We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 1 Terre Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn full of whimiscal art. The two room suite was spacious, beautiful, and romantic. The hot tub and the massage shower were worth the price alone. The rooftop deck was perfect for champagne and moonlight. The next morning, we have a wonderful full breakfast and the service was excellent. A perfect stay. I have stayed in inns all over the Northeast and in Texas, and rank the Artist's Inn right there at the top of the list.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyShanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Artist's Inn and Gallery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

Jan and Bruce are the loveliest of hosts and the warmest of people. The Inn is just beautifully appointed with antiques, hominess, the entertaining art of Bruce and the sumptious aromas from Jan's kitchen. The rooms are spacious and comfortable as well as being decorated with gorgeous carved furniture and all of those charming little touches that make a house a home. Jan's breakfast is unlike any other B&B that we have stayed at.
Gourmet and great home cooking rolled into one Big Beautiful Breakfast that you will undoubtably remember with mouth watering fondness. Likewise, you will fondly recall your stay with Jan and Bruce and their charming menage of sweet felines!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianeandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This place is fantastic! You will not be disappointed. My wife and I stayed in the Stone Cottage, which was lovely--it had a beautiful master bedroom with a great jacuzzi tub and awesome shower. The cottage was the perfect size that still felt cozy, but roomy at the same time. Perhaps our favorite part of our stay were the 4-course breakfasts Jan cooked for us and the hospitality she showed us throughout. We've stayed at several bed and breakfasts and this was by far the most hospitable of them all. She helped us from the moment we called, arranging theater tickets, a farm visit, restaurant recommendations, and more. She is a lovely woman, and makes you feel right at home (yet still on vacation...not like an awkward "inn" where you feel more like you're in your aunt's house than on vacation). While we never met her husband Bruce who was out of the area showing his art, we felt like we got to know him through his incredibly witty art on display around the inn parlor. It will give you a great laugh!

This place is truly great. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Artist's Inn is a wonderful small B & B run by An artist and his wife. The Inn serves as a gallery for the fun work of the artist and Jan is a lovely hostess. The rooms are beautiful and the setting, in historic Lancaster County, PA, is lovely. The inn is close to everything and you will see the Amish as they ride with the horse and buggy. Breakfast was a delight, from the fresh coffee and juice to the fruit muffins and main course. Jan is very involved with the surrounding communities and can tell you where everything is, as well as make reservations. We want to explore Lancaster more and will certainly stay at this Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsfan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed in the Garden Suite which was beautiful and comfortable. The private porch was relaxing at the end of the day. The inkeeper and her husband went out of their way to provide us with information about the area which matched our particular interests. They even helped with dinner suggestions and made the reservations. The breakfast was delicious and generous. I hope Jan does write a cookbook. We also enjoyed looking at Bruce's art which made us laugh out loud. We'd certainly consider going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We enjoyed the beautiful Garden Suite with its own private porch from which you can see the expanse of the rolling farmland below. The side porch was a great place for spending time in the evening with friends while the horse-driven buggies clip-clopped by. A special treat was sitting around the new fire pit with the full moon, stars and the space station overhead in the clear night sky. Breakfast was a gourmet delight and kept us satiated for many hours. The use of local produce and garden-fresh herbs is especially welcomed. Art work by Bruce hangs in every room and enhances the joyful mood of the Inn. It's impossible to put your smile to rest while visiting this amazing Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanMarieWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Wonderful in every way, even with Jan on vacation. My gluten-free diet was deliciously accommodated. The bed was so comfortable, I'm just going to have to get myself a new mattress at home, for a bed I've always declared to be THE most comfortable! All the other guests were just as friendly as our hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bj2kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre Hill
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
356 reviews
7.8 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
402 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's Inn and Gallery

Address: 117 East Main Street, Terre Hill, PA 17581
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Terre Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terre Hill
Price Range: £97 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist's Inn and Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night in an art gallery! Romantic bed and breakfast in charming Terre Hill (Lancaster County) a small town surrounded by Amish farms. Hear the buggies clip-clop past the inn, enjoy the innkeeper's colored pencil pictures in the art gallery, stroll through extensive flower gardens, or relax on Victorian porches. The Olde Stone Cottage is a whole-house rental with two fireplaces, a full kitchen, and a whirlpool tub for two. It's perfect for romantic getaways or family reunions. Gourmet breakfasts at the inn. The Carriage House provides enough room for your entire family with 3 bedrooms, two baths, a sunroom, kitchen and family room. Bring your bikes or hiking boots, go kayaking, zip-lining or for a hot-air balloon ride. There are also other activities like shopping, antique collecting and learning about the local Amish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artist's Inn and Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing