We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it sounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Stroudsburg
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it sounds”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with our family of five in March for a quick ski weekend. My husband was insistent on canceling after reading reviews but it was too late. There are a few issues but overall I would stay again. Pros: good location for skiing at Camelback...a quick 20 minute or less drive; decent sized room with fresh paint and updating bedding; bonus was having a refrigerator & microwave in room which wasn't advertised; found our limited interactions with front desk staff was friendly but we didn't need anything extra; no free breakfast but we knew that and hit the Wawa 1 minute away for morning snacks before hitting slopes; indoor pool was large and heated
Cons: the hallway carpet upstairs seemed new but the room carpet did not...and could either use a thorough cleaning or replacement... It would go a long way; our room upstairs had a balcony that faced the pool area...and the echo from that area is loud. On the plus side the pool closes at 10pm and I will say that as loud as it was in our room from 9:30pm to 10pm it got quiet at 10pm but if you have young kids or anyone needing to sleep earlier than 10pm..not for you. And the other thing was the room temperature...it could not be controlled really. It was HOT in our room and our only option was to turn off the heating fan and turn on the ceiling room fan. So if you like a HOT room..you are OK. This may not be all rooms. It looked like some outside rooms and even some lower level rooms along pool might have wall units and perhaps they could control their room temp. I was OK but my husband did not enjoy the room temp issue. We didn't ask to move since we arrived late Fri night after a 3.5+ hour drive and just wanted to sleep before a long day skiing the next day. So other than those issues I would not rank this hotel as my worst stay. We travel a lot and have stayed in many level hotels. I would stay again...and if the room temp issue was resolved I think I could convince my husband to stay again too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catladyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to see some positive comments once in a while.

As you stated there are pros and cons at the moment for the hotel, but we are in the process of doing numerous renovations. As you know, things don't get done overnight and it is taking us some time to get things done. We are aware of the carpet situation and are at this moment taking steps to replace the carpeting throughout the hotel. We are also at the same time, dealing with room temperature issues. This is an old building and so is our system and as you noted, we are rectifying that issue so that each room has individual control over the heat and a/c.

I am glad that you saw the good points and commented on them too and hope that you will come back again when we are finished with all the renovations and let us show you a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    40
    63
    118
See reviews for
102
56
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We live in the area and we use this hotel when we cannot stay at home (power failures water problems) We stayed on Feb 24 for one night because our well pump was not in service, We made our reservation online that night. we received rate of $69.00 for a room with a king size bed. the room was spotless, with a 32 inch flat screen TV. Checking in was really fast. We really did see or have any problems.

We do not use any of the amenities, so we cannot comment on them. We go there to sleep and take a shower. So we can go to work the next day.

For our purpose this Hotel suits our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony1011aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey.

Your comments will be shared with our Owner, General Manager and staff. We strive to give the best service and accomodations we can to our guests and are happy when guests see the improvements we have made. We are not finished yet with all of our renovations, and hope that when we they are completed, you will come back and see us.

Again thank you for your review and taking time out to return the survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good place to stay for the weekend close to ski areas and outlet stores. Front desk staff very friendly, indoor pool area very big and open until 10 pm good for the kids, bar also in the motel. Yes it is under renovations but several other motels in the area are also . I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As we strive to give our guests the best service and accomodations, it is nice to hear from people who have enjoyed their stay.

Yes we are under renovations and hope to have them completed very soon.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, hopefully in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Front desk staff was more interested in watching the olympics on the TV than helping the customer. When asked what time does breakfast open the reply was "its not included in your room!!" I was there for 2 days and both days i did not see 1 person in the restaurant....no customer or staff..just a blaring TV! The room was extremely hot...air was not working. Pool area was nice and kids enjoyed that, but the area was not kept clean..dirty towels on the chairs,empty cans and trash around, I even saw the same crushed can on a table for the 2 days i was there...where is the staff?? Oh and back to the front desk...when we returned to our room after being out all day to find it had not been touched by housekeeping...I called for some towels and toilet paper I was told in a nasty voice " come down and get it, I have noone else here" Hopefully when the renovations are done the place will be better. Maybe management needs to renovate the staff also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I was sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. What you experienced was not the norm that is expected of our staff. I will definitely forward your comment to the appropriate department manager as well as the general manager and owner.

Our staff is trained to give the utmost customer service to our guests. This was not acceptable behavior. I hope that you will overlook this and hopefully give us another chance to show you a more enjoyable stay with us in the future.

Again I apologize and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stroudsburg hotels

North Central MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ya, they're under renovations but to not even have a continental breakfast on a $100+ bill is poor. Inside restaurant doesn't open until 7am which is late for a traveler and you have to pay for breakfast, nothing is included. It is based on Puerto Rican style food and though it was supposed to be open when we arrived at night, we saw no one around so ended up crossing the street to waste more money at that restaurant. There were no cups at the coffee maker in the lobby and the woman at the desk was more interested in listening to the blaring TV. There are other places to stay in the area that are a much better value for the money.

Room Tip: Use another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ffgrizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I would like to take this time to apologize to you for the concerns you had during your stay.

The restaurant on property is leased out and although we try to insist that they are more consistent with their business, it is sometimes out of our control. I am sorry that they were not open for dinner when you arrived and that you were not able to have breakfast there. I will certainly discuss your concerns with them as it also reflects upon the hotel.

I would also like to apologize for the desk clerk I will speak to the department managers regarding your concerns and hope that maybe you will give us another chance when we are completely finished with our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is under new management and is in the process of renovating some of the lack of updates over the years.
The positives.....friendly staff and quick check-in.....staff answered all questions since we were new to town......and most important our actual room was clean, well equipped, and had new TV, micro, and fridge.
Negatives. Beside the main lobby most of the hallways and other areas the carpets and paint are dated. The pool area really should be closed until renovations are complete. And with Perkins right across the street the breakfast restaurant is doomed.
But the new management is definitely trying and with time it looks like they will make this better.
For now a good , clean place to sleep, but not much else until they get done.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaxxstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you stated we are under quite a few renovations and are not done yet.

After the major renovation in our lobby and courtyard areas, the next step is the hallway and room carpets. We have done quite a few improvements in our rooms and are not done. I am glad that you noticed some of the updates that have been done.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future and you will see all that we have accomplished. It will be our pleasure to accomodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is under renovation, but a lot more will be needed to make this place want to come back. I like the way the rooms face the interior swimming pool. However these same rooms have a problem that they don't have central heating and air conditioning. Therefore, when you use the air conditioner install in the walls that same exhaust heat is vented back to the room. Also, theirs version of continental breakfast is a box of donuts, 1/2 dozen bagels, and a package of yellow cake.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ESoto10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Stroudsburg, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I would like to apologize for the concerns you had with our new wall units in our rooms. Yes, we are under renovations and as such our hotel may not look its best. We are striving to bring it back better than before we started.

We do have some issues with the new wall units. Unfortunately, when they were installedl, they were not properly vented and we are in the process of fixing the problem as well as other issues that still need to be addressed.

Again I am sorry you were not happy with your stay and ask that you give us another try in the future when we are finished with all of our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroudsburg
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville/Poconos
3.4 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Stroudsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Stroudsburg

Property: Quality Inn Stroudsburg
Address: 1220 W Main St, Stroudsburg, PA 18360-1326 (Formerly Pocono Plaza Inn )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Stroudsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Hotel along route 80 and close to shopping and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Stroudsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing