We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really well run inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vanderbilt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Vanderbilt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at Seams Like Home July 28-July 30, 2013. Accommodations are clean, modern, spacious. Billiard room is a huge plus. Property is in a stunning wooded rural area. Short driving distance to local attractions like Fallingwater. Proprietor Rich is welcoming and VERY, VERY engaging.
Minor nitpicks:
So off the beaten path you won't find it, even with GPS. Cell service was also spotty, wi-fi so slow we gave up.
Rooms were large enough, but could have used more storage space!
We are a Christian family, but could have done without the pamphleteering by our host, especially the one that threatened eternal damnation for alternative beliefs.
We were asked to review the inn on TripAdvisor at least 2-3 times per day, every day. OK, ask and you shall receive.
I still highly recommend the Inn to people wanting to cycle the GAP, or go on a quilting or religious retreat. I just prefer a more urban setting.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical except for minor decor touches.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnp234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped here while biking the GAP. The shuttle service is free and quick. The rooms exceptionally clean and the breakfast perfect. The owners are accommodating and the service great, I asked for a 6:30 breakfast and a quick ride back to the trail and would recommend this place to anyone,, not your old stinky B&B house.. Great stuff and Thanks Art

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Seams Like Home was a terrific find for us as we cycled the Great Allegheny Passage. Although it is not right on the bike trail that turned out to be a non-issue because the Owners picked us up at the trail and brought us out to the house. The house is good-sized and in a very peaceful setting (other bike trail B&Bs can be near noisy railroad lines). The room had a terrific large and modern bath/shower. The Eickerts were very friendly and easy to spend time with and helped us get around in town for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Seams like Home has expanded its excellent hospitality from quilters and other types of travellers to include cyclists who are cycling via the Great Allegheny Passage and need a place to stay near the Connellsville station. The owners pick up cyclists from the end of the trail using their shuttling pickup truck so it's very convenient. The host and hostess are extremely friendly, the premises are newly renovated, very comfortable and clean, and most of all, the beds are comfortable. Our bathroom was shared with another room. There was a comfortable recreation room for guests with a pool table, tv and computer with free internet, something not always available at many other b&b's. There was a washer/dryer nearby with which cyclists could do their laundry; such a vital amenity for cyclists, who often travel light and get quite sweaty on the trails.

The icing on the cake was when I accidentally left a gold ring with much sentimental and actual value. I had not noticed it was missing but the host called me to ask if I had left such a ring and I described it to him. He shipped it to me with insurance the next day! Such honesty, reliability and generosity is so special.

The breakfast was equally tasty, with an array of good dishes involving the usual breakfast foods, eggs, sausage, toast, jellies, etc. being available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funklady9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is unique for a bed and breakfast because it combines comfortable overnight accommodations plus it is a destination point for those interested in quilting. Although that wasn't our reason for staying, we thought it was an interesting combination. Rick and Donna have made a very nice bed and breakfast from a fairly ordinary structure. Everything is new but they've made it very homey and the breakfast omelet was outstanding. We were there as a stopover while doing the C & O Canal and GAP bike trails and it was an ideal...and welcome...stop along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very accommodating, spacious, comfortable and clean B&B in lovely setting.
I would recommend it to bikers, couples, and extended families. There is a separate kitchen, large dining room, computer connections and even a game room/lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iborbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here while biking the GAP trail. Rick was more than accommodating. He really went above and beyond!!! We hit a rain storm several miles before riding into Connellsville and he came and picked us up in his truck as promised he even brought us some towels to dry off with. He also let us use his garden hose to clean our bikes, which was greatly appreciated. We were the only guests that day and they helped us dry all of our clothes, shoes, bags etc. If we didn't have something he helped us to find it. He was very friendly and for a small fee, drove us back into town for dinner then came back to pick us up. He took us and our bikes back to the trail - we even stayed longer than planned due to the weather.
If you are biking the trail I would really recommend stopping here for the night. The pick-up spot was easy to find from the trail. We felt very safe and comfortable. We walked around their property and sat by the pond feeding the ducks and fish. It was an enjoyable time!
The B&B itself was like new. The rooms and private bathrooms were large and very clean. Breakfast was great and they even gave us some snacks in the evening. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValB304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbilt
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
138 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
566 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
Fox Castle Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Connellsville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seams Like Home Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2010 Emerald Valley Rd, Vanderbilt, PA 15486-1046
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Vanderbilt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vanderbilt
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Laurel Highlands of Southwestern Pennsylvania and nestled on nearly four acres of rural wooded hillside. Perfect place for a quilting, sewing or scrapbooking getaway or just relax to escape the stresses of everyday life! Located close to Fallingwater and the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail. Delicious home-style breakfasts served daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing