We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant dining experience at a Historical Hotel”

Rising Sun Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Telford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant dining experience at a Historical Hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel located in a tranquil setting. Our first visit was for Easter Brunch enjoyed by our entire family. On our second visit my wife and I enjoyed dinner. Our Roast Duck and Mahi-Mahi dinners were very good. The service was very efficient and friendly resulting in a pleasant dining experience.

The historical significance is, in 1777 the Liberty Bell was housed here overnight as it was moved from Philadelphia to Allentown to avoid British capture during the occupation of Philadelphia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perkase, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had the bison French dip sandwich and a soup and it was amazing. Friendly service and cozy atmosphere! I Look forward to going back again. I follow them online and they book great bands on the weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jl8ton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I have driven by this place many times , but never went in. Last weekend we had dinner there on a Saturday with my wife and another couple. Everything was great especially the food . We had buffalo , veal , beef and all of it was very good. Very reasonably priced too. Will go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sinmartin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The Rising Sun rises to the occasion.”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is our second visit for dinner. We have visited the bar for the bar menu on several occasions. This is developing into our new favorite restaurant. Everyone in our party of four were very pleased with their meals. Our waitress was pleasent, professional and efficient. Our prime rib, bison, salmon, and crab cakes meals were all excellent. My wife commented that somebody in that kitchen really knows how to prepare fish. Prices are quite reasonable. We continue to be impressed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nolantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is a wonderful place for an excellent dinner. Very nice for a special occasion. Excellent service. Their specialty is bison, but they also have a nice selection of regular beef and other entrees also. In the summer they have a wonderful deck out back with great sandwiches or full entrees. Very historic building as the liberty bell was house here overnight when the British were trying to capture Philly. They have the "Bell Room" set aside for private parties.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rising Sun Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Harleysville, PA
Sellersville, Bucks County
 

Been to Rising Sun Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing