We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Inn will easily become your second home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This Inn will easily become your second home.”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

As soon as you step onto the porch of this Inn, you will feel relaxed. The porches are charming and inviting. When Jan and Bruce open the door, you immediately feel comfortable and welcomed. The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully furnished and decorated. Each room has its own unique charm. Our favorite is the Garden Suite which has its own large porch with an amazing view down into the valley. Breakfast is always a delicious experience. Jan's fruit creations are especially good. Wandering among Bruce's colored pencil pictures, you are hard-pressed not to smile or laugh out loud. By the end of the visit you will be thinking about how soon you must return; we can't stay away for long. The special tours arranged by Jan and her group of friendly inn keepers are unique, informative and fun. Our favorite so far is the Amish tour during which we learned quite a lot about the Amish life and culture. We will be returning to this Inn several times this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanMarieWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
282
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We know we will be welcomed with open arms, fresh cookies and coffee. Jan is a gourmet cook and hostess and Bruce is an artist with a sense of whit that keeps us laughing. Terre Hill is out of the main path so it is quiet and secluded yet intermingled with the mystery of Lancaster Co ambiance. Each room has an elegance and theme of its own and cleanliness that keeps us coming back time and time again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycatlady5dog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This was our first B&B experience. Jan & Bruce could not have been more warm, welcoming and hospitable. From the moment we arrived we felt like family. It really felt more like our home away from home! Our brunch on Saturday was just outstanding. When was the last time you had a puree of roasted corn souffle that floated to the table?? Just spectacular in every way. We can't wait to return to enjoy more of their company with a bottle of wine!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomeofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Artist's Inn and Gallery. It is located in a hushed village within Lancaster County, PA. Jan and Bruce are friendly, helpful hosts who make you feel like family. They are willing to cater to all your possible needs. Jan and Bruce are well-known, involved, and well-liked in the wider community. Jan professionally prepared and Bruce impeccably served our unique, delicious, candlelit, four-course breakfast. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is a quiet and beautifully decorated space with a comfortable king-sized bed and a relaxing Jacuzzi. We departed well fed, carrying several more pieces of Bruce's art work.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theludwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

After a traumatic experience at another local B@B my girlfriend and I arrived at the Inn looking to relax and recuperate. This was the perfect choice for both. After lying down in the bed it was hard to get up, very comfy. And then I see the white noise machine at the side of the bed. Excellent! The little things can make a huge difference. Our room had a separate side room with a shower, tub with jets, and a fireplace. The side jets in the shower were a nice touch. Our balcony was very cozy and private, allowing us to smoke outside the house and watch Mennonites and Amish bike or buggy by on the street. The interior decorating was beautiful and practical in our room and throughout the house. A small flatscreen TV mounted on the wall and a drawer/sink with a beautiful marble top.
Jan was able to accommodate our request for a late breakfast which was wonderful coming in five courses. The food was delicious and filling and had us ready for our day. In addition to being a great host Jan was also a great guide on the the area. Her suggestions on Antique stores and local nurseries were right on. We were told checkout was at 11 but Jan said housekeeping would be there at 1 pm so we didn't feel rushed out and got to enjoy the tub for a little while longer. My only complaint is the shower head was a little too low (I'm 6'1” , so I'm used to that) but it's a moot point because of the fabulous tub. It's rare to find a B@B where you feel like the house belongs to you for the night and the owners strike the perfect balance of making you feel at home and catering to you, at the same time, giving you privacy and not feeling imposed on in any way.
Our two regrets was not staying here from the beginning and not being able to adopt there housecat Jack. STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Lovingly cared for historic building, comfortable and cozy room, superb breakfast. The artwork by one of the owners adds a unique, off-beat touch. Located in a small town in the countryside.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Jan and Bruce make you like part of the family from the moment you arrive. The candlelit four course breakfast was an unexpected dining pleasure. Bruce's twist on perspective in his comical artwork was intriguing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Perhaps a bit of explanation is needed for this review. The Artist’s Inn recently participated in Lancaster County Tour’s Chocolate and Wine Weekend. It was great fun. While we were driving in the van with our guests, the conversation turned to celebrities. I think the question was, “Have you ever met anyone famous?” Alas, none of us had brushed shoulders with anyone prominent, but one guest, Mary, had been to a charity auction in which Elton John donated some of his jackets, famous eyeglasses, and—um—a pair of boxer shorts. Mary’s budget allowed only for the latter, and she won. That highly prized collectible became the barometer of “success” for our chocolate and wine weekend. I’m indeed thrilled that our inn and tour achieved the same lofty level as Elton John’s boxer shorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing