We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and very clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tunkhannock
Certificate of Excellence
ripley, United States
1 review
“Very friendly staff and very clean rooms”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The rooms are extremely clean, as is the lobby, breakfast room and grounds. I have never stayed in a hotel where every single person on staff is so friendly and helpful. If you need a hotel in this area, I would highly recommend this one-

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    31
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
116
73
13
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

cleanest. most comfortable hampton inn i've ever experienced. staff and cleaning staff very helpful and caring. beverage station and breakfast choices exceptional. would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel was neat and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and close to restaurants downtown . Breakfast is standard for a Hampton Inn. The room was clean, just a little small for what I was expecting

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maria F V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgeton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

part of 3 day road trip w/ grandson. Stayed here so we could see Tunkhannock Viaduct. Nice location, relaxing pool, cozy beds, good breakfast, friendly staff. Hampton Inns can't be beat in my humble opinion. I have stayed in many Hampton Inns in various parts of this great country and have never been disappointed once.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The air conditioning seemed to not cool efficiently, room was rather hot, especially at night in PA. Overall, I was very satisfied with the accommodations and the staff was very pleasant. I will definetly stay here again when on business in Tunkhannock.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jefflyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

New hotel in a quiet area in a small town on a beautiful day. You don't always find Hilton Hampton Inns in this demographic so it is a nice surprise. Loved walking to the GREAT restaurant next store (Remington's) for a relaxing dinner and being able to be back at hotel in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: 403 overlooks woods and a creek. Other side overlooks the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Please note this is a Hampton Inn, not a resort or anything. My personal ratings are based on what I got for the price, expectations, and the hotels' range.

That said, I don't think I've ever been this blown away by a motel. The hotel is well laid out. It seems new. It is clean to a level I'm not used to seeing outside a Four Diamond facility. I travel with my wife and two young girls and often we have the girls sleep on the floor. Having recently taken a long trek with many motels, we're used to not doing this much of the time because of questionable cleaning practices. Not here. Clean, clean, and clean.

Ditto the pool area. It's a bright, sparkly area. Obviously the hotel caters more to professionals than family, as the pool is long and rectangular, facilitating swimming laps, but fine for my kids. There's also a fantastic (and again, clean) Jacuzzi. The pool wasn't too cold, the hot tub wasn't too hot. We didn't use the workout facilities this time, but they looked a step above what we're used to in a small motel.

Breakfast was fantastic. Lots of fresh fruit, precut pineapple, cleaned grapes, etc. The hot food was mostly excellent (good omelets, potatoes and sausage), though the hotel's only flaw was a waffle maker that seemed to overcook the waffles, making them too hard to eat. But if you can't find something to eat here (also a large selection of donuts and Danish, muffins, bagels, yogurts), you're not looking. Grade A free breakfast.

But the main thing you notice here is attitude. To Manager Jason, you've done a heck of a job. I see rude employees at the many motels I visit. I see false smiles through clenched teeth. I see a mixed attitude, some employees really trying, others going through the motions. At this Hampton, the manager seems to have sold the employees on the concept that kindness makes everyone's stay better, and that happy customers make for a better employee work environment. I swear, the hotel was mostly full of gas an oil workers. We see them often in our stays in the Scranton area (a heavy fracking location) and they tend to be an overworked bunch that keeps to themselves. The evening's "Managers' Reception" was more like a social club. Everyone happy, smiling, friendly. I think that's an attitude the guests get from the staff.

An anecdotal example would be the cookies they seemed to have hot from about 4PM until we were ready for bed at 10 at night. It's a small thing. I'm betting the hotel didn't have more than twenty bucks in cookie supplies for the day. But everyone streamed down to get a cookie. And went to bed with a smile on their face.

Congrats to the hotel staff. You never know who is walking through your doors. My wife and I stay in the area about ten times a year (or more) due to her job. We normally stay at a Choice motel near Scranton. Not anymore. You just created a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Get everything you need coming in. Traffic in this area during rush hour is NASTY, mainly due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunkhannock
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tunkhannock
21.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
19.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
845 reviews
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tunkhannock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tunkhannock

Property: Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
Address: 209 E Tioga St, Tunkhannock, PA 18657-1627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Tunkhannock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tunkhannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tunkhannock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Tunkhannock opened January 2012. All of our guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators and 37 inch flat screen televisions. You can select a room with a King bed or two Queen size beds, or even upgrade to one of our King Suites. Every morning you can enjoy Hampton's "On the House" hot breakfast from 6 a.m. until 10 a.m. Relax in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. The Hampton Inn is located right on Route 6 and is surrounded by a variety of local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Tunkhannock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing