We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a layout”
Review of Choo Choo Barn

Choo Choo Barn
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Strasburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 70 years in the making, this gigantic model train layout is still owned and operated by the Groff family. Master modeler, Tom Groff, designs and adds new animations, scale buildings and local scenes each year. See a fire engine race to the rescue to put out the fire at a burning house – with real water! Watch in awe as night falls over Traintown, USA. You’ll recognize local landmarks like Dutch Wonderland and the Strasburg Railroad – in detailed miniature! This is much more than a train display – it is an amazing, hand-built work of art.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a layout”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is not just for little kids. To watch everything that is happening on this layout. We spent 1 1/2 hours watching everything and bet we still missed some things. Well worth the stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    76
    30
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Walked around the display 3 times and saw several new things, unnoticed, each time through. Take your time, don't rush - it's not all about the trains, as my 8 year old finally realized. Do the scavenger hunt thing - it was lots of fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBowman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great For Train Lovers”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our kids second trip to the Choo Choo Barn and they loved it as much as the first visit. So much going on that you continually see things you missed previously. Makes you want to build your own train models at home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank U2SOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our second trip here and we thoroughly enjoyed. The creativity and amount of work that went into this is amazing. Both adults and children thoroughly enjoyed. We will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Choo Choo Barn was a huge hit with me and my family. My 2.5 year old son was mesmerized with all the cool automation on the train layout. My wife enjoyed the many details like the house that catches fire and is put out with real water by fire fighters. I thoroughly recommend a visit, its a great way to kill an hour or more if you like model trains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choo Choo Barn also viewed

Ronks, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Been to Choo Choo Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing