We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn at Strasburg
Ranked #3 of 4 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2012

What a wonderful B&B! We came to The Barn on a Monday evening, after touring Washington D.C. for a few days, and fell in love with Strasburg! After returning to D.C. for a few more days, we decided, on a whim, to return for one more glorious day at The Barn. The Hoenshell's (delightful innkeepers) graciously welcomed us back for a much-needed day of rest! Even our kids (ages 7 and 4), LOVED visiting The Barn!

The Barn offers beautiful and comfortable rooms, the grounds are just lovely, and the Hoenshells are a wonderful Christian couple who take pride in serving their guests in every way! Oh, and I must not forget - the breakfasts are delicious! We will definitely be back! We HIGHLY recommend The Barn!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful! Choosing would just be a preference of how large of a room you would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our first visit to a US B&B. We chose this rather than a hotel because we wanted to meet up with local people and find out more about the American way of life. We stayed in the Shaker room which was really comfortable - better than it looked on the website. Clean and beautifully furnished with a great shower. Only slight niggle was that the bed is in a tight end to the room and you need to be very slim to get around to the side against the wall. Erin and Jeff were extremely welcoming and very helpful as to suggestions for things to do/places to eat. Erin's breakfast was a real treat - homemade quiche and lots of other choices of fresh fruit, cakes, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Racingfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Barn. After researching several B & B's that were all booked, we thought we would have to stay at some random hotel to celebrate our anniversary. Then we found The Barn. We actually liked Strasburg better than route 30/Lancaster...it was much more laid back and relaxing. The Barn is tucked back off of the main road in Strasburg. The decor is beautiful and the rooms are spacious. Everything is so clean and the breakfast was delicious. Jeff & Erin are so nice and truly make you feel at home. We can't wait to plan our next trip...and yes, we plan on staying at The Barn again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanzlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Our family has stayed at The Barn at Strasburg twice now, and will definitley stay there again next time we are in the area! You could not ask for better hospitality and comfort. Jeff and Erin go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome, and accomodated our family of four in every way. They are warm and welcoming and offer great knowledge of the area. Breakfast was different both times we stayed... and both times absolutely delicious!!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. This is definitely a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Every hotel I called was booked - and in desperation I started looking at Bed & Breakfastes. I happened on this one - and couldn't believe my good fortune. The rooms are nicely decorated - not tacky country, just pretty country decor. The room was quiet and comfortable with a great shower and the kitchen was available to make popcorn or get a soft drink or late night snack. For breakfast there was fruit and dip, bagels etc. and then the innkeeper brought over a hot platter, too. Yum! It was truly a little bit of heaven.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I usually stay at Kitchen Kettle Village but we were ready to try something new. What a great experience it was. The master suite was extremely clean and large with a huge whirlpool bath and a beautiful extra large shower. The towels were thick and the bed was extra comfy. The breakfasts were delicious and looked like pictures from a gourmet magazine. Jeff and Erin were the perfect host and hostess and were so enjoyable to talk to. We will definitely be back and worth the 14 hour drive to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Usually when my husband and I stay at a B&B, we go for the ones built in the 1800's with all the victorian charm. We love the antiques, having the bed turned down for us at night, and being served a delicious homecooked breakfast. The next day after we leave for our adventures, the bed is made and the bath is cleaned. Around mid-afternoon, there would be wine and cheese served or tea and homebaked cookies. This time we decided on a newer place. If you are looking for a clean, beautifully decorated, private Inn, The Barn is for you. If you don't mind serving yourself breakfast and enjoy being on your own, you will enjoy your stay. I prefer being served, having the dishes removed after I eat and knowing that second cup of coffee is on its way. I like coming back to a room where the bed has been made, the bath straightened out and a treat waiting for us in the common room that encourages a conversation with others staying at the B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaker Room. We were able to view all three rooms and they were all beautifully de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
2.8 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Strasburg Village Inn
Strasburg Village Inn
#4 of 4 in Strasburg
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Limestone Inn
Limestone Inn
#2 of 4 in Strasburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Strasburg

Address: 308 Miller St, Strasburg, PA 17579-1008
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range: £102 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, newly opened for ´07, Bed and Breakfast located in the town of Strasburg, PA. We are secluded, but close to local attractions in the heart of Amish country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barn At Strasburg PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing