We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Silver anniversary”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

No , this was not our silver wedding anniversary. It was our 25th visit to the Artist Inn. We always enjoy our trips to Lancaster Co. but it is extra special staying at the Inn. Terre Hill is such a sweet, special little little town. It is such a treat to relax in a beautiful inn, listening to the clip clops of the Amish buggies as they pass by. Bruce and Jan are fabulous hosts and are always helpful in giving us guidance for fun places to go, and things to do. It is hard to describe in words and to do justice to the Delicious breakfasts that we enjoy. We are always served a 5 course meals, and it's fun to listen to all the wonderful comments from first time guests. Thank you Bruce and Jan for another wonder weekend at The Artist Inn. Bob and Diane

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms, but the one we enjoy the most is the Garden Suite. There is a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Diane and Bob - It's hard to believe that you've stayed with us 25 times! It seems more like we've known you forever...We always look forward to your visits. Thanks so much for letting others know about our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
286
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was our second stay at The Artsist Inn in the garden Suite. This time we enjoyed a mini family reuinon with some family members that we had not seen in many. many years. We had a great time sitting on the beautiful porch, getting reaquainted. Jan and Bruce recommended some great places to see as we wondered through the beautiful countryside. Bruce and Jan go out of their way to make you feel at home. Breakfast was fabulous. It is a must stay place if you travel to the Amish area of PA. Rick and Debbie Hice, Seminole FL

Room Tip: The Garden Suite has a lovely private porch and an awesome massage shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djhgosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Debbie and Rick - Thanks so much for posting a review. It was great to see you again. If I recall correctly, you picked one of the most beautiful days of the summer to visit - crisp and clear in the valley with a wondeful breeze and warm sun. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I as well as another couple (our longtime friends) felt the need for a mid-week escape from the city to our favorite porch in Terre Hill, PA. We always meet the nicest people on this porch and return home completely happy and thoroughly relaxed. There is nothing like the shared laughter of friends both old and new mixed with the sounds of horse and buggy passing by to renew your spirit. Jan and Bruce, innkeepers extraordinaire, make everyone feel at home. Bruce's pen and pencil art work brings forth many chuckles and smiles. Jan's artistry in the kitchen elicits oohs and aahs and hmmms. We stayed in the Kris Kringle room for this stay; our friends were in the Rose Room. Both were comfortable and quiet. The furnishings are tasteful within well-planned space. Looking forward to another visit as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is very large with a private porch-great for enjoying sunrise. The Kris Kringle roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanMarieWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thanks for writing Jean - the side porch is a favorite of our guests and often a gathering spot - especially in the evening. If we could, I think we'd live out there! That's one of the most wonderful things about old houses - they always had porches - and we are lucky to have five of them! So folks can either be very social - or find a quiet spot to read a book. Seems like our lives are so rushed and porches remind us that it's really important to unwind and spend some time listening to the birds once in a while....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was my fifth stay at the Artist's Inn and Gallery and each has been very relaxing and enjoyable. This Inn is situated in a charming setting and this area immediately transforms a person from an everyday hustle-n-bustle lifestyle into a peaceful Mayberry calm.

The B&B innkeepers, Jan and Bruce, are gracious and helpful from arrival until departure, in addition to being generous with their time when it comes to pointing attractions, activities or giving directions to the surrounding areas. It’s obvious this is the location and lifestyle Jan and Brice love, and that makes it easy for them to relay historic facts and area information to guests that might otherwise be overlooked.

If you like fruits, vegetables and flowers you can’t go wrong with this location, it’s easy to get spoiled with a healthy diet and lifestyle here. There are many fruit/vegetable/flower stands, a very entertaining local auction, and all with very attractive prices. The nearby communities offer an abundance of interesting tourist attractions and eateries; this is a perfect location to explore the back roads, beautiful farmland, and Amish country.

I’ll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review. Locals often refer to Terre Hill as Mayberry....and we wouldn't have it any other way. It's gratifying to know that guests think that way as well. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malverne, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Carriage House at the Artist Inn and Gallery for 2 nights over the 4th of July. It is located in a quiet and quaint area. Jan and Bruce who own the Inn were gracious and helpful from the minute we arrived. The Carriage House was large and comfortable and stocked with food for our breakfast. It was lovely to sit out on the deck and take in the scenery.
Both Bruce and Jan helped with suggestions on activities in the surrounding area as well as giving detailed directions. The Carriage house along with the surrounding Amish country were lovely and peaceful. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We love the Fourth of July in Terre Hill - especially when the church bells ring with patriotic songs! We hope that you can stay with us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My mom and dad are much older and needed a place to call a home away from home. The Artist Inn and Gallery was just that. My brother and I had a wonderful time too. Everything we needed and the most welcoming host and hostess you'll ever meet. Clean, quality above and beyound. The Artist touch showed in ever room and they even provided a great DVD collection to wind down after a day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: The rooms on the website are just as pretty in real life or even better. Great job Jan and Bruce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6455JG, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
We're so glad we were able to accommodate everyone...and that you enjoyed our evening primrose "show". It's especially nice that your whole family could stay together in one place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a lovely, restful, hospitable B&B. The grounds are filled with fragrant flowers and huge bushes like lilacs, butterfly bushes, primrose, and dozens of other lovely plants. In the background was the quiet clip-clop of the horses pulling the Amish buggies as we sat on the back porch watching four cats either lounging on the porch or chasing fireflies. The room and breakfast were fit for royalty. The homemade cookies with raspberry chocolate chips were heavenly as well. After stays at many Pennsylvania B&Bs, this is clearly the best. The artwork and books from the innkeeper's spouse are the icing on the cake. It's hard to leave without at least one of the whimsical or pastoral pieces of artwork.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks Joel and Maria - so glad you enjoyed the porch that night - it's one o our favorite things about the inn. It's always good to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
401 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing