We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational”
Review of Tour-Ed Coal Mine

Tour-Ed Coal Mine
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tarentum
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very educational”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific place to take and group of kids - scouts, school or church groups.
Everyone - adults included - learned so much about mining and its importance to the Pittsburgh region. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to do something local but out of the ordinary.

Helpful?
Thank JenniferP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great info for kids and adults alike”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited the mine a few years ago (not March 2013). My kids loved every minute of it. Riding the coal train. Climbing on the equipment. Exploring the antiques in the main visitor's area. Would recommend for everyone, young and old alike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mummiosboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“AWESOME!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Must be the fourth or fifth time visiting this dynamic spot! Cannot think of a better way to present how difficult and dangerous it is for so many in the past and right now to make a living and to provide us with something we take for granted. Electricity!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPhillips125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good informative time”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a cool way to check out some true working American history by travelling down into an actual mine. The speakers/guides are all mine workers of one kind or another and show you how it was done from pick & shovel to modern machinery. It sure makes a lot more sense having it explained and shown right in front of you. Thanks guys :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohdio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Took our 4 kids today to see how it is when daddy goes to work (late version of course) but our experience was great. Nice men and educational. I would recommend going to anyone!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbell560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour-Ed Coal Mine also viewed

 

Been to Tour-Ed Coal Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing