We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for info”

Pocono Mountains Visitors Center
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Stroudsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitor Center for information on the Pocono Mountains for places to stay, things to do, events and attractions.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for info”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Stopped here early in our visit to the area and glad we did! Katie had good ideas on things to see and do in the area and we got maps & brochures, as well as some tips for off the beaten path.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank txwolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“POCONOS MT AREA JIM THORPE”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have visited the Poconos area many times over the last few years with my destination being Hazelton, PA. I have always stayed at the Mt Laurel "resort" in White Haven PA in spite of the less than stellar reviews. It is true that the grounds are poorly maintained, but you can tell that this place has tremendous potential and was once glorious. I stay there because the staff is great and I love sleeping nestled in the Poconos.

While in the are, visit Eckley Miner Village and charming Jim Thrope PA. There are all sorts of festivals in the spring, summer and fall, so do some research. Also, if you have an interest in history, read up on coal mining and the related historical events. Coal mining deeply shaped this area of the world. Regardless of the time of year, hop over to Jack Frost Big Boulder area right down the street from Mt Laurel. This area is a resort village with ski slopes, lakes, hiking, cabins, etc. Many good restaurants in this area, so save your appetite for a visit to Big Boulder.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Clean bathrooms!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very clean bathrooms and plenty of brochures and newspapers to let you see what's around the area, loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Just love the Pocono's”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Peacefulness, Scenery, Shopping. Been traveling to the Pocono's for many years. Prefer this over the seashore, which I also travel to in the summer.. Just wish there were more restaruants that had better foods, preferably "steak"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not open on Saturday!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

How is a visitor's bureau not open on a Saturday? I was very disappointed that we couldn't get information about the area when we were only there for the weekend...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pocono Mountains Visitors Center also viewed

Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Pocono Mountains Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing