We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Springerle in Strasburg!”
Review of The Springerle House - CLOSED

The Springerle House
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Description: Charming little European-style bakery and cafe, serving fresh-brewed teas, fresh-ground coffee, all homemade bakery items. Light lunches include homemade soups in cooler months, garden-fresh organic veggies featured in the summer months, homesmoked meats on panini sandwiches. One of the few places in the country to find springerle, also called "picture cookies"; our cookies have been chosen by the Lancaster County Planning Commission as a "Heritage Craft". Stop by to enjoy a delicious taste of the past!Now offering our handpainted folk art springerle ornaments and our own springerle cookie molds for sale year-round: both made here in Lancaster County, PA.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Found Springerle in Strasburg!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was dumbfounded to find a cafe in Strasburg, PA that saves Springerle cookies (and beverages to accompany them), and the ability to buy Springerle molds and painted cookies to display. Anyone from a German/Swiss background will love this little cafe and shop. The owner's family has been making Springerle for over a hundred years.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious local flavor”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This was a great inexpensive lunch. I had the salad sandwich combo for about $10 and it was delicious. The small coffee shop has some lovely outdoor tables too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Iced coffee nirvana”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Enjoyed good, strong iced coffee on 3 occasions here during a weekend trip. No other coffee house in the area approached the quality we found at Springerle House. Baked goods were also quite appealing and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth the trip!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I almost swooned from the incredible smells that hit you the moment you step inside the door. The chai latte is my fav (of anywhere) and the Apple A Day sandwich too good to share. The cookies are so dear- I love sending a box to special friends in faraway places.
Perfect place to pick up souvenirs from Lancaster area. Also has a large selection of flavorful teas to choose from. All round dreamy kind of place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little spot in Strasburg!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had a late lunch and sat at the counter in this little cafe on Main Street. The young woman who was working was very helpful with information about the area. We asked lots of questions about the cafe, the items she baked, and where to eat dinner. She was very open to share about her work and the cafe; telling us about Springerle cookies (which, by the way, we outstanding), and led us to a great restaurant in Lancaster for dinner. I'd highly recommend a stop here, when you are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Springerle House also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Strasburg, Lancaster County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing