We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Revolutionary Enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Powder Tavern

Black Powder Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Powder Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Wayne
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: W Swedesford Rd
Description: Located just outside Valley Forge National Historical Park, Black Powder Tavern combines local flavors (edible AND sip-able) with American history in a pub-like setting. Warm woods and just-dim-enough lighting add to the tavern feel, enhanced by a reclaimed sawn oak bar with 12-cushioned stools (plus 6 high-tops), materials that are echoed in the dining room and in the flooring. Weeknights feature happy hour from 5-7PM, with a reprise happy hour on Thurs., Fri., and Sat. from 9-10PM. On Sundays, a prix fixe brunch is offered from 10:30AM-2PM, and the big game is always on.The menu features a variety of small and entree-sized plates, and highlights the flavors, ingredients and culinary trends Philadelphia has become known for—and that pair well with our extensive craft beer offerings. If you’re looking for a new favorite burger, you’ve come to the right place; our veal and chicken versions are hearty and flavorful, as is our pork sandwich. You’ll also find several salads and sharable items such as deviled eggs with smoked trout, pork and chicken wings, polenta fries, calamari and more; plus a fresh fish of the day (and of course fish ’n’ chips, cedar plank salmon and chicken marsala. Whether you stop in for lunch, dinner, happy hour or Sunday brunch, there’s something to satisfy your hunger, and your taste buds.Beer enthusiasts should take note: there are 24 brews on tap and 39 bottles. The selection is tweaked regularly, so if you’re looking for something new and special (or old and admired), this is the place to come. There’s plenty to satiate non-drinkers as well, including milkshakes made with Franklin Fountain ice cream—for an added historical touch, of course. For more details visit Black Powder Tavern online and tune in via Facebook and Twitter to stay up on beer and menu promotions.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
593 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Not Revolutionary Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This "gastro-pub" prominently projects a Colonial-Revolutionary war theme. And rightly so, as the building was a tavern and inn for stage coach riders as far back as the mid 1700s and was allegedly a place where the Continental Army hid munitions and gun powder...thus the name. But if you are going to do "historical" why not be consistent? The attractive rough wood tables and wooden floor are a good start but the shiny faux colonial chairs whisper restaurant depot more than they do George Washington. And those drapes...they scream out my Aunt Stella's house in 1960s Canarsie...not Valley Forge in the 1760s. The room is pretty wide open without enough banquettes to help muffle the din from the 30-something crowd of white collar types from surrounding business parks who were revelling under giant TVs at the bar. The intrusive TVs, while they may well attract business are again not exactly in keeping with the theme. Other restaurants do Colonial and early American so much better...notably the Guard House in Gladwyne and the Old Lincoln House in Amish Country.
The food was just OK, especially with prices that were not modest (Though not totally extravagant either). The Bangers and Mash with carmelized onions and a brown gravy were terrific. As to the Andouille Mac and Cheese with Cajun spices...lets just say we are still searching for the sausages and the spices. It sounds like a recipe we might like to try at home. There is a good assortment of salads (Barbara described her salad as "tired"), sandwiches, burgers, steaks, chops, fish etc. The bar menu was robust, but from the taste of my wife's Margherita, it appears that previous reviews about the bar's poor mixology are still, alas, true.
The service was cheerful enough (I wish we had gotten the singing waiter) but the pacing was awful. Pacing is so important in the restaurant experience. We were still in the middle of our appetizers (Decent pork "wings" in a sweet and tangy sauce with slaw cut from the pig shin and ok marbelized potatoes wrapped in bacon unnecessarily salted since the bacon provided enough salt) when the main courses were brought cheerily to table. And the check arrived during desert. (Big smile..."take your time, no rush"). Right!!! Take your time. Felt like management was trying to set a record for turning over the tables even though on this Wednesday the crowd was thinning out after happy hour and no-one was flocking in to replace them.
Am I being a little harsh? Maybe this place would be more agreeable for a manageable and modest lunch than for the "revolutionary" celebration we expected on my birthday. Still, we had fun and another great year is in the books.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    75
    42
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will Not Be Returning!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first visit since the restaurant reopened as the Black Powder Tavern. One in the party ordered a whiskey sour and it was obvious that the bar tender didn't know how to make one. When told that the drink was awful, the server just ignored us - no offer to have it replaced. the portions were small and overpriced and not at all exceptional. Lousy bar tender, lousy service, overpriced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2collegemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Manager at Black Powder Tavern, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi there. My name is Phil Cugliotta and I am the General Manager at the Black Powder Tavern in Wayne. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your feedback and I was hoping to speak with you in regard to your experience. We pride ourselves on a high level of both food and service, and clearly we missed the mark on this visit. You can feel free to reach out to me directly by email at pcugliotta@blackpowdertavern.com. I hope to connect soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Be careful what you wish for ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I really expected this place to be better than advertised. We would have better off going to Wendy's. The food was substandard with little to no imagination. I guess I should t have expected much when the waiter did not they were out of several things on the menu. I would not venture back given the poor food with no flavor. Do not get the fish and chip, it to worth the pain!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, General Manager at Black Powder Tavern, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi, JB. This is Phil Cugliotta, General Manager at Black Powder Tavern. My apologies for not responding to your post sooner. I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience at the restaurant. We do appreciate your feedback, and I would definitely be interested in learning a bit more about which dishes your table ordered and the reasons why you didn't enjoy the fish and chips entree (we usually get a lot of compliments on that dish specifically). We're doing our best to figure out who your server was so that we can address the fact that he/she did not tell you certain items were no longer available that day. If you have a moment, please shoot me an email at pcugliotta@blackpowdertavern.com. We'd love to do what we can on our end to change your opinion of Black Powder Tavern, and are confident your next experience will be great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockeford, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Group dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our group had paid in advance plans for a sit-down dinner on Tuesday night, May 26th and it seemed the wait staff had problems handling a group of 50. There was a lot of confusion with delivering the right soup or salad order to the correct table. Service seemed very slow considering the number of employee's on duty. Our entree was good, but the dessert of cookies and small brownie cake slices didn't seem to be what would be expected at a restaurant like this. I probably would not recommend it for large groups as they seem ill-equipped to handle them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

First time visiting this restaurant was very pleased with the atmosphere, food and service. Greeted at the door by host and was served by Megan who was very friendly. The only problem was a group of woman that were sitting at a table close to mine, they were extremely loud and disturbing to the whole restaurant. I would suggest in the further that the host or server would go over to tables like this even though they are spending a lot on drinks and ask them to lower there voices as others are trying to enjoy there meals as well. You can tell they had way above there limits of Alcohol.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paintsandpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Powder Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing