We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find and Not Worth Finding”
Review of Stone Bar Inn

Stone Bar Inn
Ranked #14 of 123 Restaurants in Stroudsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hard to Find and Not Worth Finding”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My GPS could not locate Andrew Moore's Stone Bar Inn and the directions given by our hotel were not concise and it was only through several phone calls to the Inn that we found our way. afterwards, we were sorry we did.

Service was spotty, the décor old and fetid and the food not as advertised. For a chef with the supposed credentials they claim, it was not up to par. We were both disappointed in the sub-par quality of the meals and lack of taste.

Should have listened to my GPS.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SrTravelerTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    15
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pocono mtns, pa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dining at the Stone Bar has always been great. It's a place to enjoy on special occasions. Plan ahead and you can get the table in the kitchen. We've dine in there a few times and it's fun to watch how professional the kitchen is run and see your food make. I recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stbg diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, sent the fish back”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Overall a very nice place, but 2 of the fish entrees were overcooked and cold. The hostess offered to replace and was very professional about it, but the kitchen for a Saturday night has to be on point, this was not a good sign. We will probably come back, but with more feedback for the hostess. It would be a shame to lose this place as below average. We were a party of 9, 5 adults, 4 kids. Appetizers were really good, escargot, fried mozzarella, and fresh oysters. NY strip was fine, the veal chop was rubbery but tasted god. Kids spaghetti and meatballs looked a little grey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBigTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the week!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I have dined at this particular restaurant and have never been disappointed, Andrew the chef and proprietor creates both masterpieces in the kitchen as well as the atmosphere in the dining room. we also had the pleasure of meeting his wife who went out of her way to make sure we had an enjoyable evening!! Kudos to all at the Stone Bar Inn, we will be back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jilll770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeslee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband, daughter and I went on Valentine's weekend. We had heard good things about the restaurant and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The hostess and our server were both very pleasant and were seated in the bar area near the fireplace. For starters, I had stuffed mushrooms, my husband had the crab cake, and my daughter had the lobster bisque. All of our appetizers were delicious! Our dinners were equally as good, and the desserts were fabulous! The food is very expensive but well worth it, especially if for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Bar Inn also viewed

Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Stone Bar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing