We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist's Inn and Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My sister and I traveled to Lancaster County recently to attend the Sight and Sound Theater and to shop for a few days. We were looking for someplace off the beaten path to stay and we were glad we chose the Artist's Inn. I found the Artist's Inn online and Jan was so nice when I called to make reservations. The Inn looked very inviting after a long day of traveling. Jan and Bruce were so gracious and welcoming and had us settled in our room immediately. The Garden Suite was lovely and cozy, with every convenience we needed, including our own private balcony. We could hear the Amish buggies pass by every morning and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Jan is a great cook and breakfast was wonderful. I highly recommend her Nutella turnovers! Plus Jan was so helpful with maps and shopping recommendations. We had a great experience at the Artist's Inn and will definitely return!
Chris J.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for writing a review Chris - we're so glad that you and Jeannie got to spend a vacation together. It's very important, that sister time. Sight and Sound is one of our favorite places and I'm glad you enjoyed the Behind the Scenes Tour - we liked it too! I've made a note about the Nutella turnovers and will try to make them the next time you visit! We appreciate the review very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
270
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We cannot say enough about the cottage. It is beautiful, well-decorated, very well kept and clean. The master bed is the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in... we were disappointed to come home to our own. We stayed with three children who loved the cottage and wished we could live in it! If you stay here, do not miss the AMAZING BURGERS at the Terre Hill Grill just diagonally across the street. (Home cooking at it's best and everyone agreed the best burgers ever.) Ice cream at Lapp's in New Holland is a must as well. The playground down the street is wonderful and the tennis courts are next door to the park...both within walking distance. The park offers a side road that is great for rollerblading too! We loved to hear the clip-clop of the buggies pass the cottage. It is outside the tourist traps, but close to everything! The cottage has everything you need to make a great meal. We felt so at home and nobody wanted to leave. Jan and Bruce gave us our privacy, but I felt very comfortable knowing they would help us in anyway if needed. It was amazing, my kids never once asked to watch TV. Thanks Jan and Bruce, you guys are fantastic and we LOVE the Cottage and will be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Stacey - We're so glad that your family loved the area around Terre Hill and especially our cottage. It's not easy to find something that pleases three kids! Bruce often jokes that we live in a Norman Rockwell painting - there's just enough to do and yet it is very peaceful. We hope you can return - the kids would love Terre Hill Days - held the third weekend in July in the park. It boasts rides, games of chance, food, a 5-K run, talent contest, and - my favorite - fireworks. We hope to see you there next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saylorsburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic weekend getaway to Lancaster to shop for antiques. We found the Artist's Inn online and he called to make reservations. He spoke to Bruce who was so friendly and offered up antique store recommendations for our stay. Upon our arrival, we met Jan. She is such a sweetheart! Jan was so friendly and welcoming. And her food. Just wow. Breakfast was amazing and she was even able to accommodate my boyfriend's gluten free allergy. Word of advice- try her scones. AMAZING. We stayed in the Rose room which was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. It was a great weekend getaway and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: The Rose room is beautiful and spacious. And the bed was super comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Kristin - Thanks for your review. You two were such fun...and wherever you end up having your wedding, I'm sure it will be a fabulous affair. I hope you were able to find some treasures while antiquing....we certainly have enough shops to keep you busy! We hope you can visit again and will forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark's Summit pA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Artist's Inn and Gallery is a wonderful destination! The Innkeepers are gracious beyond measure, the rooms are lovely and luxurious, and the food is out of this world! Have a special dietary need? Just say so when you book and you will be deliciously accommodated! If you go once, you will want to go back!!

Room Tip: The rooms a are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Donna - thanks for your kind words. I'm so glad that you and Joe enjoyed Longwood Gardens (and our little gardens as well!). Your breakfast requests were very easy to accommodate - no problem at all. I saw that you already booked for next year, so we're hoping that you bring great weather then - just as you did for this trip! We'll look forward to seeing you again - and definitely think about a winter stay. Lancaster County is just magical when it is snow covered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Point, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of 6 (my husband and 4 small children under the age of 9) stayed at this charming cottage when we went to a local amusement park in Lancaster. Jan was so helpful and from the moment we arrived it was so relaxing and had every amenity we needed. We arrived to homemade cookies and other baked treats, and a well stocked fridge. After a day of traveling and fun at the parks this was exactly what we needed! I also wanted our kids to experience something off the beaten path and this definitely fit the bill. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvnstonypoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Carin - Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. I'm so glad we ran into each other at the town-wide yard sales! That is always a fun weekend here and kids love the shopping! We'll look forward to seeing everyone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience while traveling through Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. The Artist's Inn is a comfortable, cozy bed and breakfast. Jan and Bruce are gracious hosts. Bruce has a terrific collection of his artwork and books in the living room. We purchased a few pieces from his collection. The area is peaceful and we enjoyed the town fair during our weekend get away. Our breakfast was delicious and the table conversation was fantastic. My wife and I had the sparks of yesteryear shot in the air again with the accomodations the Artist's Inn provided. We plan on returning once a year around the same time.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice. Suites have private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Jay - it was so nice to meet you and Karen. We're glad that you experienced the fireworks...both personal and our annual town fireworks. We think they are terrific. We're hoping that you have an entry in next years Outhouse Races.....don't forget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Nine and half WOWS! Just kidding; TEN WOWS all the way!
We spent a most enjoyable time at the Artist's Inn and Gallery B&B this week to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. The home was so beautiful with all the period furniture and decorated with special tatse by Jan, the No. 10 hostess. Now the breakfast... You wouldn't believe it if I told you! What was it, a 5 or 6 course breakfast? So delicious and plentyful. Another 10! There were so many little extras that made this a "must visit again soon" Bed and Breakfast!
Thank you Jan and Bruce for sharing your home with us.
PS. Did I forget to mention the homemade scones? We'll never forget those delicious delights. Wish we had snuck a few in our pockets for the trip home. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene and Ruth A... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Gene and Ruth - We love when people have celebrations! It just makes their visit extra fun. Wish I would have wrapped up the scones and you could have taken them with you! Glad you had a good time; thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
15.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing