We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, fabulous host!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyrone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tyrone B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, fabulous host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We'd planned on staying one night, but when we cut our trip to Washington DC short and decided to stop on the way back to Toronto, it was an easy decision to see if Paul had room for us - he did, and we had another great stay!
The rooms are lovely, the beds are very comfy, and he's thought of everything in case you forgot something at home (shampoo, makeup remover etc. etc.)
I will happily stay here again on my next trip south!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms - both were lovely. It's a quiet location, so I don't thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
60
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Stony Point Bed and Breakfast for Penn State Graduation. We rented the entire bed and breakfast for our family and we had a wonderful, memorable weekend. When we were leaving, my daughter said "Mom, this was the best graduation that I could have ever had". Our Innkeeper, Paul could not have been more accommodating or gracious. We catered in dinner one evening and grilled on the back patio the next. We sat around the fire pit just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful stone inn. Paul makes the best coffee.
It was a short ride from campus, less than 30 minutes. I highly recommend it; we all had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms - bring friends and family and rent the entire B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I spent a night there enroute from New York to Pittsburgh. Our whole stay was perfect in every way. Paul was very warm and welcoming and wanted to ensure our stay was comfortable in every way. We enjoyed the conversation, comraderie and the wonderful accommodations. The whole inn is an interesting and very lovely space. The room was very comfortable and had all the special touches to make it feel special. And of course, our morning breakfast was perfect and a yummy send off as we took to the road again.
We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

From the beginning, my stay was a delightful experience. The welcome was very friendly, and the stay included little unexpected extras which I really appreciated. My room was really homey, the bed was extremely comfortable. I was very impressed with the innkeeper’s wish to make my visit very special. Paul was very friendly and attentive at all times which made the stay so enjoyable. Also, the house is situated in a fabulous location within easy reach of interesting places to visit. I would recommend Stony Point Bed and Breakfast without any hesitation and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My family and I spent the night and were really impressed. The house is beautiful and the innkeeper, Paul, really went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21754
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped over here on a Friday night on our way to Niagara Falls from the DC region (nice location for that stop over!). They welcomed us and showed us around. In the morning, breakfast (French toast, bacon, orange juice and coffee - yum) was ready. They showed us around the entire Inn from top to bottom and gave us a history of the place and region. It was just a gorgeous immaculate place. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soporifics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We enjoyed our first stay at the Inn in October 2011! The accommodations are clean and roomy. We enjoyed our two night stay along with our friends. The Innkeeper Paul gave us all a warm welcome and provided delicious breakfast with a wonderful homemade Pastry. One of our evenings at the Inn, we enjoyed a wine tasting and cheese. Prior to our departure, we were able to walk the grounds, which are peaceful and beautiful! We are looking forward to our two stays booked for September and October in 2012!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrone
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
21.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1400 North Ave, Tyrone, PA 16686-2019
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Tyrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tyrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stony Point Bed and Breakfast is a Greek Revival style home nestled in the hills of Tyrone a small Central Pennsylvania Town. Construction was completed in the 1920's utilizing materials provided by the railroad. For more information on rates and reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing