We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Atlanta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just a bit above average”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is a relatively new hotel. On the plus side - new, spotless, friendly/helpful staff. On the minus side - small rooms (for what's billed as an "all suite" hotel), wi-fi download speeds slower than a snail, an annoying shortage of easily accessible electrical outlets in the room and room rates that are high, in my opinion, for a property like this one.

That said, this is by far the nicest hotel in the area and is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    57
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
50
31
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Great Northwest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Mills. We were visiting my husband's grandmother who lives NE of Pittsburgh, and this was one of the few lodging options in the area.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and quiet. I don't think I ever heard our neighbors! The breakfast was plentiful, clean, well stocked, and had a good variety including a few hot items which rotated for more variety day to day. The beds were comfortable. I used the laundry room, which only had one washer and dryer, but they worked well (I didn't have to pay for multiple drying cycles like at other hotels, which was nice). We also loved being within walking distance of restaurants and shops.

The only negatives I have are nitpicky. The housekeeping staff did some strange things, like only leaving 3 towels one day after cleaning when we have a reservation for 5 in our room (the front desk remedied this quickly). They also removed the half used bottles of shampoo from the shower with cleaning and replaced them (how wasteful!) We also thought the room layout was strange. The bathroom was set so that if the door was opened while someone was in there they would be seen from the sitting area, etc. But, like I said, these were not huge deals.

I do wish the rates were lower. There are not many options if your travels bring you east of the city, and this is probably one of the best ones, but it is spendy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DahliaRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed at the Springhill Suites during atrip to Pittsburgh to attend a Pirates/Redsox game. The hotel was located in a great shopping area and was only a short 20 minute ride from the city. The hotel was clean and the service was excellent. I agree with a previous post with the fact that the pullout bed is not made for two people. If you have four people make sure you get a room with two double beds. Besides that; a quality stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
693 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for Miss Pa Pageant held in the Syria Mosque and were very pleased with our stay!!! Front desk staff could have been a little more "friendly" but they were efficient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We use this hotel when we visit with friends and family in the Pittsburgh area.
The pool was enjoyed by my wife and three year old son.
The free breakfast was satisfying although there wasn't anything overl special about it.
The Pittsburgh Mills mall seems kind of barren this past visit. We had shopped at it before in previous years and it seems to have lost a significant number of shops.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pens_Fan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Not inexpensive, but overall a decent deal. Suite was large, clean, modern, and comfortable. The only minor complaints were the loud a/c and a typically small sofa bed (good for children or one adult only). Breakfast is generous (waffles, biscuits, eggs, cereal, breads, and so on) offered in a busy but pleasant room off the lobby. Not sure why guests eat prison style, ie, plastic utensils and styrofoam plates only -- there's not that much competition around the waffle iron! Located very close to the Turnpike and Route 28 leading to downtown (20-30 minute drive from hotel). Large mall steps away.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My wife,son and I stayed at Springhill Suites for two nights over the Christmas Holidays. We were so exhausted from our long drive the 1st night we pretty much washed and went to bed.The 2nd evening as we were unwinding we noticed a stink bug on the ceiling. As I was removing the bug from the ceiling I noticed about 10 more bugs on the drapes. Upon further inspection of the drapes I continued to find large groups of our new room mates,10-20 per cluster. After removing all visible bugs I called the the front desk to complain and request another room for the night. Jesse, the desk clerk, informed me that he could certainly move us but all rooms in the hotel were currently infested with these stinking pests. Long story short, we checked out, under protest, the next morning after a restless night's sleep. About a week later the manager contacted us,after we left repeated messages, and informed us we would be credited a whole $25 for our inconvenience.Whoopie!!! Although the hotel is new and the staff friendly, our entire outlook of Springhill Suites now stinks. We wish the staff was upfront upon check-in so we could have made alternative plans.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stillers4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarentum
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
2.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / McCandless, PA
13.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Address: 3015 Pittsburgh Mills Blvd, Tarentum, PA 15084-3846
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Tarentum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarentum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Mills Hotel Tarentum
Springhill Suites Tarentum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing