We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, confused decor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location, confused decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my husband's friend's wedding and it was very well priced and conveniently located (right in what I imagine is the heart of Wayne's "downtown" area), but the decor was really confusing. The front porch, lobby, and adjoining bar/restaurant clearly have been renovated recently with a trendy, hip ambiance in mind, but that must be where they blew their renovation budget, because it hasn't quite reached the rooms/hallways yet. At least not the ones that we saw. Our room was comfortable and certainly spacious (with a nice big king-sized bed that we didn't ask for), but the decor was reminiscent of grandma's house. Also, some of the employees seemed a little strange and it took awhile just to get checked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    59
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
36
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Wayne Hotel is a comfortable and welcoming place to stay while visiting the Philadelphia area. Wayne is west of center city Philadelphia along the Main Line. Our three day stay included some business and museum visits in the city as well as family visits in suburbs near Wayne. The Wayne Hotel's warm ambiance was wonderful to return to each evening. A glass of wine in the bar, nightly peppered with locals, was a great way to finish the evening. If you have business, or are visiting family in the Philadelphia area, the Wayne Hotel is a wonderful home base.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillMuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is a classic boutique hotel. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant is stunning. We stayed one night for a college visit. Very close to King of Prussia mall. I was impressed that our sofa bed was open and made for my kids, that never happens when we travel. The only complaint and had nothing to do with hotel but with restaurant, we went to happy hour and ordered wine and was charged full price. Guess we needed to ask what wines were included. Even apps that were half price were charged at full price. Waitress adjusted apps but not wine. Ordered a Pinot Grigio no name, you would think they would offer the half price wines at happy hour. Hotel walkable to plenty of stores, restaurants, and movie theatre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We had 2 families traveling together staying in 2 rooms. Large clean rooms with 2 double beds. Continental breakfast had nice assortment of cereals, yogurts, toast, croissants; and good quality tea which many places don't have. Helpful staff who called my room to let me know the cabin light was left on in my car. Good value. I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Docsbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Wayne Hotel is very convenient for anyone wishing to avoid the traffic and expensive parking in Philadelphia. It is located two blocks from the train station which goes directly into the city. We found Tom and the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are clean and up to date. They have wifi in the room and lobby and a no-frills continental breakfast is served. Our complaint would be related to the bed and chairs in the room and lobby. The mattress was old and soft and did not support the body ergonomically and the chairs in the room and lobby are attractive but not comfortable for sitting or computer use. Despite these drawbacks I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed here twice and both times were great. I really like the location as within a block are some nice restaurants along with plenty of shops. Its very convenient to anyone visiting Villanova as well. I like the fact a continental breakfast is included. The breakfast is basic but
certainly enough is offered to fill you up. I usually run down to get a cup of coffee and take it up to my room then eat breakfast a bit later. They have one of the best restaurants around but definitely make reservations. I enjoyed eating dinner on the veranda. I also had a late, light dinner in the bar which was very convenient. The hotel is not ultra modern which is a nice change from the chain hotels. Its small so it does book up quickly. Because the restaurant is frequented by non hotel guests the parking lot can get very full when the restaurant is booked up.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvettetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

The Wayne Hotel is a boutique gem in the greater Philadelphia area. Well appointed rooms, helpful and friendly staff and an excellent restaurant.

The restaurant was truly good value and excellent quality. Breakfast, while minimalistic, was tuned to get you moving and on your way with the minimum of service fuss which, for busy people getting places, is perfect.

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and make you feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djcfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E. Lancaster Ave., Wayne, PA 19087
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Located just 18 miles west of Philadelphia on the affluent Main Line, the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, bars, boutique stores, spas, salons and a movie theater. Following a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from a wonderful new restaurant (opening September 2011), the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, forty inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and twelve off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing