We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southside Johnny!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherman Theater

Sherman Theater
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Stroudsburg
Attraction details
NY, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Southside Johnny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small venue, old movie theater - we were having dinner down the street & heard Southside was playing that night! One of our favorites; 2 hours before showtime we scored 7th row center seats! AWESOME show, better than when we saw him at BB Kings; very small intimate venue!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

An old theater with lots of floor room. There is an upstairs balcony and a private box on either side of the stage. There are two bars, one upstairs and one down. The staff is friendly and they even offer a side alley for smokers. Security is usually pretty cool, but I guess it depends on the type of show. For Dropkick Murphys there were many security people and one or two in front along the rail had pretty poor attitudes. The rest were very nice. For Blue October there were many less and they were all very polite. Overall it's a great venue and a place you can feel comfortable taking your teens for their first show.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NEPAwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved this theater. It was general admission, but we were able to see the stage. The view is great from anywhere in the room.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 228smps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Theater, Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is like a time capsule with the style and ambiance of old time shows. The MMA matches are top quality and well worth the price. I would highly recommend attending any shows that are held here as the facility helps the whole experience. “The Doctor”

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank socker131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Cool Old Theatre!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

They don't make them like this anymore! If you can find a show, or any other reason, to check out this place, by all means do.... it is an incredibly preserved historic old theatre! I say Gregg Allman and his band here recently, and this old venue is just awesome for that sort of event! Very friendly and intimate place!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDareDunDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sherman Theater also viewed

Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sherman Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing