We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby”
Review of Colton Point Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colton Point Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grubby”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Location - Good
Staff - Very friendly
Our Room - Adequate
Towels - Tattered and torn at the edges; Thin and small.
Bed Linens - Sheets worn, but okay
Blankets old, nubby and grubby
Comforters were cheap, old and terribly picked. We didn't want to touch them

Based on the advertisement and reviews, we had high hopes for Colton Point Motel. Even though the staff was great, we were glad to get away and will not use that venue again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
I believe it was Brenda and her family that had a dog in the room. The family did not repsect our "no pet" policy and was charged an additional fee for cleaning the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I've tried several motels in this area and I am so glad I tried this one! The room was a nice size and had a flat screen tv and fridge. There was a vague cat urine odor, but I think it's one of those really old smells you can never get rid of and seems to resurface in humidity. I didn't really notice it once the A/C was on. The bed was firm and comfortable and the pillows were AWESOME! Felt like dense foam, but I have no idea. All I know is they were very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I had breakfast in the mornings and it was not only delicious, but very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I decided on this motel after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor, and all the positives about Nancy, the motel and the area were understatements! My girls (9 &12) LOVED fishing and paddle boating in the motel lake and we ALL enjoyed seeing a bear, many deer and a bald eagle...Putting the iPhones, text messages, email and the internet away for a few days to sit and enjoy quality family time, especially at nights roasting marshmellows under a star-filled sky, was truly stunning and something we will all remember forever. Definitely a sure hit. Will plan to be there again soon....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob_hollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Bob,
First of all thank you for your kindness. We truly appreciate you and our other customers for taking the time to write a review for us. We try to treat others as we would want to be treated. We also want to make things right, if someone does have a problem here at the Colton Point Motel. Our season is certainly not over yet, with fall coming upon us quickly, but we do thank all of our new and past customers for making this a great year.
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. It was a nice place for the money. The hosts were SUPERIOR towards ALL their guests, they also have a small restaurant in the lobby and serve breakfast (for a cost) to motel guests and others passing through the area in the mornings by 10am. Nancy was a very great cook (also the owner) and she was personable and told us about the area and things to do besides seeing the canyon, which was great! I would stay here again, the room was a little small... a queen bed, a shower stall, air conditioning, and just good enough for 2 people. There was a pond in the back of motel for our use, boats, a hammock, and property surrounding the motel to walk around. We plan another trip back in the winter, will call first to see if they are open in the winter...WILL STAY AGAIN! Thanks to Nancy and her husband for making our 2 night visit pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivir65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Colton Point in July. Very clean and rustic. Nice property with pond, picnic area, and horseshoes. Very reasonably priced and Nancy was very very accommodating.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Montana157911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My Fiance and I stayed here for one night on our way home from Niagara Falls. We decided to stop here to hike the "PA Grand Canyon" in the nearby Colton Point and Leonard Harrison State Parks. The motel isn't really near anything else, it was about a 20 minute drive just to get dinner, but the room was nicely sized, clean, and comfortable. We booked at the last minute so we ended up with two double beds and a futon. The beds were pretty high off the floor which might be a concern for some, but they were very comfortable and we slept well. The closet had extra pillows and blankets, which was nice, rather than having to ask for them at the front desk.

The room also had a minifridge and a nice sized flat-screen tv, a good thing since if you aren't hiking, there isn't much else to do. I think it got about 100 of your standard cable channels. There was a nice power strip outlet which was great for charging our phones and cameras.

In the morning, we ate breakfast in the main office, where they have a bunch of tables set up (probably enough for the majority of the guests). The menu was actually fairly large for such a small place - eggs, omlettes, toast, french toast, breakfast sandwhiches, pancakes, and all of your standard breakfast sides - including amazing home fries.

Outside, there were horseshoe pits and a volleyball net on a nice sized lawn. We saw information about fire pits as well, but we didn't see them. Although there were a fair number of people around, it was very quiet and we were able to sleep with the windows open.

There was also a large selection of free maps and brochures for the area, which was helpful. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunKissedKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have been staying at this motel for years. The owners live on the property and have become friends. This motel is outside of Wellsboro about 13 miles. It is surrounded by mountains, has a lake with swimming,fishing, and paddle boats. Picnic tables, a grill, fire pits, horse shoes, kids swings, and a hammock, all for your use. They serve breakfast in the mornings, the rooms are very very clean and the owners are wonderful people. We have been there 2 time this year.

Linda Harris

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleymama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
3.7 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
8.4 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
642 reviews
8.5 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Point Motel

Property: Colton Point Motel
Address: 4643 Route 6, Wellsboro, PA 16901-8047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colton Point Motel is located on Route 6, 12 miles west of Wellsboro, at mile marker 209. We are 2 miles to the entrance of the PA Grand Canyon and Pine Creek Rail Trail. We are situated on 8 acres, with a small lake for swimmming, fishing or paddle boats. Breakfast is served daily. We are the perfect location to enjoy all your outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colton Point Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing