We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, and will be back if in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The couple that owns the bed & breakfast were so accomodating, and friendly. We brought our 13 year old daughter with us, and she just loved it. They were very welcoming to her as well as us as a couple. They are situated in the heart of Terre Hill, Pa, which is very quaint and picturesque.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweets1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

My wife and I have stayed several times and we laugh now because it is like coming home. Jan and Bruce make the trip so much better. From the beautiful rooms, the wonderful food, and such a quite place to relax, nothing can be found here but heaven. If you are looking for a place to come and relax, be treated like you are the center of the world, look no further. The Artist Inn is the place for you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougM613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Mom and I stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and LOVED it. Jan is the best! Our family has extensive travel worldwide and have stayed in a variety of places. This BB definitely ranks under our "excellent" category-reserved for few select places we've stayed at, including the Rambagh Palace in Jaipur. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillyyakchickinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the Artist's Inn when we were in the area for a wedding in mid May. Jan and Bruce are wonderful hosts, warm, friendly and very accommodating. Both the inn and our room were extremely comfortable, very tastefully decorated, and well equipped. Jan is an excellent cook and served a very memorable sumptuous breakfast. She and Bruce are very knowledgeable and provided helpful and interesting information about the area including an excellent restaurant recommendation and suggestion for a great walk. An unexpected bonus was Bruce's whimsical and artistically impressive prints. We would definitely recommend the Artist's Inn and Gallery to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryinConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My (now) husband and I have stayed at the Artist's Inn 3 pervious times and were so in love with the place and the Innkeepers that we asked if they would host our wedding. It was indeed my dream wedding. Everyone who stayed there raved about the place and Jan and Bruce made it so very special. The Inn, Carriage House and Cottage provide wonderful accommodations. The breakfasts are to-die for. The ambiance cannot be beat - and Bruce's art really adds a fun touch to the Inn (be sure to save time to look at it all). Great location for sightseeing in charming Lancaster or for just lounging around. I would stay there every weekend if I could!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne052111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I just had the most wonderful visit at the Artist’s Inn and Gallery! I have been to Lancaster County several times and believe I have found the most perfect place to stay in this unique and loved destination. Terre Hill is a charming, quaint little town which overlooks the surrounding farmlands. The location provides such peace and an air of country living while still being convenient to all the tourist attractions of Straussburg, Bird in Hand, Intercourse, Lancaster, ect. but of course if you are looking for a getaway where the only thing on the itinerary is sitting out on the porch leisurely reading a book or going for a stroll in the country side to take in some fresh air and gorgeous views, The Artist’s Inn & Gallery is the place to come and unwind.
The rooms are clean and tasteful with practical and sweet little details. The beds are luxurious with high quality bedclothes and pillows. One could lounge around in them all day watching videos from the downstairs library on the flat screen tv. I stayed in the Garden Suite which had a spa-like bathroom. An immaculate two person soaking tub/jacuzzi, a separate shower equipped with three massaging jets, a gas fireplace....yes, you read that correctly a fire place in the bathroom, and a day bed straight out of Anne of Green Gables...yes ,a bed/lounging couch in the bathroom. I will never forget sleepily stretching out on that daybed one misty rainy morning in front of the fireplace while watching the Amish buggies clip clop past one of the two sunken windows. It was like being transported in time. What a unique and precious rare experience topped off with a comforting soak in the tub. The rooms will pamper and spoil you!
The innkeeper Jan is a concierge extraordinaire. She has the key to the county with an extensive list of contacts of local merchants and service providers. Whatever it is you would like to do Jan can arrange it for you, map it out for you, get you coupons and still will ask you to call if you get lost. I came to her door in a sorry state after my vacation plans fell apart and Jan whisked up a perfectly tailored itinerary indulging us for the next two days. I feel like one need just arrive and everything else would be taken care of by Jan and Bruce.
Breakfast is sublime. Served by candle light and coming in five courses it is a warm and delightful experience which will leave you full well past lunch. Jan and Bruce are foodies and it shows. They go well above and beyond the typical B&B fare with local fresh ingredients a wide variety of tastes and choices. So conscientious, they will adjust the menu for dietary needs and tastes. Jan really throws down in the kitchen. You will not be disappointed.
I highly recommend this Inn. It is perfect for family holidays, romantic escapes, girlfriend getaways, and personal me times. I can’t wait to go back

Room Tip: The cottages look amazing! Definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallenidol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

My husband surprised me with a visit to the Inn for our 18th anniversary. He could not have made a better choice. Jan and Bruce are the perfect hosts with warm conversation, excellent service, plenty of assistance when it came to information about the area, suggestions of places to visit, and directions. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts Jan prepared were scrumptious with so much offered it was easy to overindulge. Jan went above and beyond when we arrived back at the inn after a celebratory dinner out and found our bed turned down for the evening with delicious homemade chocolates and a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne. Our stay was, to say the least, delightful. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdjslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
368 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
156 reviews
9.2 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
10.7 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: £100 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing