We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!! You won't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We happened onto this wonderful country resort by chance and were treated like returning guests. They accommodated us in every way and upgraded our room to a lovely country cottage with rocking chairs out front on a verandah. Wonderful! The pool was nice and clean and the breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Not only was the food delicious and the presentation lovely but the service was perfect as well. You can lose yourself wondering around the grounds. Highly recommend the Stroudsmore Country Inn! When we noticed that there was little pressure in the bathroom they sent someone over right away and it was fixed immediately with apologies. Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C&B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Last week we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversay as our Daughter was attending an event at East Stroudsburg University. The Inn is located like 2.5 miles from campus and was easy to get to and from. The Stroudsmoor Inn welcomed us like we were family or life time friends at the front desk. In honor of our 25th they upgraded us to the Ledgemere suites, which we highly recommend and when we return we will stay there again. The room is beautiful and spacious with with a private deck, jaccuzzi tub and living room. We enjoyed our peaceful rest, walking the grouds and relaxing. The restarant is outstanding with sit down breakfast included every morning. The dinner menu is very good, but be hungry, we wished they had a smaller portion menu but they do offer a soup and salad bar for dinner, which is very filling. THE staff is what also makes it there, besides being clean.Carol and other front desk person, Delka our friendly, kind waitress and housecleaner all made our stay very memorable. We hope to go back again!! Thanks so much. Mark and Gina Williams :) PS NO more outdoor pool (which was a bummer as hot outside website is wrong) only indoor which is very nice and a hot tub inside natatoruim with fitness room. WE did play shuffled board as well. Franklin winery is easy drive down road from here as well. Highly reccommend a stay!!

Room Tip: We would choose the Ledgemere suites, we did not look at any of the other rooms, but with our health...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Attended a wedding here over the weekend. They did an impeccable job! It was beautiful.

the food is very good, even the turkey burger I ordered while killing time while my husband had wedding party photos taken.

The room was tiny. Shower was tiny. But this is an old building - do not expect luxury rooms. The 13" TV was adequate - didn't even watch TV.

I recommend it if you are looking for a quaint place to have a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

My grand daughter has her wedding here and without any reservation I can say that all service and attention to all details were handled with total professionalism and personal care by all . Food as a second thought was exceptional

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel and grounds are very charming in an old school kind of way. The wedding venues are incredible one of which has amazing views of the valley below. The cottage we stayed in directly across from the main inn was somewhat dated and smelled musty until we aired it out for a couple of hours. We dined at the restaurant one night which featured the American buffet. The food was very good. Breakfast on the other hand was just passable. Eggs were overcooked and dishes were bland. The baked goods on the other hand were very tasty. Service at breakfast was very good and overall everyone was very helpful and friendly. The Indoor pool and hot tub area was nice but the hot tub was not in the best working order and needed some maintenance on the jets. There is no outdoor pool any longer. Overall one of the better places in the poconos that we have stayed at but they need to put some money into the main inn and cottages to update things, maybe focus less on the wedding venues. Overall I would give it 3 and a half stars.

Room Tip: The Ledgemere suites looked nice and brand new but expensive. The cottages and main inn are much ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njlees25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife thought this would be a romantic place for a getaway midweek for $89. She changed her mind after arriving. The original Inn is just OLD with narrow hallways, old doors, thin walls and SMALL rooms with so-so decorating. The Inn offers no privacy as you can hear anything from the hallway.
There are no bellmen or elevators, so if you are in the Inn prepare yourself for self-serve everything including going to the bar to get ice. There basically is NO service here including a coffee pot in the room.

Pros:
Restaurant offers a GREAT salad and soup bar with fair prices.
Pool area is nice and has a jacuzzi.
Grounds are nice but not a lot of walking paths--more parking lots.
Cons:
People at reception are not super friendly, but wait staff were very pleasant.
View from restaurant is of the parking lot and the woods behind it.
Prices are HIGH for weekends.

DO NOT HAVE UNREASONABLE EXPECTATIONS about staying here, otherwise you will be disappointed. It is obvious a place to go to have a wedding with 5 venues on-sight, otherwise take a pass.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We attended the Stroudsmoor for our friend's wedding. The wedding was beautiful, the venue was beautiful, the service staff is fantastic, the location and views are stunning. The food is mediocre, the rooms are far too dated and WAY WAY overpriced for what you get, especially for East Stroudsburg, PA. It's not Manhattan, so they shouldn't be charging NYC prices.

I would recommend having a wedding here, but I would also recommend staying in the Hampton Inn 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maction9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroudsburg
12.3 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.3 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
675 reviews
18.2 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stroudsmoor Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stroudsmoor Country Inn

Address: 257 Stroudsmoor Rd, Stroudsburg, PA 18360-7246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stroudsburg
Price Range: £80 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stroudsmoor Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroudsmoor Country Inn, conveniently located in the Pocono Mountains. The inn features WIFI-equipped conference facilities, indoor pool, fitness center, and is among the largest Pocono Mountain hospitality properties hosting events for 30 to 350 guests. Regarded as an enchanting wedding destination, the inn features five dedicated ceremony and reception facilities. Additionally, Stroudsmoor is a perfect spa getaway, a romantic escape, a place where you can wake up your soul and put your cares to bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Stroudsmoor Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stroudsmoor Country Hotel Stroudsburg
Stroudsmoor Inn
Country Inn Stroudsburg
Stroudsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing