We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 August 2010

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the charming and gracious hostess until the time we reluctantly had to leave-the experience at The Artists Inn and Gallery was a positive one. The room was tastefully decorated. The king sized bed was VERY comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening watching the horse and buggys go by. Breakfast was a culinary treat. Jan, the hostess along with her husband Bruce went above and beyond to make our time at their wonderful B&B a memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

My daughter and I spent two nights at The Artist's Inn. Jan and Bruce, the innkeepers, are very friendly and accommodating. Jan prepares a spectacular breakfast with a variety of courses consisting of local fruits, egg dishes, and homemade pastries. Everything is a delight. When you are planning your day Jan helps you to plot your trip and types out directions. The Inn is a wonderful find and you will truly feel you have found a great getaway. If you travel to Lancaster County you must stay here!!! A true gem!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hduckett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

great place to stay!!!!!! Very relaxing and cozy. The owners were very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallypao7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This is the second time we have visited the Inn. Jan and Bruce are wonderful hosts who make you feel right at home. Jan's breakfasts are filling and delicious. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. It's in a small Pennsylvania town located in the middle of Amish country. You can hear the Amish buggies going up and down the street. The Inn is located a comfortable distance from Lancaster and Reading. It is especially close to Adamstown which claims to be the Antique Capital of the US.

I loved sitting on the porch and enjoying the gardens.There is a bit of traffic going past the Inn, but it didn't disturb our sleep .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiep493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We found the Artist's Inn listed in the "recommended places to stay" on the website of Sight and Sound. We had tickets for a show there, and wanted to stay in the area. I was so happy we decided on The Artist's Inn and Gallery. From the friendly greeting at the door by Bruce, to the incredible 4 course, delectible breakfast cooked by Jan, with herbs from her garden, and flowers from her garden as edible garnish. The room (ours was the Garden Room, it was actually 2 rooms, and our own private porch!) was so quaint, complete with candles in the windows, and beautiful hand painted flowers around, and on the doors. Antiques were plentiful, such as the beautiful wardrobe in our room. I ordered a custom basket for our room. When we arrived it was tied in a beautiful table cloth, and contained Asti, local homemade chocolate, crusty bread, cheese, fruit & carmel.......mmmmmm good! Bruce's art is amazing, and very humorous...he's so talented. Go see his art dislayed in the living area!
If you're in the Lancaster area, treat yourself, and stay at The Artist's Inn & Gallery!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_V16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I just had our first "Bed and Breakfast" experience. We stayed two nights at The Artist's Inn and Gallery. Innkeepers, Jan and Bruce, have made this a very comfortable, inviting, and relaxing place to stay. We purposely ended our shopping day early just so we could go back and enjoy the place. The four course candlelight breakfast was so delicious and enjoyable. It made me feel like I was in England. The beautiful flowers, the porch off the Garden Suite", and the humorous artwork, all made for a wonderful memory of our 30th wedding anniversary!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband and I recently stayed in the Kriss Kringle Room at the Artist's Inn.
The small Inn was very clean, and the friendly innkeepers gave us helpful information on
all of the local attractions, such as the Shady Maple Smorgasbord (the largest that
we'd ever seen) and the numerous antique shops. We visited Stoudt's Brewery in Adamstown, and a local Amish shop where we bought pretzels and mustard.
The countryside was beautiful--green fields, farms, Mennonite and Amish wagons and
buggies, small neat towns, roses in bloom, daylilies in clumps.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom generously proportioned.
Candlelight breakfast was a wonderful epicurean treat! The best of Lancaster County!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovevacation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
368 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
155 reviews
9.2 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
10.7 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: £100 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing