We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only go as a last resort option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tremont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Echo Valley Campground
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The woman, who said she was the owner, was not very nice. The place was EMPTY when we stayed, (tent camping in November.) We got to pick our site, since it was next to the 'washed out bridge' and had a 'view' we got charged $4 extra. When we started unloading the wood we got the woman came speeding on her golf cart saying it was illegal to take wood across county lines because of the Chinese bugs that were invading. She finally buckled and said we could use the wood if we put it back in the car and took out one piece at a time... The second part of our party arrived after we got there, since the place was EMPTY she pulled into the site next to us to see about checking in. Before she even turned the car off there was a guy who sped up to us on his golf cart telling us she couldn't park there because they might rent that site. These folks were rude, you'd think they would have been a bit nicer to their ONLY customers. If I had known we would have stayed in a hotel room where it would have been nicer, warmer and cost just the same. I hope people read reveiw (unlike us) before they choose to stay here...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KikiG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Echo Valley Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Worst campground I've ever stayed at. Staff was rude. Very expensive considering there's one handicap toilet and only portapots for the ENTIRE campground. The water at our site didn't work. One bundle of wet wood was $25. If we hadn't paid for 3 days in advance we would have left and stayed in the Rausch Creek Offroad Parks lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smm913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Only 1 restroom (combined toilet/shower/urinal/sink) for the entire campground was open for the 5 nights we stayed. A second toilet house was opened "for the weekend", but that was actually only open from Sat morning until Sun morning. We had 15 registered campers (majority tent camping) and for all to share a single restroom was irrational. We made due, but will not be visiting Echo Valley Campground again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dar223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight and we called to see if they had room. We forgot to write down the name of the campground/town, etc. Since the owner had returned our call on her cell phone, I called a few minutes before 10 am the next day, just before we left, to find out the name and address of the place we planned to stay. She was so rude and so curt - yes, I called a few minutes before the office opened at 10 a.m. - who knew?! If I'd remembered to write down the name of the camp ground, I'd have looked up the address myself online. After reading the other reviews here (google's were much more charitable), this looks like it is for the best.

We won't be staying there tonight even though it is on the way to our next destination. Found another equally convenient with much better reviews.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here as a refuge from hurricane Lee on September 7th, 2011. As our scheduled campground was flooded we were assured we would have no problems there. Three hours later the water was running through the campground and was within an inch of our steps and rising fairly quickly. We packed up and left. A week later we called to see if they could refund some of the cash ($36) we spent. An employee said the owner would call back but no calls yet. I consider this poor customer service.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank bloom144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremont
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
#1 of 4 in Pine Grove
456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Knights Inn Pine Grove
Knights Inn Pine Grove
#3 of 4 in Pine Grove
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Pine Grove
Comfort Inn Pine Grove
#2 of 4 in Pine Grove
126 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lebanon Valley/Ft. Indiantown Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Valley Campground

Address: 52 Camp Rd, Tremont, PA 17981-1904
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Tremont
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tremont
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service campground with rental cabins, large pull-thru sites with 20/30/50 amp service, beautiful pool, full camp store, laundry facilities, rental pavilions for large groups, volleyball & ping pong areas,WiFi and tv available, rec hall with weekend activities, nearby hiking trails, nearby fishing lake, nearby hunting, Park/outdoor theater, shaded campsites, nice tent sites on the creek, Handicap accessible, hot showers, Good Sam Park, just one mile off of Interstate 81 at exit 104 and only forty minutes to Cabela's, Hershey and Knoebels. 20 minutes to Yuengling Brewery. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing