostat. We also had a lovely private porch off our room with 2 comfortable chairs and a table. In all, we were very impressed with all the amenities offered with our room. Even the decor of the room was in keeping with the historical ambiance of the 200 year old Inn. We were on the 2nd floor and down a short hall was the "social room" that offered coffee, tea and fudge for the guests. There was even a cabinet with a wine opener and glasses for the bottle of wine we bought at the winery behind the Inn. The breakfast at the Creamery downstairs was very good, but it was only served from 8-9am, so we we didn't get to "sleep in."

All in all, we had a wonderful experience at The Strasburg Village Inn. The only disappointment was that the cost of the room was expensive for us, and without the gift certificate we would not have been able to afford the experience. We totally recommend this Inn for people wanting a nice B & B experience, without the feeling of being a guest in someone's home.

Room Tip: The rooms with special amenities like a porch or larger beds are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody O, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are so glad that your first experience at a B&B was a positive one for you. Because B&Bs are such a diverse product, we understand that there can be some trepidation of what to expect from/at a B&B location. We pride ourselves on our Victorian period furnishings and ambiance that still provide the modern amenities that today's travelers need.

We do have a variety of room types available here at the Inn, some less expensive than the suite into which you were booked, so we hope you'll take a look at all of our room types via our website and perhaps choose to stay with us again in a less costly room so that you can still enjoy all of the charm of the Inn and Strasburg.

Thank you for your review, and we hope we'll somehow get to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

If your tired of those chain motels, and want a nice change where you can sit back and relax, then Strasburg Village Inn is for you. Old Victorian building well maintained and clean, with a very nice manager. Wine Store, bakery and creamery all within 20 yards of the building. I will definitely be back here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricedale2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody O, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent experience here at our Inn. We're always pleased to learn what our guests like - and dislike about their stays with us so that we can keep doing what we're doing well and focusing on any areas that need attention.

I'm glad you appreciated the uniqueness of our property and how nice it is to find a property that doesn't feel like just another hotel room in just another hotel. And our surrounding shoppes can take care of most of your getaway needs without having to drive off the property.

We're glad to know you'll plan to visit us again when you're travels bring you back to the area! Thanks again for your time in sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were welcomed the moment we walked in the door. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The inn has a wonderful yesteryear feel and yet modern conveniences such as flat panel TV and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was in the adjoining country store and included fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, bacon, toast and more. The staff again welcomed us very graciously. We normally stay in "franchise" locations but SVI has changed that when we return to Lancaster area. We hope you will not miss this special treasure for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience here at our Inn, and thank you as well for letting us know that it was a positive one.

Your review made me smile, because I've been guilty of "franchise shopping/booking" for my own travels, largely because I know what I should be able to expect from any brand within a known franchise. The truth is, any lodging property still in business today is most likely offering you a clean, comfortable room at a rate guests are willing to pay. We believe it is the uniqueness of our property and individual guest rooms, as well as the extra time and attention we try to give our guests, that makes a guest's stay a memorable experience beyond just another "cookie-cutter" type hotel property.

We're glad you stepped out of your comfort zone and found us, and we'll look forward to your return the next time you travel to the area! (Plus, it could be fun to see if you can run into someone else here that you know from home!)

Thank you again for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and we we're so glad our first experience was here. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the staff extremely accommodating. The Inn is close to some really great restaurants and all of the local attractions. All-in-all a delightful experience. We'll be back.

Room Tip: You want Room #2 - the one with the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody-17579, Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience here at our Inn. Since this was your first B&B experience, we're happy to know that it was a positive one and that you might consider visiting B&B properties in other areas where you travel.

We're also delighted to know that you've discovered that it is possible to travel just a few miles off a major thoroughfare, without giving up easy access to area attractions, and find unique choices other than the "cookie-cutter" brand hotels.

Room #2 is definitely wonderful, with its private porch, when weather permits you to take advantage of it. It also happens to be a great room from which to watch snow falling, though most folks don't go out to the porch then! :-)

We are honored that you plan to return to visit us when you return to the area, and we encourage you to choose a different room next time so that you have an all-new experience!

Thank you again for the kind words of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went online Friday June 21 spur of the minute for something to do since the weather was going to be so nice. Saw SVI had a room available...website said to call to confirm room. Line was busy and I sent an e-mail. Jody wrote right back to say all's good, come on out. She offered early check-in without me having to ask. Arrived to a very warm greeting from Jody around 1:30 with the room ready. She explained all the things we needed to know like access to the inn after hours and breakfast procedure for the morning.
The entire inn is tastefully appointed, clean and very welcoming. The room was a bit on the small side but very nice.
There is a large sitting room on the second floor steps from our room with complimentary snacks and juice.
The inn is quiet and there is no outside noise to contend with and the air conditioner worked well and quietly.
The next morning we went next door to the ice cream shop for breakfast. The service was prompt and courteous and tasty.
We will certainly be back again. A great experience all around. Thank you Jody.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody O, General Manager at Strasburg Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Strasburg Village Inn.

We know that travelers can find a lot of properties that offer clean, comfortable rooms, and it's our goal to add to that by providing great customer service and a memorable experience. Thank you for noticing the little extras we try to provide to our guests to help them remember us.

I'm so glad we were able to fill your last-minute decision to travel, despite the special event that was occurring in the area, and hope that we'll be just as fortunate when you decide to visit the area again. It would be our humble privilege to have you choose us again for your overnight accommodations.

Thank you again for your kind remarks, and please come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 40 in Lancaster
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
3.4 mi away
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
Tru by Hilton Lancaster East
#15 of 40 in Lancaster
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strasburg Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strasburg Village Inn

Address: 1 W Main St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1516
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range: £101 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strasburg Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strasburg Village Inn has been serving folks traveling through Strasburg since before the turn of the 20th century. These days the Inn boasts 10 classically appointed guest rooms, all complete with amenities to suit the 21st century traveler, as well as a one-bedroom vacation home rental. Here, you are within walkable dining and shopping, plus attractions like the Strasburg Railroad and Sight & Sound are all just a five-minute drive away. Book a room today and explore all that Strasburg has to offer. The Village Inn is just one part of The Strasburg Shoppes at Center Square, located in the heart of downtown Strasburg, PA. Visiting us is like taking a walk back in time. We serve homemade ice cream and freshly made waffle cones at our Creamery, plus a host of other old fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch delicacies at our Candy Kitchen and Deli. Our Winery serves award-winning Pennsylvania wines while the Bakery specializes in Amish treats like whoopie pies and freshly baked cookies. Eat, shop and stay at this "town within a town." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Strasburg Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strasburg Village Inn PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing