We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodations for visiting family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyrone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tyrone B&B and Inns
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodations for visiting family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Sister and her large (6 kids ranging from 4 to 17) family were stopping in Tyrone for a one night visit on their way from San Antonio to Germany (Army family). They were doing a lot "planes,trains, and automobiles" on their way. We didn't really have the room ourselves so we said we would put them up. We wanted them nearby, so we contacted Paul at Stonypoint to see about putting them up at the B & B. After discussing with Paul re their unknown arrival and departure schedule, Paul suggested that the family might be more comfortable in the Stonypoint "guesthouse". This is a modern, huge, four bedroom house not far from our house or the B & B. We took a look see and concluded that it was more than perfect! Paul was very accommodating with the arrival and departure times and even gave us the key ahead of time so we could stock the frig and cupboards with some snacks, beverages, and breakfast items. The family LOVED the house and said that since packing up their house in Texas, this was the first night that the entire family slept under the same roof (and will again be the last until they reconvene in Germany). We all appreciated being able to hang out and visit. They hope that they can find a house as nice as this one when they settle in Germany for their 3 year tour. This was so much nicer than a couple of impersonal hotel rooms. We also had a really great dinner at Nino's the evening they got here. The next morning, Mom went for a nice run up Goods Lane and saw a doe as big as a horse and Dad and middle son took a walk into town for a haircut. They popped into our house and I gave them a quick ride back to their place. We packed a lot into their short visit (Resevoir Park, Gardner's penny candy counter twice!, and lunch from the Village Pantry). All of this was possible because they were able to stay close by and in such a nice place. Thank you Paul!!!! :). T and B

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
60
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just had our 2nd stay at Stony Point when we came for our daughter's graduation from Juniata College in nearby Huntingdon. We had stayed previously in November 2012 as well. Both stays at Stony Point were delightful. Paul is so nice and even remembered us when we returned this last time! All the rooms at Stony Point are lovely and Paul makes you feel right at home. Our first trip we brought a bottle of wine & enjoyed it in the lovely bar room and spent some time in the living room. Breakfasts were tasty and casual. It really doesn't feel like a 'hotel' at all and another bonus is the price. I think it's a very good value. If you are looking for small town charm in a beautiful historical old home, then this could be the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Paul is a lovely host; respectful, informative, and kind. He was responsive to our vegetarian needs with breakfast and coffee was ready upon waking! We had the best sleep: quiet, private top floor room, private bath. Just perfect place from which we made day trips into the hills and the neighboring towns in search of a rich railroad history. Will be back.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center. This is lovely bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were thrilled with the stay we had at Stony Point B&B. Wonderful host was very helpful and patient with our unusual schedule. Wish that we had more time to stay in the area. We will definitely try to go back again when we have more time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were traveling from Niagara on the Lake in Ontario back home to Virginia and had no particular plans for a place to overnight on the way. We came upon the little gem on Trip Advisor and were lucky to get a room as it appears to be very popular...even mid-week! Paul the owner, is friendly and casual and treats you as though you have always known him. The house is full of railroad history and Paul is happy to give a tour and point out the interesting aspects of the house. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onionryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We'd planned on staying one night, but when we cut our trip to Washington DC short and decided to stop on the way back to Toronto, it was an easy decision to see if Paul had room for us - he did, and we had another great stay!
The rooms are lovely, the beds are very comfy, and he's thought of everything in case you forgot something at home (shampoo, makeup remover etc. etc.)
I will happily stay here again on my next trip south!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms - both were lovely. It's a quiet location, so I don't thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Stony Point Bed and Breakfast for Penn State Graduation. We rented the entire bed and breakfast for our family and we had a wonderful, memorable weekend. When we were leaving, my daughter said "Mom, this was the best graduation that I could have ever had". Our Innkeeper, Paul could not have been more accommodating or gracious. We catered in dinner one evening and grilled on the back patio the next. We sat around the fire pit just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful stone inn. Paul makes the best coffee.
It was a short ride from campus, less than 30 minutes. I highly recommend it; we all had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms - bring friends and family and rent the entire B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrone
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 14 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
18.7 mi away
Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast
Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hollidaysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Point Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stony Point Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1400 North Ave, Tyrone, PA 16686-2019
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Tyrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tyrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stony Point Bed and Breakfast is a Greek Revival style home nestled in the hills of Tyrone a small Central Pennsylvania Town. Construction was completed in the 1920's utilizing materials provided by the railroad. For more information on rates and reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing