We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist's Inn and Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Carriage House at the Artist Inn and Gallery for 2 nights over the 4th of July. It is located in a quiet and quaint area. Jan and Bruce who own the Inn were gracious and helpful from the minute we arrived. The Carriage House was large and comfortable and stocked with food for our breakfast. It was lovely to sit out on the deck and take in the scenery.
Both Bruce and Jan helped with suggestions on activities in the surrounding area as well as giving detailed directions. The Carriage house along with the surrounding Amish country were lovely and peaceful. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We love the Fourth of July in Terre Hill - especially when the church bells ring with patriotic songs! We hope that you can stay with us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My mom and dad are much older and needed a place to call a home away from home. The Artist Inn and Gallery was just that. My brother and I had a wonderful time too. Everything we needed and the most welcoming host and hostess you'll ever meet. Clean, quality above and beyound. The Artist touch showed in ever room and they even provided a great DVD collection to wind down after a day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: The rooms on the website are just as pretty in real life or even better. Great job Jan and Bruce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
We're so glad we were able to accommodate everyone...and that you enjoyed our evening primrose "show". It's especially nice that your whole family could stay together in one place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a lovely, restful, hospitable B&B. The grounds are filled with fragrant flowers and huge bushes like lilacs, butterfly bushes, primrose, and dozens of other lovely plants. In the background was the quiet clip-clop of the horses pulling the Amish buggies as we sat on the back porch watching four cats either lounging on the porch or chasing fireflies. The room and breakfast were fit for royalty. The homemade cookies with raspberry chocolate chips were heavenly as well. After stays at many Pennsylvania B&Bs, this is clearly the best. The artwork and books from the innkeeper's spouse are the icing on the cake. It's hard to leave without at least one of the whimsical or pastoral pieces of artwork.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks Joel and Maria - so glad you enjoyed the porch that night - it's one o our favorite things about the inn. It's always good to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Artist's Inn and Gallery for one night on our way through PA to Boston. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was absolutely stunning. I loved the whirlpool tub and massaging shower. The Garden suite has its own private entrance that was very nice and convenient. Breakfast was very good. Bruce did a wonderful job in Jan's absence. Finding the bed turned down for us when we returned from dinner was a welcome surprise. This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and I want to to back and stay longer. I loved looking at all of Bruce's art (and funny captions) and hearing all of his stories over breakfast. We left with wonderful memories and even some of Bruce's art and a book he wrote about cats! Hope to meet Jan one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your babymoon was fun. As you know, I was away in Ohio because of health concerns with my mom. Nice to know that Bruce took good care of you! I hope to meet you someday - please bring pictures the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Artist's Inn for our 25th wedding anniversary! It was magnificent, completely due to Jan & Bruce! They made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. We stayed in the garden suite. Beautiful does not begin to describe it! The amazingly comfortable king size bed, whirlpool tub, and massage shower are just a few of the amenities of that suite. You feel like royalty! Jan has this amazing cookie jar in her dining room, it just keeps producing wonderful homemade cookies... Breakfast in the morning, wow!!! Breakfast is a dining experience, in multiple
courses! My husband who is basically a bacon and egg eater thoroughly enjoyed his breakfast! I can not imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Lancaster County!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review - we really appreciate it. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We know how precious vacation time is and we're glad to do our part to make sure that your time together is filled with fun memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I visited "Amish Country", PA with my mother and my aunt in June 2012. This was our second annual girls trip to PA. The first year we stayed at a hotel but we didn't like the fact that once the stores and activities closed we had to go off to our separate rooms. We wanted a place where we could spend time together in the evening, yet still have our own private rooms. The Carriage House at the Artist's Inn was a great solution for us. The Carriage House is a "duplex" home on the property of the Artist's Inn bed and breakfast. We were a little surprised to learn that the left side of the Carriage House is occupied by full-time residents but it wasn't a big deal. Plenty of room on the right side of the home for three people.

Location:
We spent the majority of our time in the area of Intercourse, Bird-In-Hand...etc...Terre Hill was a bit further from these town than I would have liked but still not too bad. We generally got to our destination in just under 30 minutes. The inn, itself, is on a main road (as main as a road can get in this rural town) but the Carriage House is slightly tucked away. We didn't hear any road noise at all from within the Carriage House, nor from the deck when we sat out at night. Just behind the Inn there is a park and a cemetery both of which make safe walking areas. Beyond the park is gorgeous backroads. During the week, if you go for a morning walk you will need to watch out for commuters...even though they are country backroads the locals go FAST. It's a shame, really. You really could walk for miles, though, and the scenary is just wonderful.

The Carriage House:
The house consists of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The first floor bath has laundry facilities and a stand-up shower. The 2nd floor bath has a tub/shower unit. There is one bedroom on the 1st floor and two up on the 2nd floor. All the bedrooms were spacious and decorated with wonderful old furniture; only the master bedroom has a television. The kitchen has a table for four as well as a toaster, a microwave, a coffee maker and an electric stove. The owners left us baked goods as well as some essentials to make breakfast one morning. There is also a deck off the back that seats 4 and overlooks the pretty backroads/farmland. We enjoyed some wine and dessert out there each night (luckily we had great weather). The Carriage House does have wi-fi but I was unable to connect on my iPad. I tried both password codes and I walked all around the property but could never connect. Outside, the property is alive with beautiful plants. We all enjoyed walking around each morning looking at the plants, taking pictures, listening to the bees and looking for the kitty cats that live there. We also took a few minutes to sit up on the porch of the Inn and just take in the peacefulness of an early Sunday morning.

Unfortunately the innkeepers were not there during our visit due to a family illness (I hope she is doing better!) but we did enjoy talking with the man who stayed there in their absence. He was an old friend, a neighbor, actually, who had previously lived right across the street. Very nice man who made us feel very welcome.

Overrall, a very nice trip to Pennsylvania. If you don't mind staying a bit off the beaten path this is an excellent rental for a small family or girls weekend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mricciomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you so much for writing about our Carriage House. We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit, even though we were unable to be there due to an illness in our family.Iove to garden and especially enjoy when folks appreciate our flowers! Rob is a very good friend of ours - we're so grateful that he was able to be at the inn and help with any questions about our area - he knows it well and was our neighbor for years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had planned to only stay two nights here, and ended up staying five! Jan and Bruce are most welcoming and hospitable, and treated us like family, as well as pampered guests. The Artist's Inn and Gallery is in a perfect location to ramble back roads and get lost in beautiful farm/Amish country. Each morning is started off by an amazing, delicious, beautifully presented breakfast, and Jan's cheery, warm welcoming nature. Her Inn exudes warmth and charm, and nothing has been overlooked to insure an unforgettable stay! We look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckieRHighland_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Becky and Howard - Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to see folks that fall in love with Lancaster County just like we did. We know how much you enjoyed the roadside farmstands, hearing the buggies clip-clop through Terre Hill, watching the Amish farmers plow the fields, and enjoying all the attractions like the railroad. We were glad that you came back to spend another three days with us, making your trip to the East Coast just a little more relaxed. There really is no other place like Lancaster County and we're certain that these hills will call you back. We'll be here whenever you want to visit. It was such a pleasure getting to know you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
15.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing