We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Impression”

Mac's Market & The Gridiron
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Tyrone
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Restaurant details
Altoona, PA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“First Time Impression”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our first visit to Mac's and chose it for lunch based upon previous reviews and because they had outside seating. While our sandwiches were okay, I can say they were only average (in our opinion). Maybe it was what we ordered, but the turkey hoagies were somewhat oily and we were surprised by the amount of onions. When you open the hoagie from the wrapping all you see are onions and I assume the onions are soaking in oil prior to assembling the hoagies.
Mac's was very busy and appears to be very popular. If we ever go back, would likely try the pizza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We come here weekly for our Mac attack. Great food and great employees. If you come here and do not live close by bring a cooler for great deals on the fresh meat from the butcher.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A weekly affair”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful meat market. The steaks and beef tenderloin are superb! We get something here at least once a week.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pizza, Subs, Wings, and Grinders”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mainly the foods listed above. It's more of a take out place. They also have soups and a meat counter. They make awesome homemade stuffing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Machelle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stuffed chicken breasts”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I mainly go here for his selection of fresh meats to prepare at home. You must have a stuffed chicken breast. While they are well stuffed, it is so good you want to get extra stuffing for later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Market & The Gridiron also viewed

 

Been to Mac's Market & The Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing