We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August while on a cycling vacation. it is one of the best, if not the best, bed and breadkfasts I have every stayed at - Kris kringle room - spacious and lovely, wonderful ensuite washroom. Bruce and Jan are the perfect hosts - warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were definitely the best I have ever had - Jan is an amazing cook. It was something different every morning, and we were happy that we were cycling, just to know that we would wear off the delicious and generous several course meal! I highly recommened this bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Lois - Thanks so much for writing. We love cyclists! They slow down enough to discover hidden treasures that many people miss by driving by. And our barn is perfect for storing the bikes when not in use. We hope you visit again, because the weather you brought that week was perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I recently spent a night in the kris kringle room--don't be put off by the name--it's very tastefully done and only mildly "Christmas-y". Only improvement would be higher pressure in shower... Breakfast was excellent, as was hostess Jan. Her husband, the artist, wasn't there, but his artwork was interesting, to say the least. Take note of the titles... All-in-all it was a very nice, quiet, and laid back experience in a quaint location. The other guests were cordial and interesting, and made conversation at breakfast lively, while Jan served a wonderful meal. And she had excellent rasberry-chocolate chip cookies out in a jar for all to enjoy--which I did!

Room Tip: we booked on short notice and can't say anything about the other rooms--but they were occupied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Ian - Thanks for writing about the inn - and also about the shower pressure. We're looking into that and will probably change out the showerhead. We are on city water and our pressure is good - in fact, we had to put in pressure reducers years ago! So I'm thinking the culprit may be the showerhead. We're glad you had a good time - we enjoyed having you as guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband wanted to go to Lancaster for his birthday weekend and we decided to go at the last minute and found the inn online. I made reservations and called to see if they could do something special for a gift for my husband. Being so last minute Jan and her husband Bruce could not have been kinder to me in getting the gift basket. The inn was so relaxing and quaint. It felt like home and the food was incredible. We had the most relaxing time at the inn and cannot wait to go back. The room and the entire inn were spotless and lovely. We stayed in the Garden Suite and the view from the porch was like out of a painting. Thank you for the perfect trip!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SShadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Stacey -Thanks so much for posting. I had a lot of fun putting together a basket for a fellow foodie - especially one with such a great nose. Lots of people guess what's for breakfast, but Josh was right two mornings in a row! I love his comment about not being in food jail too! We're so glad you liked the inn and found time to relax....that's important in this crazy, hectic world! We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were visiting the area for a wedding. Jan went out of the way to help us by lending us an iron and ironing board that we took off the property to use for the wedding dress. The meals were excellent. The rooms were very clean and inviting. Lots of antiques and many varieties of flowers on the property. Beautiful garden! Would definitely stay there agin.

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness area but our room had a spa tub and the little town was wonderful to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Christina - thanks so much for posting a review. Your group was so interesting - it seemed like almost every state was represented! Here's hoping your trip back was a little more on schedule than the trip to Lancaster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a gorgeous cottage with great attention to detail from fine quality tea cups to a deep spa – best place we’ve stayed in during our family adventure around the world. The location in the peaceful town of Terre Hill, the nearby farmlands with barns and silos and the wonderful Amish folk made it so perfect. We loved hearing the clip-clop of horse and buggies going past throughout the day. Our young children enjoyed the spacious yard and rooms. Chocolate cake provided by hosts was delightful too! The Olde Stone Cottage was a wonderful escape from all the busy trading posts and tourists in more noteable towns, yet close enough to go off exploring each day. Trip Advisor ***** you deserve them all. Warm regards, Heather, Peter, Alex and Olivia - Australia

Room Tip: Staying in a cottage a little out from the busy towns is a welcome break when travelling with little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Heather - We understand the need to slow down and breathe while traveling, whether it's just a weekend or a long trip such as yours. We're grateful that Lancaster County was part of the trip!
We're so glad you liked the cottage, and that the kids did too! We wish you many happy memories along the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Let me start this review with the pertinent information... this was our 13th visit to the wonderful Artist's Inn. During the summer your best bet is to stay in the garden suite, it has a second floor porch with cozy furniture and breathtaking views of the Amish farmland. You really feel like its home, Jan and Bruce always go above and beyond to make every guest feel at home. This trip my daughter and her fiance joined us for a long weekend of antiquing. We visited the Green Dragon flea market, Shuppe's Grove antique market, the Kinzer mud sale and a tons of stores in Adamstown ( the Antique capital of the world). Every night was a(pleasant) challenge to decide on which fab restaurant to dine at. So many choices!!! The trip was so successful we are adding the fiance's parents next year! Another PERFECT trip!

Room Tip: In every room you can hear the clip-clop of the Amish buggies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindicado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Cynthia - Thanks for writing. You two always find the neatest stuff here....of course my favorite was the Popeye bank. What a treat to have Nick's parents visit too!. Sounds like a good trip planned for next year. We'll look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have traveled a lot but this is my first TripAdvisor review--we had such a wonderful and special experience at the Artist's Inn that I felt compelled to write. My husband, 9 year old daughter, and I stayed for 4 nights in the spacious and charming Garden Suite (thanks for making an exception on the age limit for children!). We didn't know what to expect but quickly fell in love with the beautifully decorated historic house filled with antiques, the gorgeous grounds and gardens, and the quaint and scenic area--it was close enough to get to all of the nearby towns and attractions in 10-30 minutes depending on where we went, yet far enough away from all the crowds, noise, and hustle and bustle. At the end of our hectic days, it was so nice to come back to the peaceful Inn and relax on our own private porch and listen to the clip-clops of the horses and buggies going by--the view was incredible! Jan and Bruce made us feel welcome from the first moment and in no time at all we felt completely at ease and at home, as if we had always been members of the household. The breakfasts were incredible--from the menu to the presentation--and kept us full until dinner. We also enjoyed the lively conversation with the other guests at breakfast and the sense of community that went with the B&B experience. Jan gave us many suggestions for activities and restaurants and even gave us free tickets to a local attraction. We were truly sad to leave when it was time to go home. I cannot say enough good things about this place and hope we can return for a future vacation. Stay and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistInn, Owner at Artist's Inn and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Elizabeth - it was so much fun to host your family. We love when guests experience a B&B for the first time and are honored that you chose The Artist's Inn. Conversations around the breakfast table are always interesting - and Emma made them fun. We'd love to see Emma at 16 - the boys had better look out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
10.7 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: £99 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing