We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I looked at a number of hotels in the Wayne/Radnor area and was tired at staying at the normal chains. I thought I would give this one a try and was not disappointed. The price was reasonable and the hotel was so much nicer than a chain hotel. Although the hotel is older, the rooms have been redone. The hotel has a nice restaurant if you dont want to go out, but if you do, there are many places to eat just a short walk away. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitanTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    64
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
77
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

How nice it is to have a large, wide front porch with comfortable seating, ceiling fans, something to drink. So rare in a hotel. You are right in the heart of a thriving town. You can walk to the drug store, restaurants, a movie theater, book shop, food stores, clothing (if you have forgotten something). Right next door to a church so you can hear the bells ringing. Ten minutes from Villanova University.
Once inside the room, it is quiet. WiFi is included. Comfortable bed. My only negative is the old-fashioned bed spread and blanket. Comforter covers are much cleaner as they are washed frequently.
The best of all is the restaurant in the hotel. You can eat in three different places: a fancy dining room, a bar, or on the porch. We ate in all three. Excellent food, good service. Breakfast is included.
The people behind the reception desk are very helpful and friendly. Bottled water is free.
Do stay here: you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emberbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have been visiting this hotel since our wedding reception was held there some 20 years ago. Recently entire property underwent total restoration. It is an absolutely beautiful property but the historic charm remains. We stayed in a king size room for a get away weekend. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable with a nice flat screen tv. Our rate included breakfast which was basically extended continental in the Paramour bar area. Very attentive staff. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the Paramour restaurant located on premises. Overall great experience at the right price right in the heart of neat little Wayne, PA.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great little place, big rooms, good price, friendly people and good food and service. can't fault them on anything. Takes the same amount of time from Philly airport to the Wayne as to downtown Philly. Enjoy local town charm, relax before the week starts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djcfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I went to visit a friend of mine in PA, and he recommended this hotel. The hotel is very old; they still have the original dining menu from 1920s framed on their wall. Nonetheless, the room that I stayed in was very clean. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The place was packed at dinner time. I feel I was getting a very good value for what I was paying.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

If our travels bring us back to the Philadelphia area, this Hotel will be our destination. Great attentive service, from the front desk to the staff to the Paramour Restaurant. Our room was very nice. We had a bay window facing the front of the building, nice king sleigh bed which was very comfortable and the updated bathroom was unique, the walk in shower with the rain shower head was truly a pleasure. The decor was nice. Our room also had in room complimentary coffee. They have a complimentary breakfast, though we unfortunately didn't get to try it. There are cafe's and restaurants within walking distance as well as interesting shops. Our last day was topped off with an exceptional early lunch on their outdoor veranda.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a bay window facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAKLSMDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Wayne Hotel is a little gem located smack in the centre of the main line right on route 30, or old Lancaster Avenue. A friend and I visited for one night when attending the Devon Horse Show right down the road in Devon. The lobby is lovely, has a continental feel that is neither too modern, nor dated. The patio that faces Lancaster Ave looks like a very nice spot to enjoy lunch or a cocktail. Next time we'll do just that.
Staff is appropriately dressed for business, and a few of them speak more than one language as I discovered with the French Mme who checked me in.
With a call in advance, we were able to check in early (1pm) The rooms are generously proportioned when compared to European standard.Ours comfortably supported a desk,chair, dresser, large tv, couch,a king bed, all with plenty of room to move around. The couch pulled out to a queen bed, and there was still room to get around everything. The bathroom was also quite large, with a nice shower, single sink, but with lots of counter space for everyone toiletries.
Our room was spotless, which is the most important thing about a room, if you ask me. There were plenty of lush towels, pillows, and the king bed and linens appeared new. Drapery was nice quality, carpet is in good shape, nice basic furniture and appointments. We found a working hair dryer in the bathroom, shampoo,conditioner, and soap. There was a sizeable well lit closet with hangers, complete with ironing board and iron which we used for several items during our stay. It's nice not to have to ask for these things and wait a half hour to have someone bring them up. You get a real room key, not one of those cards you can lose easily and which need to be demagnitised constantly. Old School. I like it.
While the view wasn't great (overlooking the aircon units on the building next door) we weren't there for a romantic balcony scene so it didn't really matter. What we did miss was a mini bar or some variety of small frige in which to store some water or other chilled beverage.There is an ice machine on the lower level for guest use but I find that a little tacky.It's too reminicent of the old Hojos motels all along rt 66 or the like. Ice on call from the front desk or room service would be a better option. Not having any bottled water in the room at no charge would also be a good idea.I realise they're trying to keep prices down and encourage people to visit the bar, but really,a bucket of ice and a bottle of water or at least a notecard on the nightstand advising the guest that these things are availible upon request would be a fine idea.
Just one other thing needs attention: Not only was there no full length mirror in the room; the only mirror availible was a waist high wall hung bathroom mirror. If you're not in the bathroom, you have no mirror to use while dressing. Not even a small decorative one by which to tie a tie or check your makeup. This is an oversight that nees to be addressed. A full length mirror attached to the inside of the closet door would be very useful.
Staff was efficient and friendly. Ample free parking. You cannot beat the price for this value even if you have to get your own ice. Ps. Call Main Line Taxi if you need to be shuttled about, they do a great job. We'll be back. Mini review of Paramour and other local establishments to come. Cheers

Room Tip: 410 does not have a great view, but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onehermesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
956 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing