We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but showing its age”

Shadowbrook Inn and Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadowbrook Inn and Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tunkhannock
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice but showing its age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in May, 2014. The staff was very helpful & got me a room that required minimal walking. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and kept immaculately clean. The room was large and equipped with a microwave oven, coffee maker & refrigerator. It was clean & the housekeeping staff did an excellent job each day. The room was showing its age, however. There was a damaged door on a cabinet that had been very badly repaired and it marred the appearance of the room. And because the building's construction is of wood rather than concrete I could hear all of the stomping going on in the room above me. To their credit, when the staff was informed of the noise they immediately contacted the residents of that room and the noise ceased. When the noise returned the next night, I again called the front desk & they again immediately dealt with the situation. The room price was quite reasonable ($99). The continental breakfast was not particularly impressive but it was adequate, at least for non-diabetics. I've given this hotel a 4 star rating primarily because of the beautiful setting, attention to cleanliness & the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff more than for the impressiveness of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    5
    18
    8
See reviews for
11
12
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smethport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The room had a lingering smell from when they used to allow smoking and I found an unwanted piece of debris in the tub, other than that everything was acceptable. The facility is dated but the room had modern electronics and was very roomy. The sheets were clean but well worn, this place would do for work or just passing through, ask for an updated section and not the old part of the hotel. No warm breakfast at the hotel other than waffles or bread items, the bed was a little hard also.

Room Tip: Get the updated section and you should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the old section which I under stand was damaged in a flood which was very apparent. The room was clean but out dated and falling apart. Many construction works staying long term which may be why the old section has not been shut down for complete renovation. i am sure if this section was inspected I am sure it would be shut down. The newer section looked much better we did not stay in the newer section so ???

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old section maybe in the new section (not sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollyfm, Manager at Shadowbrook Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Renovations are on going here at Shadowbrook Inn and Resort. Now under new ownership, we are very busy making improvements. We hope that sometime in the future you can join us again to see how far we've come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed on first floor last weekend for one night. I can see that at one point, the rooms were probably great. But, the room was in bad shape. Drab. Not enough bright lights. Needs to be updated. Needs fresh paint on walls. Bathroom ceiling tile was stained. I didnt sleep well at all.

Room Tip: There might be renovated rooms. I would ask for those if you decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hucklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

hallways smelled like damp basement. Room had large stains on carpet. One bare bulb lamp, the other with a stained shade. Blanket had cigarette burn holes. Toilet didn't want to flush. TV didn't work. Bed linens seemed clean, bed was comfortable, no bugs or rodents noted. Porch had two old plastic chairs, and a little plastic table with a hole burned through the middle. Can't believe we paid $100/night for this place.

Room Tip: if you have a pair of flip flops and your own towel, and don't care about amenities, feel free t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I witnessed a restaurant manager push a guest that was being taken to there room the front desk ladies take it in there hands to make clames against people they do not like. ( tryed to get guest removed from the hotel and almost fired from there job because they found the guest to look offensive ) very rude and judgemental. not a good place for childern due to the extnsive partys the hotels holds with an open bar for the party goers. the ladies at the bar are the only reason the hotel is nice due to there professional nature and nonjudgemental attitude .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dissaponitedguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Was here in October 2012 (see my earlier review). Well, the place has not changed a bit, where some TLC is needed on this property. I had reserved two rooms: both were a reasonably large size, one was clean and in OK (just OK) condition. The other had this strong mouldy smell to it and felt run down. The rest of the place is the very same thing it was last fall... Unfortunately, not too many hotel choices in Tunkhannock, and it is my opinion this hotel's management is banking on that situation to get away with a sub-par hotel... One last note: the lady at the front desk was the same one as last fall, and she still had this "why am I here" kind of attitude, not terribly welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fearlessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunkhannock
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
#1 of 4 in Tunkhannock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Prince Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tunkhannock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowbrook Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowbrook Inn and Resort

Property: Shadowbrook Inn and Resort
Address: 201 Resort Ln, PO Box 133, Tunkhannock, PA 18657-7828
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Tunkhannock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tunkhannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shadowbrook Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadowbrook Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadowbrook Hotel Tunkhannock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing