We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a major overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Yes, the lobby is nice, but the rooms are in need of a major refresh. I stayed in room 246 this past week, here was my experience: Room was large, sheets were clean, staff was friendly and it had a courtyard view. Towels were napkin thin (I am not a big person and I needed 3 to dry myself after showering), the bathroom and bathroom vanity lights were extremely dim, the hair dryer smelled like the motor was burning out, there were ants all over the kitchenette, doors were thin and you could hear everything in the hallway, furniture was well worn, and there was no mattress pad on the mattress (you could feel the quilting of the mattress on your body). Basically outside of the lobby area, everythign needs to be refreshed.

Will I stay here again, probably yes because of work and the lack of properties in the Newtown Square area. Do I want to stay here again - not if I have a choice.

Room Tip: I heard the Springhill Suites nearby is new and they have thick towels! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

My sister's family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights because of a family wedding in the area. Of paramount concern to us was finding a hotel that did not allow pets (my niece is allergic to cats and dogs). It's increasingly difficult to find hotels with a strict "no pet" policy; therefore, we were VERY appreciative that this Courtyard by Marriott had such a policy.

Having read some of the reviews on here about the noise level from traffic on Route 422, I arrived right around the 3:00 PM check-in time and requested that our rooms be toward the front of the hotel (i.e. furthest from Route 422). The gentleman at check-in was completely understanding and accommodated our request. Hence, we didn't have an issue with noise from traffic.

My niece and nephew enjoyed the pool -- they basically had it all to themselves the one afternoon. The outdoor seating areas were very inviting, and my whole family enjoyed a meal at one of the "cafe" tables in the lobby area Sunday afternoon.

The front desk staff was always very friendly, especially toward my young niece and nephew. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: As mentioned, some have complained about "traffic noise" given that the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Everything written about room location is true. Checked in and was given a room in the back of the property and it was clear that highway noise would dominate all night long. Staff accommodated a move to a better location on side of hotel and problem was solved. Location is good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bistro in lobby serves Starbucks. Flat screen TVs had HD channels. Was on first floor and did not hear any noise from above (no footsteps). There are rooms at lower level which are on the back and must be very noisy. It's unfortunate that better soundproofing can't be used to solve this chronic issue as the property is 25 years old and had to be a pioneer Courtyard in its day.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Supermagictasticguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My stay at this hotel this past weekend was good and the reception at the front desk its very welcoming.
The bed is comfortable and the pillows as well. Very clean and quite hotel to stay in.

The only negative I have to say is that there is NO mirror in the bedroom so if you are using the bathroom your other friend/family member does not have a mirror to use.

Also, the bar/snack closes at 10pm, so if you are a late eater or like a drink bear this in mind.

Room Tip: If you have a disable person, they will accommodate you with this bathroom facility. We stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Courtyards are my default hotel for most ordinary business travel. You can pretty much count on all of them to deliver a consistent experience . . . usually a quiet, comfortable hotel, with not a lot of flash but plenty sufficient, where most guests seem to be business travelers. And this location pretty much fits the mold.

A few comments:

(1) When I first got into my room, I heard the toilet running and in fact the tank was leaking into the bowl. I returned to the desk to report the problem and was cheerfully offered a new room.

(2) The fitness center is adequate though not amazing. But, if you're like me and would prefer an outdoor run, the surrounding area is reasonably decent for jogging. You can head out of the hotel and go north on Drummers Lane and then do a few laps around a nearby condo complex. Drummers Lane does not have sidewalks, but it is a wide "sleepy" street with limited traffic.

(3) There are no dining options within walking distance (other than the on-site "bistro"), but assuming you have a car, there is plenty to choose from within a 5-10 minute drive.

(4) King of Prussia Mall (supposedly the largest mall in the country in terms of square feet of retail space [Mall of America in Minneapolis is larger in total space]) is a short drive . . . a visit there can be a nice way for the business traveler to pass an otherwise lonely evening in a hotel room. I enjoyed the LL Bean store.

(5) If you prefer not to rely on GPS Navigation and are unfamiliar with the area, make sure you have clear directions to the location and take along a large scale map of the immediate area . . . the hotel is NOT visible from any of the surrounding expressways and the exit ramps are not standard "diamond interchanges" . . . and be advised that navigating the local streets can be a little tricky with Swedesford Rd. crossing Hwy 202 but not in a readily identifiable fashion . . . if you don't watch what you're doing, you can end up on the wrong side of Hwy 202 with no easy way back.

(6) Someone at the desk cheerfully and capably assisted me with a problem launching PowerPoint from one of the printer-connected computers in the lobby.

(7) Location of the TV was a little awkward for watching in bed . . off to the side and a little too close given the screen size.

(8) Bottom line: I recommend this property and would have no qualms about staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwa829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I just arrived from Asia and have now stayed at 3 Marriott Courtyards in the past 36 hours. Reference my other reviews for details!! MULTIPLE CUSTOMER SERVICE ISSUES! I am a Platinum Elite member of Marriott (just in case this has any bearing on how one is treated) I arrived from Asia previous night at the Valley Forge location. Had to work all day and I am very jet lagged. Turned in at 10pm and asked for a 4am wake-up call. I received a wake up call at 12:30 and immediately called the front desk. Told the guy what happened and he said "Hmmm not sure how that happened..." no apology, just hmmmm. Now I am wide awake at 2am with no chance of sleeping; have to work a long day tomorrow. In addition, one has to use the stairs to lug your bags up and down as there is only one remote elevator. STAY AT ANOTHER HOTEL as there are plenty in the area.

Room Tip: STAY AT ANOTHER HOTEL as there are plenty in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLINIQAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

They advertise the upgraded lobby and they should. Nicely re-done and top notch. The hotel itself is as expected. Rooms are adequate and value decent if you get a reasonable price. Be aware that rooms next to highway will keep you up so insist on a room away from it (which are all fine). Food in lobby was actually outstanding. Had a late burger and it was fresh and delicious. The woman working the food area is about the nicest hotel employee I've met - up there with the Philly Airport Hilton and Katy Tx Courtyard Marriott (previous reviews). Funny how none of these are Ritz Carlton's - you find the great employees in the darndest places....

Room was fine. Hotel was very convenient. Ton of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
1.2 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
848 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia - Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Philadelphia / King of Prussia
Hyatt Place Philadelphia / King ...
#8 of 16 in King of Prussia
616 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia

Address: 1100 Drummers Ln, Wayne, PA 19087-1567
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wayne
Price Range: £105 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia Hotel in Wayne, PA. Our King of Prussia hotel is located in the upscale "Main Line" of PA and just a short drive to the Valley Forge Convention Center and King of Prussia mall. Our spacious King of Prussia, PA hotel guest rooms feature luxury bedding and inviting spaces to work or relax in. With an open lobby space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, you can switch from work to relaxation and back. Enjoy easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our King of Prussia hotel lobby GoBoard. Our on-site Wayne restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. With two King of Prussia meeting rooms , the Courtyard Valley Forge/King of Prussia hotel is sure to make your next small meeting or event a success. Make the most of your travel experience at the Courtyard Hotel in King of Prussia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Valley Forge/King of Prussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Philadelphia Valley Forge Hotel Wayne
Courtyard Wayne
Wayne Courtyard
Wayne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing