We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Bed and Perfect Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have stayed here multiple times over the past seven years. Jan and Bruce know a lot about the area and are very helpful in finding attrations and great places to eat (goto Johnny's for steak and Lapp Family Farm for fresh ice cream). The rooms are cozy and relaxing, and you'll hear buggies going by as you wake up in the morning. The breakfast is out of this world: a four course meal served on China that will fill you until dinner. Of course, no review of this B&B would be complete without mentioning Bruce's art. Some are of a nice landscape or scene, while others are whimsical and very orginal. We often enjoy browsing the gallery on our way in or out or after the wonderful breakfast. I am going to reiterate the breakfast one last time, as you could easily spend $30-$50 per person at a fine dining establishment and not come close to the service or quality of the breakfasts that are served.

We've always stayed in the Garden Suite, which has a fantastic massage shower and seperate two person jaccuzi tub. We've looked at the other rooms available and are decorated just as comfortably, but we always prefer the Garden Suite because of the massage shower and two person jaccuzi tub.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has a massage shower and two person jaccuzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_and_Becky_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Frank and Becky - Thanks so much for posting a review of our B&B. A lot has changed since you were here six years ago - four moves and three kids!! We're grateful any time you can fit us in when you visit Lancaster County. We're also glad you liked the Garden Suite - it is our most popoular room with guests - for the whirlpool tub and fireplace in the winter and the private porch in the summer. We were glad to provide some nice couple time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

It had been several years since my wife and I had first stayed here. We finally had the opportunity to get away and did not hesitate to choose The Artist's Inn. We were treated as though we had just been there by Jan and Bruce. The breakfast was fantastic complete with a custom menu welcoming us back. The rooms are very clean and Jan was a gracious host, providing us a wonderful recommendation for dinner. We highly recommend this B&B and will return again as soon as we can! Jen & Chris

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite this vist and have previously stayed in The Rose Room. Both are wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Jen and Chris - We're honored that you chose The Artist's Inn to return to on your recent getaway. We know how precious time away is and are happy to provide a respite from the daily grind....We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Yummy food, dancing flames, great music (YAY Ella), beautiful weather, cozy chairs, the clip-clop of horses, arbor lights, card games, lazy evenings reading, good restaurants, Goggleworks…What a wonderfully relaxing combination! Thank you so much for a great place to decompress. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: The Olde Stone Cottage had plenty of room for the 3 of us on a "girl's weekend." The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Danielle - Thanks so much for posting about your girls weekend. Those are really important and give us the fuel to get back to our lives refreshed! We love the way you captured the "feel" of the cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at The Artists Inn and Gallery in October for our 5th Anniversary. We stayed in the Kris Kringle room, which faces the street and it was a delight to hear the occasional clip-clop of the Amish buggies going by. Everything was wonderful! Jan was extremely friendly, helpful, and thorough in showing us every detail about her home. We were made to feel "at home" as soon as we arrived. Jan was more than willing to help us with area advice and directions. The room was decorated beautifully and was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the basic amenities were provided, along with a couple of extra "treats." A Keurig coffee machine is available in a nearby hall (loved that!). Our bathroom was small but sufficient and has a shower (no bath tub) which is fine with us. The highlight of our stay though, were the outstanding breakfasts! The choices and presentation were phenomenal! One of the things on our agenda for the weekend was to see a presentation at Sight and Sound Theatres. I thought maybe we were a bit far of a drive from there but, it wasn't bad at all....in fact, it was a lovely drive! So, all in all, we highly, highly, highly recommend The Artists Inn!

Room Tip: I would recommend any of the three rooms; however, our experience was only the Kris Kringle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Jan, Thanks so much for writing. We're delighted that you had a good stay - and more importantly, celebrated your anniversary! Lancaster County is a romantic place to visit. Many of our guests go to Sight and Sound to catch the latest show - next year they will be bringing back Noah - it's one of my favorites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We lost power during Hurricane Sandy and wanted to go somewhere that had power quickly. I called Jan at noon and was at the inn that afternoon. It was our third trip and we enjoyed it immensely. My wife is on a very strict diet, which Jan followed perfectly, while providing the rest of us with wonderful, large breakfasts. The jacuzzi in our room was a substitute for my missed chiropractor's appointment. Finally, it was enjoyable to see Bruce's art and read his books. We highly recommend the Artist's Inn.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has the jacuzzi and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Jim and Gail - Thanks so much for posting a review. We were glad to host you and be able to help you in some small way. Thanks for letting us know that your power finally came on - two days after you arrived back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My girlfiend and I are psychiatric nurses who lead very stressful lives at work. We decided to take a couple days away from our lives' hectic schedules "to recharge our batteries"! The Artist's Inn and Gallery was a wonderful experience for us! The Garden Room was beautifully decorated with incredibly artisticly painted walls and an appropriate saying over the jacuzzi tub in the adjoining room. It doesn't get any better than this, to relax in a bubbling tub full of hot water, prior to collapsing in a king size bed, that has the silkiest sheets to fall into at night. There is also an adjoining porch that can comfortably seat 2-4 folks with a beautiful view of the countryside as you listen to the clip-clopping of the Amish buggies going by. In addition, there is another small room right outside your door, that one has access to a small refrigerator and a Kuerig machine with coffee and condiments provided. In the room across the hall, one is provided with books, games, a couch and a small basket of cheese crackers and candies. However, the "icing on the cake" is the multi-course breakfast served at 8:30 a.m., "to die for". We just wished we had bigger appetites. Jan and Bruce are very hospitable and we hope to be able to return again someday, when our schedules permit.

Room Tip: The garden room was very quiet and peaceful! All of the rooms are immaculate and beautiful. One draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Audrey - Thanks so much for writing. It was such a pleasure to meet you and Janet - I can see why you've been friends for many years. We're so glad you enjoyed the Garden Suite, even if the room that houses the toilet is a little small. It's the best we could do with the space we have. I did want to claify that the Rose Room does have a Jacuzzi tub - it's not a tub for two though, just one person, with a shower overhead as well. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Jan the innkeeper is very nice and very accommodating. She made breakfast early for some of the guest so we could get on with our day. There are three rooms at the Inn itself. We stayed in the one without a hot tub/jacuzzi. It was great. We thought the street noise would bother us since we are "country folks" but it did not.

Everything was clean and well kept.

Jan is a great cook and it shows that she likes to cook.

Being in Amish country is a big plus if you are not used to that.

Room Tip: The larger room at the back of the house is away from the street noise and has the best veiw (from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidphoto574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Pam and Dave - Thanks so much for posting a review, The weather was nice enough that we had the windows open during the day and the fireplaces on at night! A few days earlier, we had the air on. Gotta love October weather! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
18.1 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
162 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
378 reviews
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: £91 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing