We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Choo Choo Barn

Choo Choo Barn
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Train - themed shops.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Walked around the display 3 times and saw several new things, unnoticed, each time through. Take your time, don't rush - it's not all about the trains, as my 8 year old finally realized. Do the scavenger hunt thing - it was lots of fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBowman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    76
    28
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great For Train Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our kids second trip to the Choo Choo Barn and they loved it as much as the first visit. So much going on that you continually see things you missed previously. Makes you want to build your own train models at home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank U2SOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our second trip here and we thoroughly enjoyed. The creativity and amount of work that went into this is amazing. Both adults and children thoroughly enjoyed. We will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Choo Choo Barn was a huge hit with me and my family. My 2.5 year old son was mesmerized with all the cool automation on the train layout. My wife enjoyed the many details like the house that catches fire and is put out with real water by fire fighters. I thoroughly recommend a visit, its a great way to kill an hour or more if you like model trains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Attention Train Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are a train lover, young or old, you must visit the Choo Choo Barn in Strausburg, PA. This is a building full of model trains, animated characters, villages,and towns. You'll see the zoo with moving animals, the circus with animated characters, and firemen squirting water on a house on fire. You'll see the Amish men constructing a barn, the pitcher looking over to 3rd base as the runner tries to steal a base, and the skiers and kids on sleds coming down the snow covered mountain. All of this while trains are circling!

Upon entering the Choo Choo Barn, you'll be given a sheet of paper with a short history of the attraction on one side and a scavenger hunt on the other. My 6 year old grandson and I had been in the barn for over an hour before we even discovered the hunt. We had the best time revisiting all of the sights looking for the items on the list, especially the 3 headed troll!

My two grandsons, ages 3 and 6 had a wonderful time here. At first they had to run around and just see everything at a glance. Next they had to follow the trains before settling down and really looking at the displays and appreciating the details. If possible go during the week as this attraction is very busy during the summer and on weekends.

A great follow up to this visit is a ride on the Strausburg Railroad through the beautiful Amish countryside. My boys loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mustangsandy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choo Choo Barn also viewed

Ronks, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to Choo Choo Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing