We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but needs freshening up”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Radnor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radnor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place, but needs freshening up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, but I guess it is positioned as an upscale hotel and it falls short of that.
- Breakfast staff somewhat uninformed/not very well trained
- Not many outlets in your room - or say as many as you would expect in the '60s when the only thing you would plug was your curler... And that outlet is not conveniently located to plug your computer and work at the desk

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    116
    68
    28
    23
See reviews for
122
53
23
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
old greenwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

That's why you'd stay here. The people are friendly but the place is tired. By all means, do not book a room on what they call the Lower Level, unless you love eau de mildeu.
The location is superb for any Main Line business. In fact I can't believe there's not at least one really good hotel out there.

Room Tip: Not on the Lower Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I recently tried to book rooms for my out of town wedding guests for this October. The Radnor Hotel was originally one of my first choices because I have been to events there before that have always been well done, and it was one of the nicer choices in my area.

When I called, the front desk was very polite and transferred me to whoever books groups. I spent no more than 5 minutes on the phone with the group rate employee who seemed to be annoyed with me because I was trying to ask questions and find out what an "expert" thought I would need (since it was my first time ever trying to book a group at a hotel). I was in the middle of explaining that I wanted to set up potential rooms for up to two dozen guests when I was asked how many rooms I would need. When I said I wasn't sure, and gave my approximate estimate of how many I might need, I was rudely told that they, "Don't block out rooms for less than 10 definite rooms and I wouldn't be able to get any group rate at all," and was hung up on.

I booked my rooms at the Hampton Inn in Chadds Ford instead. They're much nicer, answer all questions, and take time to actually help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lprevost, Owner at Radnor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
In response to Anne D. regarding her attempt to Reserve a Block of Rooms in October of this year , I find her decision to send her Guests to a limited service hotel over 23 miles away based on a phone call falls far short of reasonable.
The size of a Weekend Room Block is critical to meeting a hotel's need to first accommodate In-house functions including Weddings , Rehearsal Dinners and Sunday Brunch. October is an extremely busy time of the year for our hotel for both In-house and Off-site weekend events.
My investigation into Anne D's. complaint finds that our standard weekend group guidelines of 5- 10 Rooms did not meet her wishes. It was not a matter of being rude , but a matter of being honest and polite with a Guest's Inquiry .
Please be assured at no time did we or would we hang up on a phone call inquiry regardless of the circumstances.
Anne D.'s rating regarding location contradicts her own statement that " The Radnor Hotel was originally one of her first choices ..."
Based on Anne D.'s own comments concerning her prior Radnor events that she had attended " The Radnor Events ... have always been well done ,.... one of the nicer choices in my area."
Anne D's unfair low Ratings are without merit by her own admission and should be removed from TripAdvisor.
Thank You ,
Louis Prevost
Senior Vice President - General Manager
They should be removed from TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Have stayed here many times as it's the closest hotel to my corporate office. Overall it's nice but wish you could better control the room temperature. Upon talking to the front desk they suggested I open the window as they had primary control for the entire hotel. They changed the breakfast to a continental in the lounge which is still good enough for me but no longer offer the hot food items. The bathroom is the smallest of any hotel which is difficult for a multi-night stay as I'd like to set out my toiletries. This is also my 2nd stay in which I've had some spiders sharing my room.

I'll stay again in the future as it is the most convenient for me but I wish I had more options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnrmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel 6 times within the last year. I have stayed on several floors and each time the room is very clean. The beds/pillows are very comfortable. There is plenty of parking and a great location if you are going to visit Villanova or Wayne. The staff is extremely friendly they are always smiling. The Glenmorgan is a great spot to sit back and relax with a cocktail or a meal/ appetizer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel was in a nice location. The mattress was not firm. I would recommend this hotel if you are intered in going to King of Prussia mall, not to far from it. It also in located by 3 different colleges.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinclare9482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

PROS:
Great location, plenty of parking, delicious breakfast buffet, very comfortable bed and pillows, very clean, great quality linens and towels, excellent customer service.

CONS:
The closet! It's too small if more than one person is staying in the room, the rod is too low and causes my pants to pool at the bottom, and it's a bulky piece of furniture that really closes up the room. The bathroom vanity is not large enough - not much space to lay out toiletries. The full-size mirror should be in the entryway where we have better access to it, not next to the bed. Not enough outlets. Upgrade to HD TVs. Add a mini-fridge.

Overall, I am always very comfortable at this hotel and would keep going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meemsikins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
3.6 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Villanova University
3.9 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radnor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radnor Hotel

Property: Radnor Hotel
Address: 591 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-5194
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wayne
#5 Family Hotel in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radnor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radnor Hotel is a full-service hotel with 171 guest rooms, including 8 luxury suites, conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia’s Main Line that has earned an award-winning reputation as a first-class hotel with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Radnor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radnor Hotel Wayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing