We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
George's Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 36 Restaurants in Wellsboro
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Went to breakfast with my family during a recent visit. It seems like a lot of locals eat here. I don't have anything bad or good to say because our meals were just plain breakfast plates...nothing wrong but nothing particularly tasty or memorable.

Helpful?
Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg PA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AWFUL awful awful”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

do not bother with this place. it bills itself authentic greek diner and it is (1) not greek and (2) not authentic and (3) disgusting food. the waitress was even more gross and the other waitresses looked dirty. one was overweight and dressed in tight clothes so that her rolls of fat hung out and flopped around. not the most appetizing sight when you are trying to eat. the food was greasy and sloppily assembled. we did not finish it. i would not let my husband eat it all. we left and went someplace else for lunch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellsboro
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The breakfasts are good. It is a nice place to go even with a baby. The waitresses acknowledged us and the owner does when he is not to busy in the kitchen. The home fries are grilled on the griddle and not deep fried. The hash brown is a deep fried patty so I did not get that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I don't know why we keep going back.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

If you like Greek food, George's is the place to go in Wellsboro. It is a typical roadside restaurant, with meals that are really too large to finish. I eat at a Greek restaurant almost once a week and George's does not compare because his dressings, sauces, and preparation are lacking. Again, the service is okay, the ambiance is okay, and the food is okay,but nothing special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank larryrneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, PA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Greek Food in Wellsboro: Tasty Food; Terrible Service”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I ate at George's on Thanksgiving weekend 2012. It was a late lunch (1:30pm) after hiking in the Pine Creek Gorge. They were mostly deserted with just us and another couple. Three wait staff were there. No one acknowledged us when we arrived, however. Instead, they continued to talk among themselves and did not even make eye contact.

It took five or so minutes after seating ourselves before someone stopped by with water and menus. Then, as the wait staff chatted among themselves, we waited another 10 minutes for someone to come take our order. Once our order for a Greek hamburger and a sandwich was submitted, we waited another 15-20 or so minutes for it to arrive. Thus, 35 or so minutes after we came in, we had food.

The food was tasty, though not exceptional. Prices were a tiny bit high, but not awful. With good service, this would likely make a good place to go for a quick Greek lunch.

Once we finished (perhaps after 5-10 minutes) and were ready for our check and a carryout box, we had another 10 minute wait for our waitress. We left the restaurant an hour after we came in.

Now, before you think this is a reasonable pace for getting lunch, remember (1) this was a late lunch after the rush was done (if there had been one), (2) we were among the only folks in this place, (3) there were more wait staff than occupied booths, and (4) the restaurant only has about 12 or so booths total.

It's not like they could not see us or that they were busy. We've eaten in other restaurants in Wellsboro and this place is just *really* slow and inattentive. We would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilosophicalOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to George's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing