We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"HIDDEN GEM" in Amish country paradise!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaver Creek Farm Cabins/Cottages
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"HIDDEN GEM" in Amish country paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My family first went to this truly 'hidden gem' in the heart of Amish country living in 1976 for a week. My Mom loved it so much she booked the following year for 2 weeks and that booking continued every year in the same cabin, same 2 weeks (1st 2 weeks of August). A place that has transformed us to 'stop and smell the roses' from the rat-race living we have in the NY/NJ area. Completely transforms you to the serenity and peace of simple country living!!! There is SO much to do, see and absorb culturally in the area- watching the ballooning in the distance (or even ballooning, passing above!); Amish buggies go by on the hill in the crisp morning misty air while listening to the gurgling of the creek next to the pavillion is by far the best 'peace' of paradise you can have to start your morning sitting enjoying your cup o' joe! The Brubakers/Brooks have been top notch, impeccable and meticulous with their hospitality, home made ice cream (the best EVER!), home made root beer and free wi-fi (for those of you that just can't 'disconnect' because of your work- that's the reason you NEED TO GO HERE!!!). DO NOT go by the person's review of a '1' (S J- 'Shadow of what it used to be') who has not been going here and known the family since we have (1976). Anything you need to be accommodated with is as simple as 'asking' the proprietors. We just had a Family Reunion of about 20 residing for one and two nights here for the weekend. And all excellent reviews to our 'Director' (thanks, Sis!) for our reunion being held at 'The Farm' (as my Mom has nicknamed this place!).

Room Tip: Every cabin is great with spectacular sunset/ballooning views!!! If you have kids you may want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyDiNJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were here for a family reunion weekend. So glad we made the nine hour trip. Rhonda and Donnie where great hosts. Beaver Creek Farm Cabins is a very special place and quite retreat. We would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdaubenspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our family has visited beaver creek cabins for 34 years. It has always maintained it's charm and beauty. A great place for a family vacation or couples. At the top of the hill there are 2 bedroom cabins and at the bottom there are 1 bedroom cabins. They are simple but perfect with a stove, fridge & kitchen table. The owners are very nice and on the contrary to what other reviews may say Ronda and her family keep these cabins clean and the grounds are impeccable. There are also goats in a fenced area which my children adore seeing. If you like a nice trip to the Amish country and being close to shopping amusement parks and steam engine trains this is the trip for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We booked a two night stay in a two bedroom cabin. Upon arrival there were stink bugs in our cabin (they found their way in through I small tear in a window screen. The owner Ronda was extremely accommodating and immediately addresses the problem and also offered a full refund since they were fully booked. We stayed and despite the stink bug incident, this place is fantastic! The cabin is super clean (small and simple but well air conditioned). There is beautiful property and we are next to the goat area which my kids love (no smell indoors). So nice to cook dinner and relax. These cabins are a great value!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcangiano123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldora, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We actually found these wonderful place by accident. Had a wonderful time. It's peaceful and relaxing for adults with plenty to do for children. Cabins are extremely clean and roomy. We had a wonderful time relaxing, fishing, swimming, cooking on the campfire, playing mini disc golf and meeting wonderful people. Cabins are a short ride from all the shopping and attractions yet while at the cabin everything was quiet and relaxing. We made many wonderful memories and can't wait to return.
The Fowlers from NJ.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Easy access to tourist attractions, but provides peace and quiet at the end of the day. We have stayed here twice. The setting is rural and rustic, but that is exactly what we want! I have never stayed anywhere else where I am greeted with "welcome home". It feels like a family reunion when you pull onto the property. We would never consider staying anywhere else but Beaver Creek Farm Cabins when we visit Strasburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

There must be something that keeps us comeing back year after year, generation after generation. Could it be when you turn into the driveway of 2 Little Beaver Rd we enter into another world? A world of peace and tranquility and friendship that is so hard to find in this world of hustle and bustle.
The first thing you see are the fields. It could be corn, tobacco, or just lying fallow for the year. The black cows with their calves grace one side of the driveway. The you come to the old swimming hole with an area for little ones to wade and splash in. On the other side it is deeper where you can revisit your youth and play king of the mountain on the raft that has been provided or just float around in Jennie, the boat that was donated by regulars that dearly love Beaver Creek. There is even a boat house where Jennie and the raft can be tucked in for the night. I have seen many a dad teach his son how to fish in that big old pond. At the end of the day you will often see some Amish families come and play and cool off after a hard day of work.
At one end of the pond is a covered bridge that will rumble as you drive through it to cabins 5 and 6. If you walk through it you can look out down the creek and dream about days gone by when beaver actually did occupy the creek. If you look real hard you might even believe you see one.
Take a trip back over the bridge to the long driveway and head accross the creek where you will find cabins 1 through 4. 3 and 4 is a half cabin that is perfect for bringing grandma and grandpa. They can sit out front watching the kids romp and play listening to the horse and buggy's clip clop a they pass on the road. The smoke can be seen from the Strasburg Steam train as it leaves the station with a hearty whistle that echo's accross the valley and up the hills.
Follow that wonderful driveway further and you think you are going right into the fields as you go up higher to cabins 7 through 10. Cabin 10 was our magical beginning. We watched as our little girl answered the baa baa of the sheep in the mornings in the little field right next to the cabin. She would run out to talk, pet and feed them still in her nightgown, hair blowing behind her as she ran. There are goats there now but they still seem to know when there are children there.
Each cabin is well supplied with pots, pans, dishes, silverware, and fresh linen and towels. A full kitchen allows you to cook your own meals or there are many restaurants in the area. Even though there is no maid service, Ronda and the Amish girls that help her clea manage to make the cabins sparkle and smell fresh and clean for your arrival.
As dusk settles the pavillion provides a gathering place with a fire pit for a warm glow and perfect setting to meet and talk about the days adventures with your cabin mates. Quite often someone will tell a story for the children and before you know it, the adults are listening too remembering the excitement from when they were young. Maybe the week you're there someone plays an instrument or sings a song. No matter what the pavillion beckons you.
I must remind you to bring your favorite recipe ot make for the Wednesday night cookout. My goodness, what wonderful food has been sampled over the years. As a special treat Ronda makes home made ice cream after the meal, yum!!
Harold and Mariam Brubaker built the first cabin in 1967 so, yes, they are aged. But in the aging each cabin has a character of its own. Part of the character are the memories you have of it and your stay there. Ronda has maintained the quality and friendship that her parents started more than 45 years ago.
As we leave the tranquil time we have spent at Beaver Creek behind us to head back to reality, we often will dream about how wonderful it will be next year and remember with love our stay here.

Room Tip: Bring your imagination and your children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
10.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lancaster East - Strasburg
4.0 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Creek Farm Cabins/Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Creek Farm Cabins/Cottages

Property: Beaver Creek Farm Cabins/Cottages
Address: 2 Little Beaver Rd, Strasburg, PA 17579-9773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 and 2 bedroom Cabins/Cottages with full kitchen and bath. Heat & A/C. Central WiFi. Country setting. Fishing, Hiking, Mini Disc Golf. Fire Pit, Gathering Pavilion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Creek Farm Cabins Hotel Strasburg
Cabins In Pennsylvania
Beaver Creek Farm Cabins/Cottages Strasburg, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing