We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels as if you are visiting friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It feels as if you are visiting friends.”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Barb and I have been going to bed and breakfasts for over 25 years, and this is by far our favorite. The house is a beautifully preserved mid 19th Century Federal home. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with antiques. The setting is as quaint as quaint can be. You're just as likely to hear the clip clop of hooves pulling an Amish or Mennonite carriage down the street as you are to hear a car, but you are still less than a 10 minute drive from Adamstown's antiques. However, it is the innkeepers that really set this bed and breakfast apart. Jan's 4 course breakfasts are the best and Bruce's humourous art makes it different from anyplace else. Both Bruce and Jan have the perfect personality to run a bed and breakfast. They make you feel so welcome that you feel as if you're visiting friends instead of staying at an inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
282
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The reviews and website comments understate the tranquil, serene and romantic environment of the Artist's Inn and Gallery. Jan and Bruce do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome and relaxed. And Jan's cooking is beyond what you would have at a run of the mill B&B or hotel. The AIG is more than worth the stay for a cozy place to unwind. Plus it is not in the midst of the tourist traps, yet everything you may want to see is in the immediate area or a short drive away. My wife and I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobSpringfield_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My boyfriend and I spent Thanksgiving weekend at the cottage and couldn't ask for more. We both needed some R&R from our fast paced living and truly found that. Bruce and Jan are great people and really add the extra touch by filling the fridge with breakfast food, and the cookie jar with the best homemade cookies..EVER!! The rooms are romantic and comfortable. You will enjoy experiencing the laid back life of horse and buggies, homemade jellies and jams, fresh baked bread, and the ultimate sense of "peace". I can see Terre Hill, (Lancaster area) as a place I would wish to retire.

Warmest regards,
Mary Griffith
11/30/09

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtg13674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We needed a getaway....so we landed here. So glad we chose the Artist Inn. Jan and Bruce were most accommodating. This place was spotless!!!!! and I am one pain in the butt when it comes to cleanliness. The food was to die for....absolutely delicious. We felt so welcome, like we were part of the family. The cats are adorable too. Bruce's artwork is just too funny and his book had us in hysterics for over an hour one evening. Midway through our stay we decided we wanted to change rooms and we were accommodated with no problem. I guess we will probably be remembered by Jan as the couple who caused the "musical room" syndrome.
As far as thing to do in the surrounding area, there is plenty.....pretzel factory, cheese factory, chocolate factory, shopping at small stores, shopping at outlets, railroad museum, railroad ride, ghost tour antique shopping and the list goes on and on.......just go....you won't be sorry you did.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire County, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

From the moment we arrived we felt totally at home. Jan is a wonderful innkeeper who knows how to make her guests comfortable - we were shown the tea and cookies (available all day and evening) the beverage center upstairs by our rooms. We were invited to make ourselves at home in the cozy victorian style living room with cd's and books that could be borrowed. The guest rooms (we tried two) were very comfortable with lots of attention to details. Breakfasts are extraordinary! Lovely table settings with candles, a new menu every day, four courses including fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, a main course and dessert! We found this to be very economical, as we did not have to eat again until dinner. We received in the mail, about two weeks before our visit, a full packet of information on events taking place in the area so we could plan. Jan made our show reservations for us at a discount, and she was always available to give suggestions and directions for the best place for dinner, antiquing, produce or what have you. Our getaway was just perfect in every way, and we can't wait for another opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailblazer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland suburbs of DC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We were delighted to stay at the Artist's Inn! The hosts are both amazing-- Jan cooks up a breakfast that is perfection in and of itself. Bruce's witty sense of humor will keep you on your toes- and laughing! His clever, funny and beautiful artwork will keep you entertained, as well.

The room was lovely, quiet, and clean. I loved waking to the gentle clip-clop of the Amish carriages as they rode by the house. If you are looking for a great B&B, The Artists Inn and Gallery is the place to go!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Our long term interest in the Amish and Mennonite Christian tradition brought us from Australia to Lancaster County for a week. We needed an Inn! Our expectations were exceeded many times over. The hospitality of Jan and Bruce was outstanding. Innkeeper Jan was invariably happy, accommodating, generous and willing to help our interests and itinerary - perhaps 'unfazed' is the word I am looking for. Jan went to a great deal of trouble to helping us track down people to helping us pat mules! - now that is something else! Jan's home cooked 'every day a new delight' breakfast menu is just fantastic. Jan even keeps a record of our menus so that next time we will not eat the same menu, unless requested. The delicious breakfasts also meant dollars in the bank as lunch was never needed. Location is marvellous as it is 5 minutes off the busy tourist thoroughfares and so gives rest and yet all is near when required. Administration, services and web were all accurate, clear and helpful. We have stayed in many fine B&Bs in many countries and The Artist's Inn is our number 1 - enjoy it! Thank you to Jan and her gifted husband - artist with picture and pen, imbued with a wry spirit of humor and self-reflection that brings forth our laughter and knowing nod to wisdom expressed. Thank you, Jan and Bruce. God bless you and all your guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAussies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Property: Artist's Inn and Gallery
Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing