We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh Yes...A Trip To Grandma's Guest Bedroom”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ahh Yes...A Trip To Grandma's Guest Bedroom”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel came as a recommendation from the fine folks at Valley Forge Military Academy. Little did they tell me that this hotel was last updated in 1988? It seriously needs updating furniture wise as it reminds me of some Laura Ashley meets The Waltons and Falcon Crest re-runs taking place in real time. The food and service makes up for the lacking in quality rooms which should be lowered in price a few 10 spots.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWatchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    64
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
77
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is lovely. I had a decent room but there was no mirror in it which made dressing a little difficult. My sister had a wonderful room in the front of the hotel but unfortunately they were jackhammering the street the entire night so she got no rest. The front desk staff were polite and accommodating but I must say that my experience with their restaurant and the men that serviced us was EXTREMELY disappointing to say the least. I have never dealt with such arrogant people in my entire life so I would steer anyone away from dining there.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the front as they are bigger but do ask if they are doing any construction because yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platooo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for 4 days while visiting the area. We both loved the antique feel of the place. Had a corner room on the 4th floor with lots so windows. It is not a place for families as there is no pool or anything for children. But for a couple's get away, this is a great place to stay. One good thing about the location is several great restaurants just around the corner. It is also located beside a grand old church with towering steeples that you can see from a distance so you know you are getting close when you are not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel could be better.

The rooms were immaculate (but too inexpensively furnished.) The bed comfortable. The bathrooms clean and functional (but small and not upscale. Just functional.)

The location is superb, especially if you are playing golf at Merion, or visiting Haverford or any other local college. You can walk to local restaurants, nail salon across street, Italian deli.

Free parking is limited. If you return and their personal lot is full you need to use the public pay-for-parking lot. Inconvenient.

And there is no easy pull up to the hotel, you need to truck your bags up a ramp, around a corner to get to the reception desk. I know that is a picky-sounding statement, but it would be an issue if I had more than just my rolling carry on.

Continental breakfast comes with the room, very standard yogurts, bananas, apples, juices, croissants and bagels. Coffee too. Just not exceptional. Could have been.

Decor is fantastic. Loved the flower arrangements, modern. Loved the spacious, upscale New York look of the entrance lobby and dining rooms. The bedrooms were new furniture, in the Williamsburg look.

I will return, as the location was perfect, the entire place was clean and efficient.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We recently hosted a bridal shower for our future daughter in law. The restaurant was lovely with excellent food and a great wait staff. The accommodations in the hotel were great as well; highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We always stay at the Wayne when we come to the Philadelphia area. It is set right in the middle of a nice area of cute little shops and great restaurants, but is on the Main Line with easy access to Philadelphia. The hotel lobby and new restaurant are beautifully updated, and the rooms are a nice size with comfortable beds, and nice traditional décor. The staff are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The continental breakfast buffet includes a variety of delicious fresh pastries, fruit, cereals, and more other items than you would expect. We visited in the spring a few years ago when the plein-air art competition was going on, so we got to watch artists on every street corner painting, which was really interesting to see. We also went to the art museum that week end where we saw the prize winning finished pieces of art displayed. We visited the Barnes Collection on this same visit, which is worth a trip in Philadelphia in itself; the large collection of European Impressionistic art there is magnificent. Go see Valley Forge and the Liberty Bell when you are in the area, too.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. The rooms fill up fast, especially in the late spring when families are coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a terrific boutique hotel. Lovely rooms. Great great restaurant. Exquisite wine list. The staff are Friendly and helpful.This hotel is right downtown. They have a nice breakfast. I am sure the porch is to die for in warmer weather. Do not miss out on this very very lovely hotel.
They suggested a great car service to use to and from the hotel(Hybrid Planet Chauffeurs). The car service suggested a. Personal assistant for me when I arrived at the airport. I had foot surgery and needed assistance at the airport.Kristen( my assistant) got me through security and to my gate flawlessly.a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMamad1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
956 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
415 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing