We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Last minute trip to the poconos. think this was one of the last rooms available near camelback, booked that day. The front desk staff was really nice, courteous. Room was very basic and dated but clean. heater cycles on and off so we would get really hot at times. Fridge , safe , microwave a nice touch. Continental breakfast good! Fresh bagels. The only down side was the room had a smell to it, sort of antiseptic and stinky feet that lingered on our clothes. Had to wash everything worn and unworn when we got home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wetakethekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
34
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

To stay in Econo Lodge is convenient to get to ski resort Camelback.Very nice place to stay,Mrs.D and others very kind.place is clean and bed was comfortable for sleep. I will recommend my friends to stay there.

Room Tip: I was on 3rd floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south plainfield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Enjoyed our night at the Econo lodge, perfect for this area. The hotel's bedroom was very large, spacious. Though the room may need some updating, it was very clean, and we slept comfortably. The location was excellent, right off highway 80. The customer service was good too, breakfast was your usual continental, fine for what we needed. If you plan to be in the area for a short time, this very economical hotel will do nicely. Remember, not too many extras , the price fits the package, great if you do not want to spend a lot for just having a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccteach615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel! We typically stay in Hilton brand hotels simply due to the consistency we know we can expect. We decided last minute to take a trip up to the Falls and the Hampton (and Holiday Inn which would've been our 2nd choice) in town was full. We were nervous about staying at a budget hotel as we have had both good and horrendous stays in this price level.

We were very pleased with this Econo Lodge. The lobby and rooms were very clean and well maintained. Yes, they were outdated, but we don't care about that as long as the room is clean and everything works. The beds, sheets, and towels were fine. Nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about either. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave.

The location is awesome! It is in a neighborhood and quiet. You can walk to Main St, which has everything you need and some adorable restaurants. It is right off the interstate, and 25-45 minutes from the various Falls we were visiting. There's also Comptons Pancakes next door which is cheap and excellent for breakfast.

If you go with expectations of a budget hotel, you will not be disappointed. If you're looking for a Hilton type hotel, book early and stay at the Hampton;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I expected it to be what you would get for $80 a night. It was surprisingly well maintained and the rooms were relatively clean. The non-smoking room did not smell like a smoking room (it usually does). AC in the room worked well. Only complaint regarding the room is the carpet and chairs need to be cleaned as there were some stains on them.

The hotel is just off Main St but close enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RagenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was great! It's located right off of Route 80, so perfect if you're traveling. The room was clean and cozy it was exactly what we needed. There's a few great restaurants just down the street from the hotel which was also another plus. The breakfast was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. I'll definitely book again.

Room Tip: I loved my room, so I am guessing they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a vacation to the Poconos, the hotel was conveniently located right off of route 80. Overall, my experience of the hotel was quite positive, the room was clean and tidy, it accommodated my family of 4 just fine. I appreciated the fact that I could park my car right outside my room. The front desk staff was also friendly, the lady at the front desk was able to direct us to Main Street (only 2 blocks away from the hotel) for dinner, and I found the overall atmosphere of Stroudsburg upbeat, yet relaxing. The continental breakfast in the morning was satisfying. For the price, this place is a great bang for your buck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRich_1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroudsburg
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bartonsville Poconos
2.5 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#7 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 100 Park Ave, Stroudsburg, PA 18360-1521 (Formerly Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing