We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Springsteen likes it-- so did I.”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Springsteen likes it-- so did I.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I was booked into the Wayne Hotel by a client, and spent two days there in January, 2014. I found parking out front, and liked the old feel of the hotel, from its spacious lobby to wide hallways. Staff were friendly and courteous. My room, however, didn't feel old--they've been renovating at least the third floor rooms, and mine seemed crisp, modern and new. The room was spacious and quiet. The continental breakfast wasn't the most varied I've ever seen, but there were pastries, bread and bagels, and a variety of cereals to choose from. My only complaint is that there were loud parties downstairs both nights I was there--and it's not the parties themselves that bothered me, but the discovery, on the morning I checked out, that someone had backed out of the parking space next to mine and left a long scratch/gouge in the driver's and rear passenger door—I'm guessing someone who had been whooping it up the night before.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gathering_No_Moss_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    62
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
75
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Wayne Hotel in November 2013 and, other than a large group making noise in the hallway in the middle of the night, and a not-very-well sealed door, we loved our stay. About five months ago we attempted to make a reservation for our daughter's graduation in May 2014. We were told that they were not booking rooms for May yet and that we would be put on a waiting list and notified in January. Today, January 14, my husband called and had to insist they tell him the status of our reservation. Only then was he told that we were on the fifth page of Excel sheets of reservations, for a hotel that has 40 rooms! Needless to say all other area hotels have already been booked. How unprofessional not to tell us five months ago that our chances of being booked were slim, or at least notifying us in early January, as we were promised. When I called the Courtyard by Marriott in Devon, the representative told me they were booked but made other suggestions and helped me make a reservation elsewhere. Now that's service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writerteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hubby and I stayed here overnight while visiting family in the area. We took our chances based on reviews rather than staying in a chain hotel. It was very nice. Super-convenient, with parking at the door, immaculately clean, and everyone we encountered was kind and helpful. It was a bit noisy in the evening because there were some little kids running around in the hallway near our room and slamming doors, but they calmed down and it became nice and quiet - .so much so that we slept too late to enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the morning, which stopped serving at 9:30. Staff was nice enough to let us get juice and coffee to go. I'm sure they would have let us take some pastries or muffins too, but we decided to seek out a sit-down breakfast on the road.

The hotel had a European feel to it - narrow corridors and moderately sized rooms. We thought it was great. We will stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momzanurz1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

look up the word 'accommodation' in the dictionary better still look into the Wayne Hotel in PA you'll find it like I did then years ago and now at holiday time, even made better by the Paramour
restaurant with bistro. Staff from first welcome really interested in your comfort. It won't be your last time there that's a promise.

Room Tip: higher floors quieter. Staff changed reserved lower at my arrival and increased comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfehsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved this historic small hotel - quiet and comfortable room, excellent continental breakfast included in the room rate, great location, and attentive staff. We left our car at the hotel and took the SEPTA line to downtown Philadelphia, avoiding the hassle of parking and traffic. I much prefer the Wayne to the hotels we have stayed at during previous visits to Philadelphia; it's also an excellent place to stay when visiting the area colleges.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethc523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my three-night stay. Although the room decorations are a little staid, the bed was superbly comfortable (I wish I owned one just like it....), and the linens and towels were new and fresh. My only complaint is that the room has no appliances or facilities for making coffee or tea. Very quiet on top floor; excellent wifi. The continental breakfast buffet featured first-class croissants (better than the ones you find in many a Paris joint) along with other delicious pastries, and although the rest of the spread was more down to earth it was all very pleasant. The bar and restaurant are beautifully styled; they also make quite a contrast with the Victorian lobby.

All in all, a very good establishment in which I would not hesitate to stay if I needed a bed in suburban Philadelphia.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for the top floor (i.e. fifth floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The Wayne hotel is tired, but okay. The room was clean and tidy, linens were obviously fresh, but it just doesn't have any style. The lobby area, bar and their restaurant, Paramour, are all quite nice. We had an excellent meal at Paramour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PigPen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing