We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Stone Cottage - Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stony Point, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Stone Cottage - Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of 6 (my husband and 4 small children under the age of 9) stayed at this charming cottage when we went to a local amusement park in Lancaster. Jan was so helpful and from the moment we arrived it was so relaxing and had every amenity we needed. We arrived to homemade cookies and other baked treats, and a well stocked fridge. After a day of traveling and fun at the parks this was exactly what we needed! I also wanted our kids to experience something off the beaten path and this definitely fit the bill. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvnstonypoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Carin - Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. I'm so glad we ran into each other at the town-wide yard sales! That is always a fun weekend here and kids love the shopping! We'll look forward to seeing everyone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
278
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience while traveling through Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. The Artist's Inn is a comfortable, cozy bed and breakfast. Jan and Bruce are gracious hosts. Bruce has a terrific collection of his artwork and books in the living room. We purchased a few pieces from his collection. The area is peaceful and we enjoyed the town fair during our weekend get away. Our breakfast was delicious and the table conversation was fantastic. My wife and I had the sparks of yesteryear shot in the air again with the accomodations the Artist's Inn provided. We plan on returning once a year around the same time.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice. Suites have private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Jay - it was so nice to meet you and Karen. We're glad that you experienced the fireworks...both personal and our annual town fireworks. We think they are terrific. We're hoping that you have an entry in next years Outhouse Races.....don't forget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Nine and half WOWS! Just kidding; TEN WOWS all the way!
We spent a most enjoyable time at the Artist's Inn and Gallery B&B this week to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. The home was so beautiful with all the period furniture and decorated with special tatse by Jan, the No. 10 hostess. Now the breakfast... You wouldn't believe it if I told you! What was it, a 5 or 6 course breakfast? So delicious and plentyful. Another 10! There were so many little extras that made this a "must visit again soon" Bed and Breakfast!
Thank you Jan and Bruce for sharing your home with us.
PS. Did I forget to mention the homemade scones? We'll never forget those delicious delights. Wish we had snuck a few in our pockets for the trip home. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geneandruthannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Gene and Ruth - We love when people have celebrations! It just makes their visit extra fun. Wish I would have wrapped up the scones and you could have taken them with you! Glad you had a good time; thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Old Stone Cottage with our 2 toddlers on a weekend visit to the Strasburg railroad. It was perfect! The cottage is comfortable and cozy, Bruce and Jan are so helpful and welcoming (and the fresh muffins and cookies were a nice treat!). The town and location is wonderful- small and peaceful but an easy drive to all the local attractions. There is a playground a short walk from the house that our boys LOVED and the cottage itself was just right for our family to be comfortable in- we felt right at home. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Lancaster County- we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Annie - Thanks so much for posting a review about The Olde Stone Cottage. So glad that your family enjoyed it and Terre Hill. It's a great place for families, and kids really love our park. I'm on a committee that sponsored the building of The Timbers, our playground, and also the pavilion in the park. If you visit in July and August, you can enjoy lunch n the park every Friday. Our activities are posted at http://www.terrehilldays.com. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We are three longtime friends who now live in different states and try to have a "girl's getaway" as often as possible. We wanted to stay in Amish country and picked the Artist's Inn and Gallery after doing research on the web. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! The inn is quaint and comfortable and our hosts, Jan and Bruce were superb. They are very involved in the community and have a wealth of knowledge and information about the surrounding area. From where to eat, shop and sight see, their advice was right on point. They were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Our room was cozy and comfortable, just the right ambiance for for "catching up" up with each other. We shared a leisurely and very nice breakfast with the other guests before heading out for the day. We really enjoyed viewing Bruce's whimsical and witty artwork. We wished we could have stayed longer but agreed that we must return when we can spend more time in this beautiful area and great little inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memorymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thanks for writing about our inn and area....and about the importance of getting together with friends. Life is just too short NOT to! We're happy we were able to provide a comfortable setting for catching up - and for creating new memories. We hope you can visit again. There's a lot to explore in Lancaster County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We love the Lancaster area and staying at Artist's Inn helped us enjoy it even more. Bruce and Jan were the perfect hosts! Friendly, informative and you can certainly tell they love what they do. The Inn is quaint and is in easy driving distance to all of the local attractions. Breakfast was amazing both mornings. Each course was served on beautiful dinnerware that enhanced the flavors even more. If you want to relax, enjoy delicious food and meet great people, stay here!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Vicki - Thanks so much for posting a review. We really enjoyed getting to know you. We love the way you travel, stopping in the smaller towns and avoiding the highways. We hope that your travels bring you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently stayed in the Olde Stone Cottage, a separate home but also a part of The Artist's Inn and Gallery. The Cottage is just down the street from the Inn. This would be an option if you want privacy while enjoying Lancaster County. The Cottage is decorated beautifully and is very comfortable. It was nice to have that home away from home feel. Although we thought it would be no problem, it was difficult at times as we had multiple people trying to use the 1 bathroom. Also, you are on your own to prepare your own breakfast. This Cottage does not include a traditional breakfast as you would at a Bed & Breakfast. Breakfast items (eggs, fruit, bread, milk, cereal, muffins, cheese, ham) are left for your first days breakfast for you to prepare yourselves. We stayed 2 days and had plenty of food for both days. The Cottage is a comfortable, private home in a quiet community.

Room Tip: The front bedroom has a little more road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takingavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed the Olde Stone Cottage. It offers guests a different alternative than the traditional B&B rooms at The Artist's Inn. We find that honeymoon couples, girlfriends getting away and often families with young children often prefer to have the whole house to themselves. They can make meals when they like, and have access to a full kitchen for a cookout in the evening to use up all that great Lancaster County produce. The cottage was a labor of love - though it does only have one bathroom. That's why we installed a two-person whirlpool tub in the blue bedroom....even though it had to be hoisted up to the second floor on ladders! We hope you can visit again - and take your choice of traditional rooms at the B&B or the vacation cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing