We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Roadside Restaurant”
Review of Gibney's

Gibney's
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Waymart
Restaurant details
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Roadside Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is your local old fashioned roadside restaurant. It has a lot of classics and the food is down home American style. The liver and onions was fresh and plentiful. The scallop plate was a little disappointing, but for this area, seafood is hard to get and most is frozen. The seafood plate was also a selection of pre-frozen and then fried items, small portions. The squash was freeze and sweet. The French fries were good. The dessert, an amaretto mouse was great. The décor is dated and the men's bathroom has a window in it with a curtain, look behind the curtain and it looks like a storage area behind there. Very odd. I was told this restaurant was on the top of Farview Mountain, and so it is. Do not expect any mountain views from the restaurant. It is your small roadside restaurant. It is popular with the elderly locals. Service was friendly and excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inexpensive”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the dining room was hot. They didn't have the air conditioning on in the main room. Server was nice. Food was good but uninspired. Price was reasonable carpet in dining room was musty. Place looked dated. Dark inside. Mostly older people there when we were there. Two tables. Urinal in bathroom didn't flush. Would pass on this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JN889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Meal with Friends is well worth the trip”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Walking into Gibney's is like walking into a family dining room. This restaurant out in the middle of no where was filled with friendly conversation before we arrived and a warm fireplace. It has been in the family for several generations. Ruthie had liver and onions. Ray had a salad too big to take home. Chet had Cordon Blue and French Fries - that was before we started Weight Watchers! lol I had Chicken Parmegean. Lightly season. The chef was doing dishes when I went out to great Sandy. Save room for dessert!! Homemade pies are out of this world!! I had Rhubarb. Chet had Cherry. Ruth had Apple and Ray was good. :>)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Homemade food, good prices.”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

While out in Waymart, PA, my wife and I went to Gibney's for dinner. We have been there before and both had a yen for their honey dipped fried chicken. It was delicious as usual. The restaurant is not fancy, but the service is friendly, the food is homemade, and the prices are good...and don't forget dessert. Their pies are wonderful. One thing, you need to get their by 7 PM as they stop serving by then.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jferro439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Homestyle Cooking at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Gibney's is a cozy, rustic restaurant with friendly service. It's a BYOB establishment, but they happily obliged my husband and me by opening our bottle of wine and supplying 2 wine glasses.
The food is homemade and the variety is good, ranging from sandwiches to dinners. My husband had the liver and onions while I had the fresh pork. The desserts are also homemade. We tried the pumpkin pie and it was delicious!
Gibney's is a great place to stop if you are going to or from the towns of Waymart or Honesdale, PA. Antler Ridge winery is nearby and worth a stop.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ejplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibney's also viewed

Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
Waymart, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Gibney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing